PS Powersport tuning products

Nice! Whenever la. No rush.

Ok, since I don't use PS-Powersport I've had to ask to borrow and then convince a friend to let me open one of his units. He has a few but I opened only one of them as I'm convinced the rest will be similar internally and shed just as little light on the inner workings of the products.

This is an Opti-Flow Stabilizer of some kind. I do not know what it does nor how it works. I'm aware the actual circuitry is really not revealed but I wasn't about to go further especially with something that doesn't belong to me therefore my apologies in advance:

http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/8900/20120223030521.th.jpg
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/723/img2012022700096.th.jpg

* WARNING !
As an ex-employed Manager of Speed Syndicate at PJS 7. This is to urge you DO NOT try to be clever of using the limited Google info search and create your childish wrote up for PS-POWERSPORT. Any lawyer should realize there is a serious matter of spoiling the image and the old registered brand of ‘PS-POWERSPORT’ under several classes. Even though they remain quite, but all rights reserved and legal law is at its appointed agents side, the registered brand name holder side or the web legal company side and also MR. CF LO personally.

* It SHALL NOT be difficult for one of them to trace you or pull you out from here!

Congratulations, you win the award for retard of the year! But it's only February so you never know, someone may just claim the throne later on in the year. Firstly, you're an ex-employed Manager (is that a polite way of saying fired?) so please enlighten us on what this thread has to do with you? Unless you can explain to all these curious, potential customers how the product works then I doubt anyone would miss your presence in this thread.

Furthermore, since when has Google been 'limited'? What else is there? Are you even aware of the extent of which Google is used and the level of confidential data you can derive with a little bit of effort? Don't tell me you're still using Netscape Navigator and search online using Altavista LOL :rofl:

As for the part about lawyers, I suppose you're a lawyer? I'm not a lawyer but as a rational person, the way I see it YOU are the one "spoiling the image" by firstly threatening people on forums when in actual fact you do not even represent PS-Powersport nor Speed Syndicate.

As for your statement on "all rights reserved, etc" - what does that have to do with how the product works or the fact that the address given on the OFFICIAL PS-Powersport website does not exist? It's not like we've all gathered here to manufacture a similar product and use the name PS-Powersport so I fail to see how "rights reserved" are in any way compromised. Credibility definitely took a hit but its not like he made up the info, he simply followed what the company claims to be and shared his findings. Unless you can provide the actual address? Surely you've visited them in the States?

And why drag CF Lo into this matter?
Like I said, separate the man from the product and only then can this discussion proceed objectively. Unless of course CF Lo owns PS-Powersport? He's never mentioned it though. I'm sure you'd know much more of course.

As for "trace you or pull you out from here", I doubt anyone would be bothered tracing someone and filing suit for expressing an opinion and he's even shown proof on which he is basing his opinion. You however have added about ZERO value to this discussion. And really, you and I both know CF Lo isn't exactly the next Bill Gates - he has enough problems replying to SMSs as it is and you expect him to be tracing down IPs?

Oh well, at least it was entertaining. :rofl:

:thefinger:

ok, i've made my decision finally...
might as well spend my RM3K-RM5K on well known products...:sleep:
Adaptronic or Haltech???...
coz i think this is going on like the old 'Protech' ecu thread...:banghead:

do please continue with whatever discussion about this product....:biggrin:

ok, i've made my decision finally...
might as well spend my RM3K-RM5K on well known products...:sleep:
Adaptronic or Haltech???...
coz i think this is going on like the old 'Protech' ecu thread...:banghead:

do please continue with whatever discussion about this product....:biggrin:

Hey bro,

I hope you don't mistake this for an anti-PS thread. I certainly hope my posts aren't viewed in that light. I'm all for the truth - if something is superior then fine, but why is it superior? I'm by nature a very curious person myself as are most of the people who have posted genuine questions.

The reason why I'm not a PS user is because I was using a standalone before I even heard of PS-Powersport and in fact I'm still using the exact same standalone unit for the past 5 years. I'm open to the idea of using PS products if a compelling enough argument was actually made but its people like samuel1121 who have given this brand a bad name and that in itself puts many people off.

