PS Powersport tuning products

Holy Cow i just read 23 pages and realized that i still don't know much about PS products !!! Like the RB30 project which is coming in nicely but still, i haven't learned much about PS products....

Btw .. I still haven't learned much about PS products....

Sorry just repeating myself cause i read 23 pages and in the end it goes

TO BE CONTINUED......

ARGHhhhhh...

:biggrin::biggrin: Ya! ya, betul. trend now is nobody bother how lousy or ……... Of any standalone or china products use for our sports car, v only care of the good ps-power tuning products lah! Every day I eagerly hope any ps experts (make sure F.O.C) to teach i why ? n how ? PS products can work beautifully, bcause i still haven’t know much about it after reading 20 over pages! :biggrin:

Are they any PS products for auto tranny angine..example er34 auto
to control

Air fuel Ratio
Fueling
Ignition Timing
Injectors
Auto Shift point/RPM speed or do i have to get a seperate module for this

Are they any PS products for auto tranny angine..example er34 auto
to control

Air fuel Ratio
Fueling
Ignition Timing
Injectors
Auto Shift point/RPM speed or do i have to get a seperate module for this

Every single function needs a separate module. End cost is equivalent or more than a Haltech.

The car will definitely be competing in Sepang but which category has yet to be decided. Initially was built to run in the ProClass 4WD category but there's a possibility of going straight for Open Class instead and if so then more parts will be needed such as roll cage among others. The choice of engine management has yet to be decided and Haltech or Motec isn't out of the question since it will be used mostly for track duties.

i don't know how long you guys planned to drag this thread off. there's already an answer for the question.

1) How PS Powersport works?

Nobody knows. It doesn't take a degree to figure it out that every answers by ps users doesn't indicate that they know about the inner working of the product. No matter how you push it, they won't know. So live with it. Not satisfied? Go tell your mommy.

2) How PS Powersport users claim that the product is better than standalone?

It's their satisfaction. If they have tested a product that doesn't work, and then PS Powersport solved their problem, they will tell the whole world how good the product is. Sometime exaggeratingly annoying. That's natural for a human being. Not satisfied? Go tell your mommy,one more time.

Whether any standalone/piggyback comes with manual/specs or not, we judge for which one is working fine. Judging from the users, there are high possibility that this product will works. But it comes with one big disadvantage, it will not tell you how. I'm the type of person, who depends heavily by the result. If it will do the job, i will accept it even the brand is somewhat unknown. There are already plenty of people who already put this product inside their car. If you want to know more, just go check their ride. Get up your lazy as* people!

[PIMPIN];1063951244 said:
Every single function needs a separate module. End cost is equivalent or more than a Haltech.

All this VS all in one Standalone ..i think ill pass. Techs are improving we need to move forward

---------- Post added at 12:35 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:14 AM ----------

i don't know how long you guys planned to drag this thread off. there's already an answer for the question.

Nobody knows. It doesn't take a degree to figure it out that every answers by ps users doesn't indicate that they know about the inner working of the product. No matter how you push it, they won't know. So live with it. Not satisfied? Go tell your mommy.

It's their satisfaction. If they have tested a product that doesn't work, and then PS Powersport solved their problem, they will tell the whole world how good the product is. Sometime exaggeratingly annoying. That's natural for a human being. Not satisfied? Go tell your mommy,one more time.

Whether any standalone/piggyback comes with manual/specs or not, we judge for which one is working fine. Judging from the users, there are high possibility that this product will works. But it comes with one big disadvantage, it will not tell you how. I'm the type of person, who depends heavily by the result. If it will do the job, i will accept it even the brand is somewhat unknown. There are already plenty of people who already put this product inside their car. If you want to know more, just go check their ride. Get up your lazy as* people!

1) whenever you are running stock ecu's or AFM there are limitations in terms of tuning perimeters and power output

2)It all depend on what you want? everyday drivebillity or WOT applications . The right tuner is the key factor here ...exp. Microtech Lt12..it may be a bitch to strt your car in the mornings or shitty to drive at low rpm but it is one of the best ECU's out there for WOT apps provided your tuner knows wht is he doing

3) Wht might work for others might not necessary work for you..and if im paying for it will love to know how it works ,what are the advantages,tuning options especially if im going to install in my car .From the discussion some have mention RB30's which i feel are pretty serious mods and not to mention bloody expensive..

Unless the "others" are proven results with intresting power curves in my case a sub 9second car then i will be wide awake

---------- Post added at 12:45 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:35 AM ----------

[PIMPIN];1063952497 said:
The car will definitely be competing in Sepang but which category has yet to be decided. Initially was built to run in the ProClass 4WD category but there's a possibility of going straight for Open Class instead and if so then more parts will be needed such as roll cage among others. The choice of engine management has yet to be decided and Haltech or Motec isn't out of the question since it will be used mostly for track duties.

sorry i have not read the thread from the beginning will you be participating in th sepang drag ?

