O2 sensor??????

kent75

hi all sifus, i have a question to ask about my car..2 months ago, i went to WEI YIP exhaust specialist to change my exhaust system(from middle bullet to muffler)...when they r trying to remove my old exhaust from my car, i saw something like a O2 sensor near the middle bullet there kena pull out while they r pulling out the old exhaust pipe...they help me to install back, then i thought not big deal, forget it....

after they installed the new exhaust system, once i get into my car, i've found that a signal light up in my meter which never light up before since i bought my car, something like this .....

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c174/kent75/signal.jpg

then i asked him wat is the signal means? that botak fella aka the boss, tell me that this means that the exhaust system working =.= walao, really beh tahan ...

i have a few questions here:
1) wat is that signal stand for? izzit O2 sensor got problem?
2) how n where to repair it if the so called "O2 sensor" got problem?

that indicates that your exhaust is overheated. Your o2 sensor works when cruising to monitor afr to give you better consumption. what car are you driving? Any difference in car characteristics?

it doesnt showing any difference in car characteristic...i'm driving honda integra DB6...

I do not think that he cabut the O2 sensor. It sounds more like the CAT sensor. It does not change the characteristics of the car if it is not working. It is to show you that your CAT is too hot. If no more CAT then no worries lah.

You do know what is a CAT on your car right... hehehe... its not the miau miau... Catalytic Converter...

kent75 said:
it doesnt showing any difference in car characteristic...i'm driving honda integra DB6...

lionelk said:
I do not think that he cabut the O2 sensor. It sounds more like the CAT sensor. It does not change the characteristics of the car if it is not working. It is to show you that your CAT is too hot. If no more CAT then no worries lah.

You do know what is a CAT on your car right... hehehe... its not the miau miau... Catalytic Converter...

er..not sure wat it is ler...can explain more ? hehe :biggrin:

02 sensor (also known as oxgen sensor or lambda sensor) is located in the exhaust piping system to detect oxygen (as in O2). for cars without catalytic converter, the sensor can be located anywhere through out the pipe; normally at the exhaust manifold.

for cars with catalytic converter, its must be located after the CAT, sometimes in the CAT itself. the quicker sensor gives input to ECU, the more efficient the engine is.

CAT sensor wud be the 'pasar' word for lambda sensor. its the same thing.

dat 1 is exhaust tempeture....when da light is showing dat mean yo exhaust is overheating.

wei yip fellar must have disconnect da sensor o maybe never install back when u change da piping

if da light bother u, u can remove da bulb inside da meter o ignore it. it will give no problem to performance wat so ever. it is juz a warning juz like da safety belt warning

just locate the wire and ground it and the indicator on dash will disappear.