However, I believe the merits of the product should remain at the forefront of this discussion and let that be the basis on which you make your decision. Also, speak to your tuner of choice and see what ECU he is comfortable with. Or go and see CF Lo and talk to him. If you're comfortable with him tuning the car, then definitely he's the one who can get the most out of PS products. But you have to be clear with what you want to achieve - with CF Lo its not always about power but also driveability and living with the car on a daily basis etc.

He's actually a nice guy and I don't think anyone can say they haven't learnt something new after having met him and listened to what he has to say. Time actually flies and I do consider him extremely knowledgeable but when it comes to promoting the PS brand, he's not exactly doing a good job and this I've actually told him so but I get the impression he's focused on the bigger picture - with potential markets like China etc for example and secondly he's the type of person whom people seek out not the other way around. It's not arrogance or anything remotely like that.

So consider all options, talk to as many tuners as possible and don't believe EVERYTHING you read on ANY internet forum. Take it all in with a pinch of salt.

"you have to be clear with what you want to achieve " quoted by [Pimpin] is The Whole Truth & Truth Alone .......
most people don't seem to know for themselves what the really want , so to some users Ps products might not be what they want but to others it might just be what they want......
Difference is brand of product like Honda and Mitsubishi ,Armani and Versace or maybe Mac and Windows .... Each product brand have its pro's and con's , just depending on the user which product suits/serves them better .....
let's say we give the burger stall near your house a 'kuali', it won't be as useful as a grill . the 'Kuali' would still do the job but the grill does it better for the burger guy !

Just me nonsense way of looking at things.. :biggrin:

i know and thanks again for reminding...
i've been modding my car step-by-step including on ecu...

i believe its normal for everybody to search for all available information sources before decide to fork out their money...
nobody want to spend and spend again on the same thing...
on tuning matter, i believe it's actually on trust as not necessary the tuner you select will do exactly the thing you wanted...
of course there're reason for some...

it's just that i feel if there're local talent then better to support them... like TITAN...
for me TIME is not on my side as i only have weekend for all things, so it's not that feasible to arrange for a meet...
i've purchase a lot with just the desciption or review on certain products... so i didn't see why this product should be any different...:biggrin:

i know and thanks again for reminding...
i've been modding my car step-by-step including on ecu...

i believe its normal for everybody to search for all available information sources before decide to fork out their money...
nobody want to spend and spend again on the same thing...
on tuning matter, i believe it's actually on trust as not necessary the tuner you select will do exactly the thing you wanted...
of course there're reason for some...

it's just that i feel if there're local talent then better to support them... like TITAN...
for me TIME is not on my side as i only have weekend for all things, so it's not that feasible to arrange for a meet...
i've purchase a lot with just the desciption or review on certain products... so i didn't see why this product should be any different...:biggrin:

Wrong approach, all due respect. I used to have something similar in terms of work commitments in fact I still do except previously I was employed now I'm the one employing - either way time is a luxury and ZTH is my daily escape if only for awhile.

In the case of ECUs, its best to do research. If you can't speak to the tuner, read all the official documentation online and compare. Then speak to users if possible via PM not on forums or you'll only stir up another storm.

[PIMPIN];1063892495 said:
Wrong approach, all due respect. I used to have something similar in terms of work commitments in fact I still do except previously I was employed now I'm the one employing - either way time is a luxury and ZTH is my daily escape if only for awhile.

In the case of ECUs, its best to do research. If you can't speak to the tuner, read all the official documentation online and compare. Then speak to users if possible via PM not on forums or you'll only stir up another storm.

Your company looking for IT folks? :biggrin:

Btw, the pictures of the components you took don't really make any sense to me. Too complex for for me to look at just via the pictures. Probably will need to have my test gear along to really understand what each thing does. Since that'll never happen and it appears I will never get a technical answer, I'm not going to venture further into this. Besides, managed to get myself a pretty downright cheap offer on a usable piggyback! :biggrin:

i'm not sure what you're talking about... whatever anyway...
as I've decided otherwise...

this will be my last post in this thread...
good luck for all...:wavey:

I've been spending the whole night reading the thread from page 1. After almost hour and a half of reading, I still failed to find the comparison between PS product vs other piggyback/standalone.

