Racetech "Rigid collars" / Chassis Alignment Kit

This can only mean.. RIGID COLLARS FOR ALL!

Careful there. This isn't a rigid collar, this is a CHASSIS ALIGNMENT KIT! :biggrin: Later kena sue by nay-sayers.

I'm skeptical of this item making such an impact on your experience. Considering its essentially something very simple yet having such significant change.

more owners should chime in. a lot of new things haven't been promising, and mostly snake oil. considering spoon is behind the initial concept it *should* be sound engineering.

sadly only for Protons :(

Actually I am the sceptic you are today bro. The thing is I got my set at a pretty bargain rate which is why I was willing to try it otherwise I would have abandoned the idea. Besides, this wasn't going to adversely affect my car (like a certain air-leaker I know) so no harm testing.

I have to point out though, the effects that I have listed out are not useful for everyday driving. Sure it's more comfortable but I also realised more road noise in the cabin. Perhaps it's my tyres but since I wasn't able to confirm I didn't write about it.

And who wants a twitchy steering on a road going car? Going over pothole ridden uneven roads is now a wrestling match between me and my steering. Hence the comment about no more 1-hand kungfu. Pros and cons I guess.

And it's currently for Protons but I'm not sure if they are willing to venture into other brands. Stiff Ring on the other hand have been pretty aggressive with their R&D and have a few makes under their umbrella.

Izso, nice write up! Perhaps next time if I have any new parts for the Proton Wira, I'd drop you a message (+ the free part for testing) so that you could write it up for me ya? sounds good? ;)

I QUOTE YOU ON THIS! You're ON AH!

Nice write up. Good info. But why only for proton? Haha.

As mentioned earlier, their prototype was fitted in their own car which happened to be a Proton Putra so since that's compatible with Wiras, Satrias, Neos, it only make sense to target these 3 types of cars. Have a look at Stiff Ring. They might have it for your car.

Izso, this has seriously gone out of hands. You should have made the clarification in the TITLE itself. LOL!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For whom that it may concern. Don't like don't read, want to read don't feel dulan.

THIS IS NOT THE MARKET PLACE. @#$%^&*

I really DO NOT understand the attitude of "PM me price for XXX" whenever one is looking for something. On one hand ZTH community is voicing againts sellers' request to "PM for price", at the same time you guys still request the sellers to send you a PM. MANA SATU MAU IKUT?!

Someone owe you guys izzit? Why must a contributor be burdened into spoon-feeding you for your own modification need?

The worse thing is, this is not even a sales topic in the market place! Pee into the bowl not anywhere else you think it's a bowl lah!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Izso, while you are trying hard to be a nice guy, there's always a need of a 'bad guy'. Nevermind I just did it for you. :biggrin:

Damn, did you just mentioned that I sell it too? No wonder lah.. inquiries have been flying in like leaves in the autumn. Sold out today. :adore:

Oh yeah I did it on the hoist today. No fun wei....

Iszo, may I ask something? You mention that after using this, the steering was twitchy. Do you mean that when you drive on uneven roads, the steering wheel moves/turns/pulls (not drastically) to one side by itself? Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Why I ask is because I have been experiencing this (not sure if its the same thing though) in one of my cars but not in my other two cars. I find it a little worrying and thought that something was wrong with my car.

Bump steering and twitchiness are two different things.

Drex, wahlaneh. Chill pill time out for you!

The fellas are just excited over the possibility of a good upgrade so forgive them la. I am generally a nice guy anyway :biggrin:

ddv_nk12 : Ok bump steer (when you bump into something that affects the geometry of your suspension that effectively moves your steering in response) happens to most cars. Just depends on how well your absorber handles it. Twitchy steering in this case refers to how sensitive the steering response is. So not quite the same thing la.

Thank you thank you. You are indeed a nice guy. Hehe.

I misunderstood your statement.

Don't you dare to remove my post!

Oh wait.. how many arm and leg I have BTW? :thefinger:

3 arms and 4 legs :thefinger:

Incidentally I'm not an admin so I can't remove anything. But seriously - chill la. So fierce for what? Hehe

Well....

Anyway, there's a similar nylon fitting being used by Proton in the Satria Neo, for the lower arm bush pivot bolt (which also bolts the subframe to the chassis). This bolt doesn't need any tolerance correction. The nylon fitting serves as a levelling cushion for any uneveness in the coupling surfaces of the chassis and the subframe.

Thank you thank you. You are indeed a nice guy. Hehe.

I misunderstood your statement.

Different vehicle will have different degree of bumpsteer. It happens when the lower arm moves up/down, and due to the restriction angle of the tie rod end to the knuckle, the particular wheel toed out/in. So, when the wheel comes across uneven road, it moves the lower arm up and down. So, u'll experience wheel toeing in and out causing steering to turn left n right.

normally lowering the car too much will experience more bumpsteer compare to factory set up.

Izso, this has seriously gone out of hands. You should have made the clarification in the TITLE itself. LOL!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For whom that it may concern. Don't like don't read, want to read don't feel dulan.

THIS IS NOT THE MARKET PLACE. @#$%^&*

I really DO NOT understand the attitude of "PM me price for XXX" whenever one is looking for something. On one hand ZTH community is voicing againts sellers' request to "PM for price", at the same time you guys still request the sellers to send you a PM. MANA SATU MAU IKUT?!

Someone owe you guys izzit? Why must a contributor be burdened into spoon-feeding you for your own modification need?

The worse thing is, this is not even a sales topic in the market place! Pee into the bowl not anywhere else you think it's a bowl lah!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Izso, while you are trying hard to be a nice guy, there's always a need of a 'bad guy'. Nevermind I just did it for you. :biggrin:

Damn, did you just mentioned that I sell it too? No wonder lah.. inquiries have been flying in like leaves in the autumn. Sold out today. :adore:

Oh yeah I did it on the hoist today. No fun wei....

apparently alot of people did not read this...
look at the previous post...

:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

Hi all,

I shall repeat this again on behalf: This is just a technical info sharing by Izso and Drexchan @ EA, NOT a selling thread. Only technical discussion on this new product should be posted here, any price inquiries please make it outside of this thread.

A very fruitful info there, Izso/Drex. Thanks for sharing and Happy New Year to you and all fellow ZTH members.

Don mind trying this as its an add-on. Can always take it off if no like. The amount of labour they put in shld be appreciated.

Extra noise in cabin is to be expected becoz of the fitment, the transfer of vibration would have went up a half a notch. Just wonder how it "sounds" like.

Steering being that sensitive is almost similiar to when u change to low profile tires. Its "fun"! again, don't know how much difference that would make on a NEO. Shld be worth trying out. Good detailed write-up.

That means the effect will not be so significant on a NEO? Any neo drivers who got this item care to share their feedback?

Different vehicle will have different degree of bumpsteer. It happens when the lower arm moves up/down, and due to the restriction angle of the tie rod end to the knuckle, the particular wheel toed out/in. So, when the wheel comes across uneven road, it moves the lower arm up and down. So, u'll experience wheel toeing in and out causing steering to turn left n right.

normally lowering the car too much will experience more bumpsteer compare to factory set up.

Ic. But my car using stock absorbers. What else could be the cause?