power capacitor

takumi_86

well as i know,power cap is to restore some energy before supplying the energy to the amp that is blasting the subs,my confusion is how we know which capacitor ( i mean 1f,2f or even 10f) is suitable for the woofers,is the capacitor power is regarding to amp power or the woofer power.Help is needed to all sifus in this ICE forum.Thanks.

the cap acually also good for mid bass, the farad of cap depands on rms u are using ...normally if say your norminal rms is 800rms or below u need 1farad only, acually 1farad is enaugh for normal setup..

more than 800 below 1000 will use 1.5farad enaugh.

well felix,lets says that my sub is 15' jbl gto series,which cap should i used and what is the price of the cap in the market right now any suggestion on the cap model that i should i used.

hi1983 said:
the cap acually also good for mid bass, the farad of cap depands on rms u are using ...normally if say your norminal rms is 800rms or below u need 1farad only, acually 1farad is enaugh for normal setup..

more than 800 below 1000 will use 1.5farad enaugh.

Capasitor is not good for anything else other than decoration. This topic had been covered numerous times and still ppl come up with something.

i would like to ask some question and wish someone would answer them
1. Would adding a 1 Farad or even 5 farad cap will improve your charging system.
2. Will adding a cap can imrpove your power supply better than adding a 2nd or a bigger battery?
3. Is a capasitor is better than a battery?
4. Do you really believe that a cap will make a difference in overall of your system?

appleyard said:
Capasitor is not good for anything else other than decoration. This topic had been covered numerous times and still ppl come up with something.

i would like to ask some question and wish someone would answer them
1. Would adding a 1 Farad or even 5 farad cap will improve your charging system.
2. Will adding a cap can imrpove your power supply better than adding a 2nd or a bigger battery?
3. Is a capasitor is better than a battery?
4. Do you really believe that a cap will make a difference in overall of your system?

1) No, changing alternator to >100A may improve our charging system..
2) Yes, based on my own car exp, total pwr 1400wrms max.. after add 1F for sub amp (900wrms max).. head light & digital aircond unit stop blinking.. even I change to bigger battery before the blinking still happen.
3) Yes for cheaper solution & No for ppl have alot $$$$$.. as we know there have alot solution can be done.. so up to our wallett & not the seller pocket.
4) It's depend on your Expectations... in my case just to solve the blinking problem...

Anyone selling used 1F caps with digital display?

well as a solution , for a lower budget people we just have to a power cap.

oldskolboyz said:
1) No, changing alternator to >100A may improve our charging system..
2) Yes, based on my own car exp, total pwr 1400wrms max.. after add 1F for sub amp (900wrms max).. head light & digital aircond unit stop blinking.. even I change to bigger battery before the blinking still happen.
3) Yes for cheaper solution & No for ppl have alot $$$$$.. as we know there have alot solution can be done.. so up to our wallett & not the seller pocket.
4) It's depend on your Expectations... in my case just to solve the blinking problem...

boro your answer to the person who ask this,

1. no , charging system is all base on the alternator.. but no body claim cap do that..
2. alot improvement even u don use sub, only the midbass u can feel the diffrence especially high power component and high volum..
3, it is definately better than batery, and adding a extra battery are no use to add extra power, people add extra battery is for cleaner sq power signal, while only capasitor can increase efficiency and speed of power to amp. batery can say can not match it, battery use only car off,
4, got use,

i got sell, capasitor 1farad taiwan made good enaugh with digital meter rm300,
later i will put sell at market place..

sorry zth, people ask who got sell how much, so i just say i got sell lah and how much lah..haha, pls don mind.

those ppl that think capasitor no use, and extra battery is better...??? go try add a battery leh, see how. and compare to add a capasitor, who want to try, next time i do demo to see diffrences.. lah, just say no use.

hi1983 said:
i got sell, capasitor 1farad taiwan made good enaugh with digital meter rm300,
later i will put sell at market place..

sorry zth, people ask who got sell how much, so i just say i got sell lah and how much lah..haha, pls don mind.

those ppl that think capasitor no use, and extra battery is better...??? go try add a battery leh, see how. and compare to add a capasitor, who want to try, next time i do demo to see diffrences.. lah, just say no use.

can u show the pic??

why so mahal..??its 1farad only meh...

hi1983 said:

Alot solution...

A) Bigger Battery
a) Use >NS70 c/w >70
b) Use Optima, Stinger & etc battery for ppl have $$$$.

B)Alternator
1st Use bigger alternator >100A..
2nd Use 1/0Awg pwr cable from alternator to battery
3rd Use 1/0Awg pwr cable for Ground cable (battery)
4th Use 1/0Awg pwr cable as main transporter

C) Add Battery
a) Optima www.optimabatteries.com/publish/optima/europe/en/config/product_info/automotive.html
b) Stinger SPV44 (660A) www.stingerelectronics.com/web/prods/batteries.asp
c) BatCap www.batcap.net/index1.htm

D) Capasitor
Advise only for simple set-up..

Just My 2cents knowledge ...
1) Even you change to bigger battery if your OEM alternator only can produce 40-60 amps it will give your more trouble.
2) If U have budget, option A+B is the best solution..
3) Option D also not worth if you have alot sub, comp & amp coz cost maybe same as option B+C..

If U interested to enter competition.. only option A & B is allowed..

tailo

get 2nd hand caploh! Anyway new cap for 1 farad also don't cost much most likely good brand will be around RM700-RM1000 nia! Ya, I agreed with what u mention is probably the best way!

hehe
price for farad same higher price for battery lor
1.0 FARAD RM300 = Good Baterry RM180 only

acidcoller said:
hehe
price for farad same higher price for battery lor
1.0 FARAD RM300 = Good Baterry RM180 only

but how long u can use the battery? cap is forever until it spoil. atleast u can use for 3-5years or more.

and battery function does not have capasitor functions.. charge and keep energy - supply to amp fast.. this extra large battery can not do.

hi1983 & oldskool

I was wondering where on earth do you got these answer.

1. Definitely no. Adding a cap or even a 2nd battery will strain your alternator. Alternator will keep up in supplying current to 1st battery and car electrical system added with 2nd or a cap plus amp capasitor power supply. Straining your alternator will shorten its life. Upgrading your alternator to bigger ones still require you to upgrade to a bigger battery or add another one as current supply may be massive and may overload your car electrical system and batteries.

2. Capasitor is a storage system where it stores current. Battery creates current by chemicals reaction. Now how on earth do you think cap is better than a battery. Cap has high resistance called ESR. In fact battery also has high ESR but it compensate by creating electricity charges.

3. Yes cap is always cheaper than battery, but does cheap means better in function? Do you even know what cap do actually? I'm not referring to optima red top or yellow top. Those are definitely 10 times better than any capasitor in this world. I'm referring to a normal battery.

4. A cap drains out its charge in a few second and it recharges longer than it discharge. After the sub hit few times it recharge. Do you see this as an advantage? The only advantage of a cap compared to a normal battery is it discharge faster. Overall it still useless.

hi1983 said:
4, got use,
what is the use then?

hi1983 said:
those ppl that think capasitor no use, and extra battery is better...??? go try add a battery leh, see how. and compare to add a capasitor, who want to try, next time i do demo to see diffrences.. lah, just say no use.,
come to KK and i definitely prove you dead wrong.

anyone else who wish to know more about cap or ESR or what it would effect your oerall system i'll be glad to provide a link.

hi1983 said:
but how long u can use the battery? cap is forever until it spoil. atleast u can use for 3-5years or more.

and battery function does not have capasitor functions.. charge and keep energy - supply to amp fast.. this extra large battery can not do.

do you really know what are you talking about? what funtion does a cap has that a battery cant do?
1. a cap store electrical charge, then what do a battery store? Mineral water????
2. a cap discharge current fast when charging sytem hits low, a good battery disharge faster than cap. have you compared a yellow top and a capasitor level of discharge???
3. Extra large battery stores higher electrical charge, what does it doesnt have over a cap???

I really interested to know whats on your mind.

hei fellas,no need to gaduh 2,we are here to discuss,well u all have your own opinion,stick it with it,np need to gaduh,:)

.....erm....haha,

HI1983: is it?
appyleyard: why not?
hi1983: is it?
applyleyard: why not?
hi1983: is it????
applyleyard: why.. ..
hi1983: haha, don be too serius.. i just say only....
applyleyard: ....
hi1983: why not... from MONKEY OF THE GOD 1.

erm... 1point is the capasitor add near the amp than an enlarge battery advantage.

not only capasitor, battery big still stress the alternator.. u want me say, i say change big alternator is the point. acually we all talk about how to supply faster curent to amp. this point.

but compare cap and extra battery......

is it??? why not??? is it ??? why not??? words take from MONKEY OF THE GOOD EPISOD 1.,