By reading this thread, I'm not convince enough to buy PS product. But again that only apply for me lah.

Cheers.

Your company looking for IT folks? :biggrin:

Btw, the pictures of the components you took don't really make any sense to me. Too complex for for me to look at just via the pictures. Probably will need to have my test gear along to really understand what each thing does. Since that'll never happen and it appears I will never get a technical answer, I'm not going to venture further into this. Besides, managed to get myself a pretty downright cheap offer on a usable piggyback! :biggrin:

Makes no sense to me either but I'm no engineer. Last thing I need is an IT guy on ZTH all day! :rofl:

i'm not sure what you're talking about... whatever anyway...
as I've decided otherwise...

this will be my last post in this thread...
good luck for all...:wavey:

I think its pretty straightforward. Your command of English certainly seems above average, enough at least to understand what I've said.

sigh... the reason why i seldom post is that sometime the things you try to explain in writing could be miss interpreted...

anyway, i feel you post is like to teach me on how to make decision...
if you read my posts here, i did my research on ecus and for this product this thread is one way for me to try to understand it...

you're matured enough to understand that conclusion to research and decision afterwards still depends on your purchase power...:smokin:

so there's no need for any commotion, as we know each other only on this thread...
as modding my car is just a hobby for me anyway...:biggrin:

sorry for making unrelated post in this thread...:wavey:

sigh... the reason why i seldom post is that sometime the things you try to explain in writing could be miss interpreted...

anyway, i feel you post is like to teach me on how to make decision...
if you read my posts here, i did my research on ecus and for this product this thread is one way for me to try to understand it...

you're matured enough to understand that conclusion to research and decision afterwards still depends on your purchase power...:smokin:

so there's no need for any commotion, as we know each other only on this thread...
as modding my car is just a hobby for me anyway...:biggrin:

sorry for making unrelated post in this thread...:wavey:

All good bro. I thought that for some reason you had misinterpreted my last post.

Anyway, I do agree that budget is definitely a factor for anyone alongside functions of course when it comes to evaluating ECUs be it standalone or piggyback for that matter. Hope you do find something suitable for your ride.

OT - weird though but the one good thing I reckon to come from this thread is that I've got ixeo and Izso on my FB so you're welcome to join us and let's perv through these two buggers' list of chicks :wavey:

sure will... but i've yet to have my own FB account...
coz it's an open forum, a bit risky... i'm still considering...:biggrin:

one of the staff here got a warning letter, coz a 'friend' post nasty remarks on her page about her HOD...
she didn't know it until somebody report to HOD, and she's being query about it...:banghead:

Being a PS user for very long time now, also a friend of CF LO, I just pass by here to drop a few words. I saw your post earlier is more like attacking on PS Powersport and it's product. We have grown to be an educated person, at least already know to how to google on the net, please be a constructive person, understand a situation instead of flamming other people names and product. Bro, take it easy, I can offer you a right way to get out of from miserable, just tell me your modded ride, I will pick a suitable PS gadget for your car without paying a single cents, if you are satisfied, you can have it and pay. Also,I can bring for you a real C.F. Lo for teh tarik, you can see him live in front of you and judge him how humble is this person that you used to flame over the internet. If you are not interested on PS product, you are free to go for other product in the market. There are so many choices, produced in large quantity and more cheaper. He also can explain to you what ever doubt and questions about PS. Flamming people over the net is childish, please come out to be a better person rather than only know how to google without having a proper knowledge.

This offer extended to all interested in PS products or just specific to one individual? That's hardly fair is it? How about me? I can give engine specs but then who is going to tune? You or CF Lo? Anyway, what can replace my PowerFC DJetro? My specs are RB30, forged pistons and rods, 1050cc injectors, HKS lift pump to Sard surge tank with twin 044s, RIPS extended sump, RIPS 4WD adapter, Trust oil pump, twin Blitz cooler, ARC cooler etc off the top of my head maybe missed out a few mods. Planning to run a T88 if that helps?

