R3-Satria (gti)

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/freeBSD@1/3596/75F34353760-TN.jpg

October 03, 2004 19:45 PM

Proton Launches Limited Edition Satria R3

JOHOR BAHARU, Oct 3 (Bernama) -- Proton Sunday launched its limited edition Satria, known as Satria Race Rally Research (R3) or Satria R3, mainly for motorsport enthusiasts in the country.

Proton Holdings Berhad Motorsports Division Special Projects head, Adian Yein Khalid, said only 150 units of the 3-door, 1.8-litre engined Satria R3 would be sold with a price tag of RM70,000.

"The limited edition Satria R3 is specially produced to cater for the needs of motorsport fans in the country," he told reporters at launching ceremony held at the Pasir Gudang Circuit here Sunday in conjunction with the Proton Carnival Track.

The Tengku Mahkota Johor who launched the car also took the Satria R3 for a spin at the Pasir Gudang Circuit.

Adian said: "The Satria R3 is built out of pure driving passion by enthusiasts for enthusiasts. It was designed from the outset to be an accessible driver's car. In short it's a road legal track car."

The car's style and non-conformity ensure that it stands out and redefines the limits. From every angle, it portrays speed, motion energy, and audacity, he added.

The car comes in two colours - white and black - complete with Recaro SR4 bucket seats.

A combination of new three-spoke sports steering from Italian manufacturer, MOMO, carbon fibre gear knob, blood-red seat belts and the dark titanium and matching red inside theme presents enthusiasts with a very strong impression of the Satria R3's performance intent.

The Satria R3 engine is tuned to produce a maximum power of 140bhp and a massive 148Nm of torque. It is fitted with a five-speed manual transmission.

The car has posted a quick lap time of 2 minutes 55 seconds around the Sepang International Circuit, and 1 minute 59 second around Pasir Gudang's Johor Circuit.

Adian said: "Since this is a limited edition, those interested to make bookings can do so from Oct 17 at only three Proton Edar Berhad outlets - Johor Baharu (South), Mutiara Damansara (Central) and Juru (North)."

wat r3 have do wif the r3 gti? y tat car have lighter 140kg tat much?
beside from the accesories wat the different r3 n the current gti?

PIc...

http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/post-275-1096858346_thumb.jpg

Spec

http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/post-275-1096858305_thumb.jpg

Just want to ask an important question, does this R3 using Siemens or Mitsubishi ECU :unsure:

:angry: damm have my kembara CT-Elangance... just for 2 months.. now proton only come out with a fXXXking good model.... after so many years they produce SGTI... feel happy for the 150's owners....

by the way... since when Proton got a division like MMC Ralliart ahh? wat it called R3? retuned again? any news guys?

Originally posted by evo4g63@Oct 5 2004, 01:47
:angry: damm have my kembara CT-Elangance... just for 2 months.. now proton only come out with a fXXXking good model.... after so many years they produce SGTI... feel happy for the 150's owners....

by the way... since when Proton got a division like MMC Ralliart ahh? wat it called R3? retuned again? any news guys?
i wouldn't say its a very very good model.
if they can term it "road legal track car" very big chance the NVH will be worst than the sGTi <_<

more..

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/freeBSD@1/3596/75F40785300.jpg

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/freeBSD@1/3596/75F40788430.jpg

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/freeBSD@1/3596/75F40781160.jpg

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/freeBSD@1/3596/75F40782400.jpg

NVH is not a concern for such cars, as per brief.

140kg lightening is damn possible, simply because Lotus actually put almost that much into the car to quieten it down.

it's a road legal, JPJ and BANKS-loan approved, almost a track car :)

yes, just like Mitsubishi, Toyota, Nissan, etc..etc..(Nismo,TRD,RalliArt)

Proton's motorsports division is called R3, RaceRallyResearch.

Originally posted by G3-X@Oct 5 2004, 11:18
more..

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/freeBSD@1/3596/75F40785300.jpg

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/freeBSD@1/3596/75F40788430.jpg

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/freeBSD@1/3596/75F40781160.jpg

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/freeBSD@1/3596/75F40782400.jpg
haha
my self taken pics are now own by autoworld

If you haven't even seen the car in the flesh, how can you say the NVH and ride will be worse?

FYI I do wish you all could give it a drive because we've (Djan actually..) been able to sort out a ride that's no worse than a current GTI but with handling that has more yaw (ie oversteer) and quicker turn-in yet still within reasonable limits that a normal driver can manage. The brakes are phenomenal, just like a race car's! As you may see from the pix, we even included a spacer on the steering wheel boss so that you will be able to adjust to the optimum seating position.

The shell is double-stitch welded which has increased torsional and bending rigidity. You'll never see this again on any other Satria. The power we have achieved with the Siemens ECU and with a cat converter, matching Euro-2 emission levels. But I've also been able to get away with something a bit naughty: a new Satria R3 owner will open the bootlid and find a bit of straight pipe wrapped neatly in a plastic bag... so that he can take out the cat if he so wishes, releasing another 6hp heheh!!! But... that's the owners responsibility!! Eitherway, the exhaust has been JPJ approved and meets legal noise requirements (80db).

When I say it has no soundproofing, it's not referring to all soundproofing. What we've taken out is the foam stuff that was injected into the doors and side sills of the GTI. So it's no louder than your usual Satria 1.6. Other methods of saving weight is thru different carpet material (4kg less), no electric side mirrors, no foglamps, etc.

The car really is very responsive. Light weight really does wonders, you'll be surprised!

And no, this isn't a sales pitch. Apparently we've already received more than 100 enquiries, so interested buyers can expect a rush when sales bookings open on the 17/10 at the Damansara Mutiara branch.

To each his own. There will always be those drivers that prefer straightline speed and would rather buy a 2nd hand GTI and put in a 4G93T, and there are those that prefer taking corners quickly and throwing a car sideways and braking as late as possible.. and these will probably prefer the Satria R3. Trackday Kakis will tell you that 2m55 at Sepang from a std road car is pretty quick indeed!

/adian

as i've heard, siemens ECU is not responsive to mild IHE mods, and the response is worse than the mitsu ECU by much. has R3 solved the problem? cause if not buyers will be stuck with a, qoute"specially produced to cater for the needs of motorsport fans"unquote, car with un-moddable engine. dun say go buy programmable or wat blah blah ok, for that amount of money it's not too much to at least expect to have a decent engine which is responsive to mods.

IMHO i think R3 would be better off tuning the ol' 1.6 SOHC...

Oh now it's the responsibility of a car manufacturer to build a car that must be modifiable! So you're telling me that Sony also build the Playstation in such a way so that it can be chipped allowing you to play pirated versions of it's games?

is this not a limited edition car built for motorsport activities? :huh: yes you are right, sony din make the PS2 to be easily chiped to play pirated games. that's because they sell games also!! so are you saying that R3 purposely make the ECU suck because R3 planning to sell a what, some sort of performance ECU later? but that's besides my point adian, what i was saying is the siemens ECU is not responsive to IHE mods unlike the mitsu ECU, not which one is easier to chip.

peace ok, just looking for a decent disscussion with you, not tembak tembak wan. :)

Hi Adian, I am one of the 100s of ppl who called up mutiara and enquired bout the R3.. I have to say that it is quite dissapointing that he salesman could not answer my technical queries satisfactorily, but no doubt he provided a good service and enuf info for the moment. SO here are some questions for you:

1. What changes has been made to the car (ie. suspension geometry, spring rate, anti roll bar diameter... etc.) to allow for more tail happy nature (I LIKE!)

2. What sort of braking system upgrade has been done?

3. Which part of the chassis is stitch-welded?

4. How much weight reduction did u guys achieved (kg)?

Would actually like to justify the price increase over the standard GTi. I'm in the search of a reliable yet reasonably quick weekend track car. My initial choice was to get a RWD since I've tried both FWD and 4WD.. The R3 caught my attention when I heard about the spot welded chassis to increase structural rigidity. More information would b much appreciated. CHeers.

There could b lots of fun in a lightweight hot hatch trackday car!

Torment..

Chill. Me too. Sorry if i was getting overexcited, but often I get shot at just because I work at Proton. As I always say, just over 1 year ago I was on the other side of the fence with you guys, and when provided the opprotunity to try and create more exciting products at Proton through R3, I took it, and given both the capabilities and limitations of working with a manufacturer I really am trying my best.

So as to your question: The Siemens ECu I cannot change. But we are developing bolt-on mods, calling them Stage 1, Stage 2, Stage 3 etc to work with the std hardware. The Satria R3 is considered Stage 1, and we're coming out with other goodies for Stage 2 engine and chassis mods that will work with the Siemens ECU.

/adian

Endless551...

I'm sorry about Mutiara Damansara salespeople. At the moment we have trained up selected Edar salespeople, but as they are not really technically inclined, questions such as "what is the brake pad friction and temperature rating?" they won't be able to answer! :lol: In the future we will have more specific R3 sales people.

To answer your questions then:

1. What changes has been made to the car (ie. suspension geometry, spring rate, anti roll bar diameter... etc.) to allow for more tail happy nature (I LIKE!)
- Must I be specific? Suffice to say for now that front and rear spring rates have been increased, the front ARB is now 19mm, rideheight dropped by 10mm, and the dampers have been fully retuned for happier handling.

2. What sort of braking system upgrade has been done?
- Cross-drilled slotted discs front and rear, with the fronts being vented. Mintex M1144 brake pads front and rear.

3. Which part of the chassis is stitch-welded?
- aiyoh, another technical question, no wonder they couldn't answer! ;)
- front and rear subframe mountings, struts, suspension mounting points, bulkheads, door frame.. got lah also a few more places, suffice to say we tested the new body through torsion and bending and it is superior to a standard Satria!

4. How much weight reduction did u guys achieved (kg)?
- the car now weighs 995kg kerb weight. A lot of weight was saved not just by deleting unneccesary items and parts but also by substituting some materials with more lightweight ones.

/adian