[PIMPIN];1063951244 said:

:rolleyes:
Now a day You only and still able to purchase this rare products from cottage manufacturer like PS-PowerSport. This means the PS concept is more specific and tailor built for maximum enhancement of the ECU upgrading requirements; unlike the trends now with WOT standalone systems.

---------- Post added at 09:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:04 PM ----------

I still try hard to get to know the inner working of the PS products. Anyway I already have the choice of my easy tuning solution with most of the PS performance enhancement gadgets.

---------- Post added at 09:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:05 PM ----------

All this VS all in one Standalone ..i think ill pass. Techs are improving we need to move forward

1) whenever you are running stock ecu's or AFM there are limitations in terms of tuning perimeters and power output

2)It all depend on what you want? everyday drivebillity or WOT applications . The right tuner is the key factor here ...exp. Microtech Lt12..it may be a bitch to strt your car in the mornings or shitty to drive at low rpm but it is one of the best ECU's out there for WOT apps provided your tuner knows wht is he doing

3) Wht might work for others might not necessary work for you..and if im paying for it will love to know how it works ,what are the advantages,tuning options especially if im going to install in my car .From the discussion some have mention RB30's which i feel are pretty serious mods and not to mention bloody expensive..
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you really not bother your drivability, you do not need the high cost & sophisticating Stand-alone or Micro-tech ECUs t o tune your car at WOT only, old school carburetor able to provide excellent WOT applications.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unless the "others" are proven results with intresting power curves in my case a sub 9second car then i will be wide awake
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Today most 7 to 9 sec. drag monsters in the USA still utilize the simple & old school carb unit to achieve this and why don’t the PS gadgets for certain applications!

:rolleyes:Please notice that there is still a lot fast machines using 70’ technology; but when come to marketing , they will show-off the 21 century products!

Now a day You only and still able to purchase this rare products from cottage manufacturer like PS-PowerSport. This means the PS concept is more specific and tailor built for maximum enhancement of the ECU upgrading requirements; unlike the trends now with WOT standalone systems.

---------- Post added at 09:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:04 PM ----------

I still try hard to get to know the inner working of the PS products. Anyway I already have the choice of my easy tuning solution with most of the PS performance enhancement gadgets.

---------- Post added at 09:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:05 PM ----------

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you really not bother your drivability, you do not need the high cost & sophisticating Stand-alone or Micro-tech ECUs t o tune your car at WOT only, old school carburetor able to provide excellent WOT applications.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Today most 7 to 9 sec. drag monsters in the USA still utilize the simple & old school carb unit to achieve this and why don’t the PS gadgets for certain applications!

:rolleyes:Please notice that there is still a lot fast machines using 70’ technology; but when come to marketing , they will show-off the 21 century products!

1. Cute,but hey i cant help it since i drive an rb26 with BMS 4spd Jetco tranny

2.You mean big block V8's . They are carb engines but with EFI fuelling system..dont have to look far, all 7 and 8 sec Thai cars run on standalone ..most are using AEM due to its built in abillity to control AT,P/GLIDE...how do you get a car with 2spd,3spd ,4spd or 4wd BMS tranny to hold its rev and to dictate shift point if you are running full auto by using PS power? that is my question and that is my outmost priority. There must be a reason why a gtr running full sequential tranny to downgrade just to use PS power...there must be limitations.

3.So i guess the guys at AMS and their GTR's must be running Datsun's with fibre glass GTR body..like i said, with time technology improves...are u still using nokia 3210? or a dial up connection?

There is no way in any motorsports where the current world record times regardless fastroad, drag,circuit,time attacks are slower then the 50's,60's,70's,80 OR even 2011

The fact that none of the PS users know how the product works means that the there is no answer and therefore until a satisfactory one is presented here, I doubt this thread will go away. From my understanding, PS products work just like any of the other piggyback products by tricking the ECU however being totally analogue the claim is that PS products allows for more instantaneous adjustments while tuning.

For example if one were to use a laptop, despite the advancements in technology etc it does take sometime for the signal from the AFM to be converted and displayed on a laptop after which the tuner makes the adjustments etc. However, for PS products because its entirely analogue, there is no conversion of the signal from the AFM to binary to be displayed on PC after which the conversion is reversed back to a signal which the ECU is then able to read and then the necessary adjustments actually take effect. This all happens in seconds or microseconds even. PS on the other hand would be tuned with the tuner actually turning the knob while getting his reading or monitoring using devices such as an oscilloscope for example which although might be perceived as rudimentary, is actually giving you a direct signal almost instantly.

Having said that, there are PS products that do make sense and some which do not. The voltage stabilizer for the fuel pump is one such device which I'm not convinced. The argument is that all fuel pumps need 13.5v or so to flow at their optimum rate however a lot of fuel pumps do not flow at the rate they claim regardless of whether they receive the 13.5v or not. In cases where there is a voltage drop, then the flow drops by a large amount. Supposedly PS is able to alleviate this problem by pumping a high voltage to the fuel pump which I'm not convinced will not affect the longevity of the actual pump itself.

One PS product that does make sense and is in fact impressive is the blow off valve. To go into detail as to why its superior would take awhile and best shown using pictures of it disassembled side by side with other brands such as Turbosmart for example. I'll try and get some pictures as my explanation would not do the product any justice, not for the bargain price it retails for unlike the other PS products.

Moving on, what concerns me about the PS products and more importantly the way they are tuned is the fact that the cars are not tuned on dyno. I for one would want, or rather need to know when peak power is being produced as it would affect the point where I change gears. Without this type of information, how does someone in drag racing for example know he's shifting at just the right point? Also, without the use of dynos how does anyone know how much power a certain car is producing and really can it be said that whatever power achieved is the absolute optimum power? How can we be sure that a standalone ECU wouldn't produce better results unless a back to back test is performed. For PS users, they're happy because the car runs well - of course it does as the stock ECU is running pretty much everything bar the functions that the PS product is manipulating.

Another thing that puzzles me is the pricing of PS products which I find to be ridiculously high. I don't see the justification for such high pricing because firstly the product is outdated, no new R&D is being done and whatever costs incurred developing the product many many years ago should have been recouped by now. Also the presentation of the product is.. well really shit. It looks like something from the late 80s early 90s, cost in the thousands and lack proper presentation. I'm quite puzzled how most PS users claim to be able to tune without even a user manual to refer to - must have some hidden talent.

So for people like perompak_bank who would like us to get off our asses, I find it ironic that as a user he knows practically nothing about the product while I as a non-user pretty much have clear understanding of how the product works for the most part. Your statement reeks of ignorance and hypocrisy and sadly added absolutely no value to this discussion. But thanks for stopping by, you've proven yourself to be a typical PS user.

The fact that none of the PS users know how the product works means that the there is no answer and therefore until a satisfactory one is presented here, I doubt this thread will go away. From my understanding, PS products work just like any of the other piggyback products by tricking the ECU however being totally analogue the claim is that PS products allows for more instantaneous adjustments while tuning.

For example if one were to use a laptop, despite the advancements in technology etc it does take sometime for the signal from the AFM to be converted and displayed on a laptop after which the tuner makes the adjustments etc. However, for PS products because its entirely analogue, there is no conversion of the signal from the AFM to binary to be displayed on PC after which the conversion is reversed back to a signal which the ECU is then able to read and then the necessary adjustments actually take effect. This all happens in seconds or microseconds even. PS on the other hand would be tuned with the tuner actually turning the knob while getting his reading or monitoring using devices such as an oscilloscope for example which although might be perceived as rudimentary, is actually giving you a direct signal almost instantly.

Having said that, there are PS products that do make sense and some which do not. The voltage stabilizer for the fuel pump is one such device which I'm not convinced. The argument is that all fuel pumps need 13.5v or so to flow at their optimum rate however a lot of fuel pumps do not flow at the rate they claim regardless of whether they receive the 13.5v or not. In cases where there is a voltage drop, then the flow drops by a large amount. Supposedly PS is able to alleviate this problem by pumping a high voltage to the fuel pump which I'm not convinced will not affect the longevity of the actual pump itself.

One PS product that does make sense and is in fact impressive is the blow off valve. To go into detail as to why its superior would take awhile and best shown using pictures of it disassembled side by side with other brands such as Turbosmart for example. I'll try and get some pictures as my explanation would not do the product any justice, not for the bargain price it retails for unlike the other PS products.

Moving on, what concerns me about the PS products and more importantly the way they are tuned is the fact that the cars are not tuned on dyno. I for one would want, or rather need to know when peak power is being produced as it would affect the point where I change gears. Without this type of information, how does someone in drag racing for example know he's shifting at just the right point? Also, without the use of dynos how does anyone know how much power a certain car is producing and really can it be said that whatever power achieved is the absolute optimum power? How can we be sure that a standalone ECU wouldn't produce better results unless a back to back test is performed. For PS users, they're happy because the car runs well - of course it does as the stock ECU is running pretty much everything bar the functions that the PS product is manipulating.

