Over boost

hi mate,

i have same problem on boost creep now.

i was using HKS external wastegate and Blitz DSBC... how come my boost keep increase during 3000rpm 0.8 - 4000rpm is 1bar - 4800 is 1.15bar?

is anyone have this experience before?

cox i'm adjust the Gain for my EBC now. do you think will have the problem if i incease too much on the Gain for my Blitz DSBC?

what is the best way to solve this problem..

hope can hear from all sifu here..

thank you very very much...

:huh: wah 1.8 bar is good.... if your engine can takr it then keep it that way la :D :D
;) MY nickname and the topic :D

tkk, yes if you're on external wastegate your gain settings will influence the boost levels and the response of the turbo.. I recommend you stick to the stock gain of the DSBC and see what is the boost level. For the Mitsu 4G63 its about 10. Use the external gate to control the boost.

To minimise boost creep in an internal gated application most people port the wastegate hole and use and enlarge flap maybe 35mm to 38mm.

High boost can also mean that maybe you have a restriction on the exhaust? just my 2 rambutans if you have not checked that part...

Originally posted by AlucarD@Dec 13 2004, 09:54
tkk, yes if you're on external wastegate your gain settings will influence the boost levels and the response of the turbo.. I recommend you stick to the stock gain of the DSBC and see what is the boost level. For the Mitsu 4G63 its about 10. Use the external gate to control the boost.

To minimise boost creep in an internal gated application most people port the wastegate hole and use and enlarge flap maybe 35mm to 38mm.

High boost can also mean that maybe you have a restriction on the exhaust? just my 2 rambutans if you have not checked that part...
hi,

thanks for reply. i'll try out tonight. lastime i was using MBC was not boost creep so much when i set to 1bar is only run abit 1.03 reading from my Electronic boost meter. i think maybe i really adjust it too much gain.

so just adjust to default will be good enough? what is the different for boost creep? some my friend told me boost creep the power is keep coming for the high rpm? and my EGT sensor is in manifold i saw my EGT Reading somewhere around 850cc during four gear 6800rpm and running 1.2bar... i so worry for my engine. when i saw 850cc

tkk,

Yes, stick to stock Gain to see what happen first. 850c on the EGT looks ok for 1.2bar but I would personally go for 800c since our weather is hot here. But then again. It depends on your tuning. I know that for my car 800c means full boost at 1bar.

Regarding boost creep, I googled something from Clud DSM under their FAQ.

My boost is too strong. Is there a fix?
My boost won't stay where I set it - it keeps going up. Is there a fix?

This is called boost creep, and occurs when the turbo is pushing somuch air that the wastegate, even when fully open, cannot dump all of theintake pressure. This results in a continual increasein intake pressure, and is common with upgraded turbos, especially withupgraded downpipes - the exhaust would rather flow through the turbo/exhaustthan the more restrictive wastegate, which spins the turbo ever faster. Cars with this problem can develop mind-blowing (and engine-blowing) intakepressures in a hurry.

The general solution to this problem is to port the oxygen sensor housing, turbine housing and/or wastegate to allow themto dump more air. Otherwise minor malfunctions of the wastegate may also exhibit themselves as boost creep. Some people use an external wastegate for better pressure control.

emmmm my T5 2.3cc also 0.8 bar only....... ur 1.8 gsr got 1.8bar..... who tune for u>>> HKS ar???

Hi AlucarD,

very appreciate for your info.

i'll try to reduce the gain to stock. update you when after reduce the gain..

thank you very much...

----------------------------

anyway i just back from tuning my car in highway reduce my EBC gain to stock... now boosting at 4000 - 1bar but when high rpm around 5000rpm is around 1.15bar. how come still got boost creep???

anyway my EGT reading from 6000rpm is only 800cc max but when 6500RPM i saw my EGT going up to 850cc in 6800rpm... i'm planinig to rev up my car to 7500 but when i saw my EGT is 850cc i was release my pendal... do you think i should change bigger injector before i send to dyno tuning?

right now i'm using VR4 450cc... was planing to put in 510cc Evo only go dyno tuning. which you think is better?

anyway i'm using high pressure fuel pump intank 200++ lph and FSE fuel regualator based is 50psi setting now

thank you very much for listen my story...

Hi, Im running a EBC and when i set the boost to 1 bar...... at 6000 rpm
it start to creep to 1.09 - 1.15 ...... i ive even changed the actuator to the
stock wastegate, wasted time n money... no change...
im just wonderin.. will an external waste
gate fix this problem?

thnx

rory....wah, 1.8 bar? dun play play la. thats an easy way to make your pistons parachute down from the sky la. u might be running lean so its a matter of time until meltdown. get a proper mbc la....or at least change to new ikan controller. mebeb the old one the rubber hard already. or not just get strong fuel pump. get internals n turbo that can stand 2 bar. then can boost high everyday. :) eheheh.
but high boost wun make the turbo kick in sooner. will be either same or higher one.

haha same prob here , mine also boosting at a very high boost , more then 1.2 bar . suspect the actuator is not working , cause before this was using my single fin it works fine and hold at 0.6 , then change to twin fin given with the actuator , and there is where the problem starts . press the throttle next thing u know its at 1.2 bar creeping towards the end of the meter 2 bar :blink: .

Ves, ya ya sometime actuator get dirty and clogged so wont open all the way. Happened to my friend once. Try to use a pressure gauge to test it and see when it'll open. :lol:

im facing this kind of problem too..... 3rd gear can reach 1.3bar.....scared.....it happen just after i changed the stock BOV to aftermarket BOV........but then when i change it back to the stock BOV....it's back to normal (max boost 0.8/0.9bar).....what should i do with the new BOV?? any sifu know what's the solution for this problem ???? headache....

brother ramsing...

now the problem fixed liao...
boosting at 1.4 daily happily...

with 2 additional injector FC...

thanks for the help

no problem man. glad its ok now.
but just curious. u add the add. inj. what u using to control it?? 2 550cc injectors sounds like overkill though.

Cool... extra injector. Why not going for bigger cc injectors? Nowadays price are quite reasonable.

Originally posted by ramsing@Jan 31 2005, 11:18
rory....wah, 1.8 bar? dun play play la. thats an easy way to make your pistons parachute down from the sky la. u might be running lean so its a matter of time until meltdown. get a proper mbc la....or at least change to new ikan controller. mebeb the old one the rubber hard already. or not just get strong fuel pump. get internals n turbo that can stand 2 bar. then can boost high everyday. :) eheheh.
but high boost wun make the turbo kick in sooner. will be either same or higher one.
ramsing wants u to join the club coz he boost his car daily also 2bar so he want kaki la..
gang.. :P

btw happy CNY to all

bro ramsing,

Using Blitz AIC to control..which it refers to the boost and amount of fueling to add in.

Bro Revo,

Using the stuffs i found in my store...no need to pay mar...kekekekek

Happy CNY to all

Write your reply...