Pedal mod for Heel & Toe

FVel

Short of actually modifying the pedals myself, what are your recommendations for aftermarket pedals to replace the stock ones in an Iswara ?

Do they come with adjustable pads so that it is possible to adjust the distance between the brake and gas pedals to facilitate proper H&T ? Also, are these of the proper pad geometryfor H&T...meaning ideally the brake pad sits higher than the gas pedal ??

Thanks guys

bigger n wider gas pedal... it will help ur heel n toe braking... brake n clutch pedal no need use bigger pedal lah.... :P

It really depends how far you are willing to go to make things more comfortable lah, Skywalker.

I have seen and driven properly modified pedals and those are really easy to do a proper H&T, and I have also driven cars with pedals modified only casually, with little care and the result is you can still H&T, but need to put a lot of effort into it. At the end of the day, it is probably a question of putting in a little more work to make your driving more pleasurable.

I certainly can modify the pedals for my own feet, but just wondering if I want to add some bling to the interior by buying aftermarket pedals (such as Sparco, etc), I wonder whether they are adjustable enough to cater for H&T purposes.

on my car, brake & clutch can be adjusted high & low. For me, the brake pedal cannot be higher than the gas. This depends on the full lock position of the brake on each car. When u enter a corner & H&T, u wont brake until
the pedal is at it's deepest position. When the brake pedal is adjusted higher, the full lock position will rise too. Normally the comfortable H&T position when we feather the brake is toe low, heel high. Only then we can blip the gas properly. I dont know if my explanation is clear to you, but it all depends on your braking amount & blipping technique.
To me, dont listen to whatever others are gonna say to u. Just mod your pedals base on your own feel, comfortability & technique. On the spacing of your pedals, u can get chose screw-on pedals & shift the position of left/right during mounting. A more drastic method would be rewelding the mounting base plate according to the spacing that u wanted. Either that or u can dismantle the whole pedal & do some bending & rewelding of the pedal leg if u really want the right distance.
I changed my brake & clutch assembly to a different car model before because the spacing is better. I drive a toyota & a lot of parts from other models within toyota are plug & play sometime, so it's easier. I'm very picky on my navigational & seating ergonomics in my car as I'm very tall & cant really fit into japanese car without modding them for my driving pleasure.

add a clutch pedal to ur gear shifter like amarican drag cars, den to finger and toe, liddat sure easy to do, wun mess up :biggrin:

http://www.carmate-usa.com/image05/com_ti_rp61.jpg
http://www.carmate-usa.com/image05/com_ti_rp62.jpg
http://www.carmate-usa.com/image05/com_ti_rp64.jpg
http://www.carmate-usa.com/image05/com_ti_rp65.jpg
http://www.carmate-usa.com/image05/com_ti_rp66.jpg

Oooh nice. Razo pedals.

sexycar,

I understand what you mean. I have done two methods depending on the pedal setups of various cars :-

1. Left-half portion of foot on brake and rocking the ankle so the right-half of the foot blips the gas pedal. Not literally Heel & Toe because it's less 'toe' but more the two-halves of the foot. In this instance the pedals are much close together and preferable to have the brake pedal slightly higher than gas so that when it is depressed it will be somewhat flush on same level as gas pedal for the blip.

2. Your method as described. Probably more flexible in the sense it is less fussy than No.1 in terms of pedal geometry.

The problem with my daily car is the brake pedal go to far below the gas pedal and makes it awkward because my heel will bang against the side of the gas pedal. I need to adjust the height and side clearances.

It's been a while since I done any H&T so it will be good getting back to it on daily drives. Otherwise getting really rusty.

i really envy small sized drivers with small feet... things are so much easier for them & so much room for adjustments. For tall people like me, H&T is really difficult especially if u are wearing a size US11 & above shoe... half of the shoe can step on all 3 pedals at once... darnnn.... for us its not called heel & toe but rather toe & toe