RB20 Tachometer signal?RPM

cheewin88

guys....i just bought a RPM meter wanna install to my car...
i'm using BMW e28 + rb20DET
where can i get the RPM signal?
izzit from ECU?the 7th wire?Tacho signal?
i tried but failed....can't...
i tot my RPM meter spoil...but my frenz's borrow me a RPM meter also can't....
so where else i can get the RPM signal?

Digital 2 analog converter 4 old tach mtr.

:cool: U have 2 convert d digi pulse from d RB ECU 2 drive ur old E28 analog tacho.

:cool: Pl. utilize d PS-PowerSport Impulse Tacho Adaptor can solve tis problem. d gadget can be get from Andy of Dragger Racing, Alan of Exodus Motorsports or Ah Wah of RS Motorsports.

Force Performance said:
:cool: U have 2 convert d digi pulse from d RB ECU 2 drive ur old E28 analog tacho.

:cool: Pl. utilize d PS-PowerSport Impulse Tacho Adaptor can solve tis problem. d gadget can be get from Andy of Dragger Racing, Alan of Exodus Motorsports or Ah Wah of RS Motorsports.

i means i just bought a new tacho meter....
wanna install it....but dunno where to get the wire...
i'm just a newbie in car world....
can u let me noe more about the PS-PowerSport Impulse Tacho Adaptor?
and may i noe where is dragger racing,exodus motorsport or rs motorsports....dun too expensive...hehe...still student... :biggrin:

For Nissan ECUs the Crank angle 120 deg signal= RPM signal. That wire can be traced from the sensor which is connected to the CAMshaft.

What you can do is connect the RPM meter. Connect the +12V wire and the Ground wire. It should be red and black. Then start your engine. Connect the RPM signal wire from the tacho to a needle. While the engine is idling, poke the needle onto each wire from the cam sensor (distributor looking thing) until you get a correct RPM reading. Mark that wire, off your engine and then permanently splice into that wire. Viola, you have found the RPM signal wire!

The cam sensor on RB engines is on the cylinder head, looks like a distributor. That whole bunch of wires... one of them wil be your tacho signal.

RSI said:
The cam sensor on RB engines is on the cylinder head, looks like a distributor. That whole bunch of wires... one of them wil be your tacho signal.

:cool: Y so troublesome! If u have d correct tach meter, just splice d wire 2 d ECU tach output only.