Another thing that puzzles me is the pricing of PS products which I find to be ridiculously high. I don't see the justification for such high pricing because firstly the product is outdated, no new R&D is being done and whatever costs incurred developing the product many many years ago should have been recouped by now. Also the presentation of the product is.. well really shit. It looks like something from the late 80s early 90s, cost in the thousands and lack proper presentation. I'm quite puzzled how most PS users claim to be able to tune without even a user manual to refer to - must have some hidden talent.

So for people like perompak_bank who would like us to get off our asses, I find it ironic that as a user he knows practically nothing about the product while I as a non-user pretty much have clear understanding of how the product works for the most part. Your statement reeks of ignorance and hypocrisy and sadly added absolutely no value to this discussion. But thanks for stopping by, you've proven yourself to be a typical PS user.

FYI, i don't use any other PS product EXCEPT for the blow off valve. i don't give a damn on how good or how bad the product is. And i never give any feedback for ps product as far as i'm concern. This thread has been dragged too long without any indication of the thread objective is met. It not rocket science to know that no one knows about the detail of PS product. It just that, if you want to know the detail of PS, feel free to spend some time to speed syndicate. It's the same for microtech, haltech, adaptronic or any other standalone/piggy, there's always a local preference for the said products. be it GT auto, millenium or APD.

If you want to know the detail, just go there la. Don't waste your time asking something that wouldn't be answered and left alone with bad perception. And it apply to any product out there.

FYI, i don't use any other PS product EXCEPT for the blow off valve.

19280342.jpg

I'd be very upset if the blow off valve is that impressive. Then I'll have to pawn my Synapse Synchronic.

If you want to know the detail, just go there la. Don't waste your time asking something that wouldn't be answered and left alone with bad perception. And it apply to any product out there.

Handsome, if that's the response for every question in this forum, the forum can close already.

My main question is about PS Powersport's credibility. The fact that they pretend to be who they are not, claim to be who they are not and try to position themselves as a USA entity when they are not. That simple.

I'm the type of person, who depends heavily by the result. If it will do the job, i will accept it even the brand is somewhat unknown.

FYI, i don't use any other PS product EXCEPT for the blow off valve. i don't give a damn on how good or how bad the product is. And i never give any feedback for ps product as far as i'm concern. This thread has been dragged too long without any indication of the thread objective is met. It not rocket science to know that no one knows about the detail of PS product. It just that, if you want to know the detail of PS, feel free to spend some time to speed syndicate. It's the same for microtech, haltech, adaptronic or any other standalone/piggy, there's always a local preference for the said products. be it GT auto, millenium or APD.

Wow do you contradict yourself this often?

Anyway, the way I see it there is nothing wrong with this thread because its main goal is to seek answers. For me, the question I have is mainly to do with the pricing of the product. I'm not saying the product does not work, I just want quantifiable proof that it works better than the PowerFC DJetro I've been using for several years from stock engine to a HKS 2.8 Step 2 engine. Therefore PS products would have to not only support my setup but do a better job at it. Do that and I have no problem paying whatever it costs.

And I don't know what makes you think that nobody knows how PS products work. I just explained albeit briefly how the Fuel Flow Stabilizer and Sub-Fuel Injector Controller works. Granted I could have typed out a more detailed explanation but I doubt you'd be interested since you've just appeared out of nowhere and told us to go to Speed Syndicate. Well thanks for the advice Captain Obvious, your input is very much appreciated.

On the other hand, I've actually been searching for answers so that everyone here can benefit. I've not only gone to the extent of opening up some of the PS products but go back a few pages and you'll see my BNR34 with my new RB30 engine there. So maybe I'm not such a lazy a$$ after all.

Whts the point of this thread and your feedbacks in this discussion then? If i am about to ask each and every workshop regarding ecu's and wht is best for my car i bet i will be spending more time in the workshop creating and rectifying problems ..i will have everyone wanting to sell me their products with better profit margin shove down my throat.

We are all here to know what are the benefits of certain ecus, pros or cons but that doesnt mean we will be leaving a bad impression, anyone is free to choose what they want no ecu's are perfect
that is why it is important for us to have this discussion so that we can weigh in our options

I can type out the CON's of using Microtech even though i am using it now..honestly there are better ecu's out there now such as the links G4 xtreme .More and more are aware of it now thanks to forums like this.

please bear in my mind we are not being bias here at least me, i am here to ask genuine questions in order to decide later..not just by listening to salesman talk, they would sell u the whole world if they had the chance

hi all, i'm still going thru this...
and still not convince...:smokin:

since my 2zz project started, probably more convincing facts can be tabled out...
thanks...:wavey: