Playing Red Alert 2 on WinXP

xtracooljustin

yes yes i know i might b outdated playing Red Alert2 but i just felt bored n really want to play it all over again...

the problem is last time i used to play it on a Win98 platform but now i have upgraded to WinXP liao...so when i installed it ytd, the game cant work... they just kick me back out to da desktop???!!

check the internet for patches but none worked so far...

even tried installing in compatibility mode for Win95/98 n playing it in compatibility mode for Win95/98... after doubleclick icon they just send me back to desktop...

anybody else have this problem?anybody got da solution or patch?

can help me 'kaw dim'?

i wouldn't mind installing and see if i have the same problem but some muthafucka "borrow" my cd since 199x until now never give back and dunno he shifted to where liao kenot find him <_< :lol:

Originally posted by xtracooljustin@Oct 27 2004, 12:40
yes yes i know i might b outdated playing Red Alert2 but i just felt bored n really want to play it all over again...

the problem is last time i used to play it on a Win98 platform but now i have upgraded to WinXP liao...so when i installed it ytd, the game cant work... they just kick me back out to da desktop???!!

check the internet for patches but none worked so far...

even tried installing in compatibility mode for Win95/98 n playing it in compatibility mode for Win95/98... after doubleclick icon they just send me back to desktop...

anybody else have this problem?anybody got da solution or patch?

can help me 'kaw dim'?
Hi...i had the same problem as well....love the C&C games....but with XP...u can't play old games...i've given up trying...now playing warhammer 40k:dawn of war... :D

hi...
i didn't face this problem and still playing the said RA2 on XP.
the difference is that my hardware is new by IBM, as such not sure on differences in IBM customised XP.
should check ur OS again, cause mine just reconfigured. maybe some incompatibility issue with other installed apps.

my 2 cent... :unsure:

maybe compatibility problem with the graphic card.
i tried to install and play ff7 it at first got alot of problem coz it couldn't handle newer AGP 4x above nVidia cards, got the patch and it ran smoothly.

if u borrow me ur cd and lemme burn i checkout the problem for u xtra ;) :lol: