open pod air filter

Vyraz

yp guys,
anyone can tell me how to diy installation of an open pod air filter, and do i need to retune by car?

make sure you have an adapter if you need one just unscrew the screws that hold ur stock airbox together, take that out, attach the open pod to the adapter(with gasket ofcourse) and then just sumbat it back into the original hose that ur stock airbox was connected too. oh yeah, also have to loosen the screw at that hose thinggy before stuffing the adapter in. it might take some pushing and shoving but make sure u don't ruin the wire mesh that covers the open pod.

if all esle fails, ask ur mech to do it for you.

rules of thumbs : larger the air filter surface, smaller restriction

thats why u see why those aftermarket one (and stock one, if u open n see) is folded, so that therer more surface area.

i've compare tempreature between open pod (on top carb) with the stock (round metal case). temp. in open pod is lower than the stock when cruising.

temp. in open pod abit high when stop/low speed compare to stock.

so, im thinking of diying using aluminium sheet to make cover or "air tunnel" for the open pod for cold intake (filter still on top carb).. will this be a goog idea or better stick to the stock? becoz using open pod feels abit more responsive.

if is carburetor open pod..
maybe can DIY stick the heat wrap to your exhaust header
i think like this can reduce heat...
my 1/8cent

Originally posted by Maxx@Feb 17 2005, 00:38
i've compare tempreature between open pod (on top carb) with the stock (round metal case). temp. in open pod is lower than the stock when cruising.

temp. in open pod abit high when stop/low speed compare to stock.

so, im thinking of diying using aluminium sheet to make cover or "air tunnel" for the open pod for cold intake (filter still on top carb).. will this be a goog idea or better stick to the stock? becoz using open pod feels abit more responsive.
my plan was to have an open pod air filter installed and then placing an air scoop right above it for the cool air to go in,.. instead of just leaving it.. becoz if we dont, there will be alot of hot air there.

that also can. but must tebuk the bonet.. and some mod to minimize water entering the scoop.

but sorry 2 say this, it's the best way for cool air intake, but the jaypeejay will stop ur car everytime they c u.....

just scope cold air from below ler .. dun tebuk lubang on da hood .. as kennetfong said, later u will become jaypeejay good friend wan , everytime see u sure stop u.

hehe..

gonna mod the stock case, mod it for better ducting from the front grill..
so, gonna using the stock one back after mod.

well i post da pic of my lousy diy. pls dun fire me eh .. im just trying to share. da diy work is rough and ugly and my engine bay is super dirty. T_T

http://img171.exs.cx/img171/771/pic16km.jpg

http://img171.exs.cx/img171/4884/pic22dl.jpg

windz,
nice work done, ur not kedekut, but u know the way 2 do things at the economical yet efficient way......

Originally posted by kennethfong@Feb 20 2005, 13:10
windz,
nice work done, ur not kedekut, but u know the way 2 do things at the economical yet efficient way......
can we use the washing machine pipe to do the cai? or will it melt under the heat??

errr.. from the place where i put my CAI hose it was not very hot there i guess. it wouldnt be so hot until can melt plastic gua, cos da heat shield that i diy also i was using this kindda plastic paper liddat wan, i dunno what they call that paper as. at 1st i was thinkin washing machine host but its too small ler i guess.

Originally posted by Vyraz+Feb 21 2005, 09:16 -->
QUOTE (Vyraz @ Feb 21 2005, 09:16 )
--QuoteBegin-kennethfong
@Feb 20 2005, 13:10
windz,

can we use the washing machine pipe to do the cai? or will it melt under the heat?? [/b][/quote]
the washing machince hose is a bit small in the diameter.... try to find a cheaper hose.... i'm using dust hose.... its plastic too.... but it go larger diameter.... my one is 3' :D

my plan was to have an open pod air filter installed and then placing an air scoop right above it for the cool air to go in,.. instead of just leaving it.. becoz if we dont, there will be alot of hot air there.

water no masuk kena d air filter?
if it does, wat happen? :confused:

well this is my diy
u7utudat.jpg
nuqyzuna.jpg

wifey lenovo wit tapatalk

well this is my diy
u7utudat.jpg
nuqyzuna.jpg

Nice. I am going to do that soon. What hose are those???
I will put a mesh there on the front though, ltr filter dirty quickly and a lot of stones will go in. :\
All u need now is to balut like ayam bakar hahaha

its not hose its pvc pipe & accessories, bay is to compact for hose that when bent its sort of flattens out blocking the air. found short pipe so tested & its same size as ori intake so thought maybe the accessories can be used, cost me less than 10 for it

Looks good and functional. Thought of using those old washing machine pipes.
Give it a good clean then nice.