So what do you recommend and what sort of power can I get? Can guarantee at least minimum horsepower etc since PS products meant to be better than standalone? Say 600atw?

[PIMPIN];1063928339 said:
This offer extended to all interested in PS products or just specific to one individual? That's hardly fair is it? How about me? I can give engine specs but then who is going to tune? You or CF Lo? Anyway, what can replace my PowerFC DJetro? My specs are RB30, forged pistons and rods, 1050cc injectors, HKS lift pump to Sard surge tank with twin 044s, RIPS extended sump, RIPS 4WD adapter, Trust oil pump, twin Blitz cooler, ARC cooler etc off the top of my head maybe missed out a few mods. Planning to run a T88 if that helps?

So what do you recommend and what sort of power can I get? Can guarantee at least minimum horsepower etc since PS products meant to be better than standalone? Say 600atw?

:wavey:Hi! Pim2, Many of us here should really admire that you can have the powerful RB-30 unit. I & my guru LO already have good experiences with engine like yours almost 15 years ago that the ‘FINAL’ touch of works that our ‘RESPONSE’ Series monster had a PS-PowerSport piggyback effect installed and they run well, and we didn’t mess around with attempting to change it to stand-alone system as it seemed pointless as they work good. I m not suggesting you that aftermarket stand-alone ECUs are bad here, I actually think they rather good, but the final part of RB engine management could be better! To me the last section after all the engine blue-printed – The re-engineering of the ECU & programming it; is a risky and long process works for your RB-30. Trying to program the PFC is a huge waste of time and money with no guarantees of success in spite of what others will tell you. And when you see few PFC have done a decent job and a lot of time and efforts to modify to its stand-alone system but even then they have only adapted this ECU to this RB and not added all the safety margins that we come to expect from the standard ECCS system.

Most stand-alone ECUs are generally open-loop systems designs where estimates of fueling and ignition are made based on yours input value. Open-loop system have to assume a minimum quality level, if this is done the wrong way then your engine is going west, everything above that level is a waste of money basically if you don’t get max efficiency out of your tuning. This is something different than the full factory close-loop control ECU, which is usually used to create its base map in open-loop systems under controlled conditions. What you really want is FOR INSTANCE a system that controls the peak pressure position of your engine to be an optimum position, while you have that under control; you have also got the means to control things like peak engine efficiency and peak power level. I m suggesting however that if PFC start behaving strange is quite a worry - Appears to be no particularly good safety nets to protect your RB. The stock ECU does this and many more things are like fuel and ignition feed-back protection. Let say one important feature is that the stock ECCS be able to detect 2 detonation signals to the ECU, the first signal manages cyl. 1 & 3, the second manages cyl. 4 – 6, so it can be sensitive to automatically adjust its base mapping which could lead to severe engine damage and cost repairs. Apparently the simply sensing of cylinder 1 – 6 of the PFC system doesn’t seem to stop this……..

Due to most PS gadgets designed to supplement and refine the OEM mapping curve in order to maintain a proper air/fuel mix and spark when increasing V.E. in your T88 turbocharged application. Each PS unit is application specific and included a preprogrammed integrated circuitry for particular performance stage which will be easily achieve maximum safe power tuning the a/f maps that usually are ‘FINE’ tuned at various load points in the rev range to match an individual engines fine matching tolerances or wear.

:wavey:‘Looking forward to share with us your good tuning of your 600hp RB-30 in the very near future!’

Finally a very decent answer ....:driver::driver:

However, it doesn't really answer the question. I don't think PIMPIN needs convincing regarding PS products nor was he asking for a lesson in standalone and piggyback ECUs. It's quite obvious he was asking lancersr20 to recommend suitable PS products to suit his setup and who the tuner would likely be - CF Lo or lancersr20 since its lancersr20 was the one who offered free installation and if happy then only pay.

