Over boost

rorytate

hi all,

i've set my car for 1.1bar boost.

Yesterday suddenly boosting at 1.8 bar...until now also 1.8 bar....

care to show me the errors or problem????

help appreciated

how are you controlling ur boost?

although...now that you know u can take 1.8bar... why not stay with it :P j/k j/k

hi Adrian,

Using fish tank to control the boost. Never been in such way ler....

How i wish i could stay with 1.8 bar....worrying that my petrol is not enuff to compensate the kick thus engine blown.

Mean time, seems okie wor...really kicked my ass when the boost kicked in...hehehehe

any suggestions anyone???

boostmeter cacated keh?
if 1.8bar and it doesn't ping... keep it that way la!!!
or just tukar the fishbone and see... make sure they are steel ones ;)

Brother Volvo CCL,

yeah it doesnt ping, but i didnt tekan for long ler...maybe 2 seconds?

it's with the steel fish tank controller...

any other defects that i should check about?

mayb ur fish tank controller is leaking or the hoses is leaking.....check them.... :lol:

daym thats one dangerous way to control boost. get a decent manual boost controller at least?

i would think that wastegate not opening fast enough...

like the power ? =)

I would advise that u check the vacuum hoses as it might be leaking. If yes my advice is to change to the silicone ones. Encountered twice before and the boost went up to 1.7 bar.

remove the fish bone boost controller first.. put back stock connection and see how.. if still 1.8bar.. means hose connection between boost pressure source (usually the intercooler piping which has a nipple) to wastegate/solenoid has been unplugged or leaking or restricted (on the way to actuator/wastegate). I'm suprised @ 1.8bar and u dun experience fuel-cut.. hmmmm... mine cut at 1.4bar

bros all,

yes have checked on these items...no leaking and still attaching firmly..

intercooler hoses are all right, the fish tank controller is allrite...hmmn...

wastegate?? i dont have one...hehehhe

EZ, have to agree with you...no fuel cut...maybe because of my ECU...using 7377 with ralliart setting...rechip liao...

240sx, i love the power....kicks in at low rpm ..but dare not tekan...only tekan mildly...hehehe....if i'm not wrong...kicks in at 2800rpm..heheheh....just love the kicks....later plonk in larger snails..and the tempat buang sampah as well...

before that...any other suggestions on this over boost thingy... :( :( :(

no wastegate O_O , now i would see where is the problem.... u even ditch out the internal actuated wastegate assembly on the turbo?

Did u try turning down the boost? Try it to see uf u are able to control the boost at all or not. Kena this problem before & it turns out that the vacuum hose leading to the controller was leaking. Rather sure that this is ur problem.

waaaa! i assume ur using GSR?? wow.... 1.8 bar eh?? can u fetch me and take me for a ride in ur car?? i wanna know what 1.8 bar of boost feels like :) hehehe j/k.

rory.. u changed ur snail to td-05h rite? using stock actuator i suppose.. maybe the actuator arm is a little bit out.. have it checked. sumtimes the actuator arm can be used to control boost also.. read it sumwhere.. but i forgot how already. It seems that adjusting the arm causes ur boost to increase or decrease. or maybe actuator arm is restricted of movement.. so..wastegate cannot open.. muahaha.. good luck bro.. btw i'm doing some R&D in a manual boost controller with the same concept like turbosmart boost T .... anybody interested? hehehe.. once product is out... i'll post it.

240sx, still using the stock actuator, didnt remove that one....

polyxtroy, i've closed all the pipes, still at 1.8bar...would belive would go higher...just that my Apex boost max is 1.8 bar....you should see how the boost climb...freaky... :ph34r:

What do you mean forever to reach?

crystal_method, sure bro...find a day TT with the gang...then can feel the 1.8 bar...kekekekek

Rollakid, yes it can be reached if using high flow fuel pump and with proper setting...should be a problem...also relies on your internal whether can take such pressure or not.

EZ,
yeah i knew about the actuator arm thingy. Foreigner use that to control the boost..such as shortening or lengthen the arm...They would cut the centre part of it ..then there's a screw that connects both ...also tightening makes the arm shorter...thus making more boost? I cant recall....

Count me in for the EZsmart boost controller...hehehe :D :D

Now having enuff fuel to push the turbine to 5000rpm...after that is slightly slacky...the feel is good...but dangerous ler...the whole engine just got out from the workshop after blueprinting and balancing...i hope that it's the hose that is leaking..

What about BOV? If leaking would it be boost spike as well??

BOV leaking ur boost won't increase ler...decrease got ler.. ur car will feel underpowered when u WOT when reached ur max boost settings... and audible psssshhhhh (leaking air rushing out) from the engine compartment is obvious... if hose or bov leaking... u'll feel the turbo spools earlier than b4.. say.. stock condition starts spooling at 2800rpm.. but with slight leak... turbo will start to spool at 2400rpm.. sumthing like dat.. i experienced this b4 as my pipings got a small crack in it... my turbo start to spool (green turbo indicator at the meter cluster lite up) as low as 1500rpm... :lol: good luck