No improvment at all...

Perodua should take in the E01, license the Hyundai Getz platform/body, then campur the whole thing together. VOILA! P2's latest car...one giant chili padi!

Then on Fifth Gear, Satria R3 versus the Perodua GTi!

arrowhead said:
1.0 kelisa makan my 4g15 with powerzone extractor :eek:
proton should get better engines la.. sigh

U nvr tekan also lar...just cruising wif ur chick! u tekan i think ferrari also kenot smell ur smoke ohhh! Hahaha!

alien said:
judas: not everyone wud pay like u do for a proton..
proton lack the image.. the brand juz doesnt cough up enuff good stuff in ppl's mind..
Most ppl on the street nowdays have prejudice on proton..
The average guy buys a proton juz becoz of it's price.. not becoz they desire for one..
I must admit.. im one of them..
But proton are trying to change this..
We shud give em one more chance..
if we malaysians dont.. who will?
All of us will still be called "ppl living on trees driving cheap cars made in the jungle"..
i dun wanna be made fun by those 3 british men anymore..do you?
although i really enjoy watchin the show.. =p

that's why la i want proton give just a lill bit power to their car,as a malaysian also i buy malaysian car.u think i cant afford to buy import car meh?before this i already use EG6 and ACCORD maa.....i buy malaysian car cause the the part are more cheap and i can spend more in modification.

niceputera said:
My friends,

If I might add some knowledge to all.

1) About Campro.- The engine is already ready. Gen2 1.3 Campro already engine sold by Proton to their staff since last year. The power is comparable to Gen2 1.5 non Campro fitted engine sold to public.

2) EO1 - Yes Petronas had offered Proton their engine but it was rejected coz a) Price is too high. b) It's a prototype - not tested on the road - not enough mileage down. c) Campro is on the way - Proton can control the cost, can develop the tech., can give business to vendor.

3) Savvy - This car is better in term of power to weight ratio and fuel consumption wise compare to Kelisa. Furthermore the selection of the engine was done after a comprehensive comparative task being done on several other engines taking into account the cost, fuel consumption, usage record (realibility), after sales support (technical assistant) and gearbox options. As fw might knows, Savvy will come in the coming months with a new geabox - clutch less manual - just like Alfa Salespeed.

The engine is a new generation engine which is being used in the new Clio III (launch in 2004).

4) The Campro is actually very good platform. It varies from 1.3 4 cylinders to 4.0 V8. From petrol to NGV. It will reduce the car cost significantly as witness trough Gen2 (which has much less cost compare to waja).

5) Powerful engine? Why must go for EO1? Campro is already producing 200bhp from 2 liter. The mechanism used is more like those used by Proshe than Toyota / Honda / BMW.

6) Problem faced by Proton. Vendor. This is the main problem that has yet to be solved by Proton. Many may remember during 1997 our economy was being hit hard by the recession. During that time, Proton has terminated many of the vendors due to no business to give and to cut cost down to survive. Remember how hard it hit Hyundai and Kia? So as GM and others.

So when the eco. is ok, and Proton has started again to produce more quality products and new tech like engine and chasis, the vendors are mostly new vendors. They lack the expertise, experince, tools and machineries and skill know-how workers. This is the task held by Proton to guide and train them. And the process need time. A lot of time.

That is why if we can take Gen2 as example, the launch date has been reviewed few times due to unprepared vendor to deliver the Head cylinders & covers. All this is a problems that public do not informed to ( And I believed no comp will do that.)

And because of them, the Campro tech. is still not ready to be fitted to the public cars. As I write this, the engine is still being tested by the engineers to refine it more for the public use. Making good power is something but to produce a refined and friendly use engine to the general public (that is towards refinement than outright power) is difficult.

Too much complain given to Proton. They know it already but the changing needs time. Don't you see they're doing that already? The new model, the better factory, the better quality. Give them more time, more good things will come. Meanwhile we have to wait.

25 years is certainly not long enough. Mitsubishi, NIssan, Honda, Suzuki as example has started their operation in about 1950's. Proton? 1980's. Efectively we are about 30++ years behind them. Come on, give them some time. They are doing well for a small company.

If you ever go into their Factory Open Day ( I do hope that you when there) you will see the direction. Proton is certainly heading to the right direction. And it will all benefits us.

Maybe others might add.

P/ls : Ohh some members said they wanted to see VW turbo engine fitted to Proton, well it might happen if you care to wait for another 3 years for the nes Satria GTi. I've seen the concept. Much lawa than the latest VW Golf GTi. But the engine is among few engines being shortlisted to be fitted in the new GTi besides Campro 200bhp 2 liter. Pray from now guys.

Cheers.