FP, I met your guru, Lo at Exodus Sunway many years ago before he ventured out. He was the one who convinced me to installed the spark energizer in my car. Frank and very knowledgeable person to talk to when the conversation is about car modifications. Seen the 'monster' skyline at the back of the garage and the white altezza he tuned while I was there. That was the last time I saw him. After reading this thread, I know he's back in business.

Big bro Mr.Pimpin,
I have bring up ur matter to Mr.CF Lo. Regarding This, we can see that you are obviously ahead of game of power tuning with great experiences,especially with regard to the knowledge of the FINAL stage of engine mods - It is the programmable stand alone ECU like FP mentioned before.We believe that in order to give u the PS product that really improves performance and reliability to stand alone item,it is necessary to evaluate carefully each specific featured of the mods therefore in order to be sure about maximum results.
In the case of ur RB30 mods should treat this as our PS-Respond or PS-Extream programs,and it is not as simple as hooking up an AFE simplifies ur life tremendously.We would recommend as we r undertaking a Skyline project with RB30 engine that would similar to urs at present.After completion of our mods,the car will be participated in the near MegaLap Time Attack event at SIC soon.
Our purpose of the preparation to this machine is to keep it simple and to provide a more power-friendly tuning at very high use.The answer is to retain the factory ECU.if the ECU detects it's limitation,it is stark contrast to our PS modules that take over control of the engine functions.
Below is the list of works to be done to the existing balanced RB30 short block without BLUE-PRINTED,fitted with stock top-end at our powerhouse:
1. Will replace to OEM genuine Nissan GTR ECCS 16bit@ 4mhz ECU.
2. This is a long stroke low rev unit is suitable to run the more precise single stock hotwire type air-flow sensing unit when compare to MAP unit.So,the PS-AFE-6LM + AFR will gather for the total 256 fuel and ignition points with temp correction factors.
3.PS-EGO-II for the twin 02 close-loop controls.
4.Boost up fuel delivery which proportion to boost pressure by using PS-FFS unit and at least 260L/hr output fuel pump.
5. T88-33,2+cm A/R ,700-1000cc fuel injector.
6.ETC.....
By keeping it simple and with some proper tuning you will have the best of high-powered RB30 as well as drivability.

Big bro Mr.Pimpin,
I have bring up ur matter to Mr.CF Lo. Regarding This, we can see that you are obviously ahead of game of power tuning with great experiences,especially with regard to the knowledge of the FINAL stage of engine mods - It is the programmable stand alone ECU like FP mentioned before.We believe that in order to give u the PS product that really improves performance and reliability to stand alone item,it is necessary to evaluate carefully each specific featured of the mods therefore in order to be sure about maximum results.
In the case of ur RB30 mods should treat this as our PS-Respond or PS-Extream programs,and it is not as simple as hooking up an AFE simplifies ur life tremendously.We would recommend as we r undertaking a Skyline project with RB30 engine that would similar to urs at present.After completion of our mods,the car will be participated in the near MegaLap Time Attack event at SIC soon.
Our purpose of the preparation to this machine is to keep it simple and to provide a more power-friendly tuning at very high use.The answer is to retain the factory ECU.if the ECU detects it's limitation,it is stark contrast to our PS modules that take over control of the engine functions.
Below is the list of works to be done to the existing balanced RB30 short block without BLUE-PRINTED,fitted with stock top-end at our powerhouse:
1. Will replace to OEM genuine Nissan GTR ECCS 16bit@ 4mhz ECU.
2. This is a long stroke low rev unit is suitable to run the more precise single stock hotwire type air-flow sensing unit when compare to MAP unit.So,the PS-AFE-6LM + AFR will gather for the total 256 fuel and ignition points with temp correction factors.
3.PS-EGO-II for the twin 02 close-loop controls.
4.Boost up fuel delivery which proportion to boost pressure by using PS-FFS unit and at least 260L/hr output fuel pump.
5. T88-33,2+cm A/R ,700-1000cc fuel injector.
6.ETC.....
By keeping it simple and with some proper tuning you will have the best of high-powered RB30 as well as drivability.

Thanks for the detailed reply. Please keep this thread updated as I'm eagerly following the progress
Thanks in advanced.