I feel like replying niceputera's post, but a bit lazy and busy now, just do highlight for the time being

Pray hard tat proton will follow japan style engine...nowadays a lot using those renault engine...tiu....sure damn hard 2 mod...

mitsubishi...habis edi loh...
toyota...perodua using loh...

mayb hope tat proton will merge a bit wit honda?ehehehhe

Yong_5290 said:
Pray hard tat proton will follow japan style engine...nowadays a lot using those renault engine...tiu....sure damn hard 2 mod...

renault bought nissan edy, may b we got rb26 sooner or later :D

niceputera said:
My friends,

2) EO1 - Yes Petronas had offered Proton their engine but it was rejected coz a) Price is too high. b) It's a prototype - not tested on the road - not enough mileage down. c) Campro is on the way - Proton can control the cost, can develop the tech., can give business to vendor.
tested on the road lar~~~~ KLCC got petronas demo cars there, Satia Gti and Waja.

japanese engine is for mod .
while french engien is for lasting and refinement .
over all, i love french engine .

judas evo2 ,
you have no automotive knowledge at all . that is what i observed .
the DVVT is not perodua's project , it is a typical daihatshu engine .
the reanult engine is not DVVT or no variable timing technology , but it itself already achive the maximum power wihout the aid of the variable valve technology , a powerful engine which chunks out the power from a small little 1.15 engine .
compare DVVT and Campro , DVVT is nothgin to campro in terms of successfulness of perodua . if u know how much the effort had been done on the developement of the engine , campro ...u will know . but the DVVT is typical japanese engine , which fit into a japanese car body which is made in malaysia with a perodua badge .
while the savvy is a car with proton body with reanult engine .

lets see , when savvy launch the AMT model . will u go bash perodua not doing their homwork for not including the tiptronic style automatic gearbox and remains at the normal PRND32L enigne ? perhaps , my guessing is right . no .

the campro is not campro-ed yet due to various reason .
1st , developement is not fully matured yet .
2nd , before they put a campro tech , one thing that must be make sure is the engien is stable enough . that is why it is removed .
3nd, dont expect proton to do everythign half baked . seriously , the engine , proton has been putting effort , becasue tengku is very serious of the driveablity of the car . but the quality itself , ... tengku is not that serious . he wants a sporty ride and interior .

ealt said:
People always talk about power....this, those, car so power although it is standard.But they lag of know how, how the power really can effect on certain car.If you got 1.8 or 2.0L engines but not thinking on the weight of that car, it is useless.Let say you got 1L engine and put it on scooter or bicycle, of coz you get the power but if you put it on R32 car, bicycle also can pass you.Think brother before said.....don't always comment here comment there....can you tell me, it is car with 3 cylinder engine can defeat car with 4 cylinder engine?if can how long its can long...no offence to other 3 cylinder engines?
if i didn't try it b4 i won't say out...and for your guys' opinions, arrowhead is using 4g15 and i am too...

1.0 DOHC vs 1.5 SOHC, but counting on the weight, i would say yes to kelisa

but by judging on torque....sorry kelisa owners, u may feel a bit of powerband, but try to drag with some 4g15 owners

judas evo2 said:
all the engineer in proton 'makan gaji buta' or what?there's no improvment in proton cars.even the produa are using DVVT right now but proton are still using the stupid engine.many people complaining about the 1.3 engine are slow,now the make new car with 1.2(savvy).shit...!! even produa kelisa with 1.0 engine are more faster then savvy.when will proton gonna give us are more powerfull engine... :mad:

How much power u want? Standard RM80,000 car with 280hp kaaa?

Kopi said:
How much power u want? Standard RM80,000 car with 280hp kaaa?

We all know that for 80k, we can get a car with decent power( IF we are not in malaysia)

As for how much power I want, I think about 200hp is enough for the daily driver.
Dont tell me people cant control this, drive too fast that, coz even my mom drive a 200hp car.

While we may applaud proton for spending time and effort to make sure the engine is drivable and reliable, many do not notice "CAMPRO" badge behind all those camproless gen2s.

As a manufacturer, they cant even label their products correctly?
Isnt that the same as ricers who put "powered by honda" on their kancil?
Or losers who put "evolution" wordings on their waja/wira?

And tengku wants a "sporty ride and interior"???:D fantastic joke you have there.

BlackSamurai said:
I feel like replying niceputera's post, but a bit lazy and busy now, just do highlight for the time being

i do it for u...

" Savvy will come in the coming months with a new geabox - clutch less manual - just like Alfa Salespeed."

wat for proton want this type of transmission in their car...not cost effective...might not be comfortable...might not even shift any faster than our dragster pros here shift...and to think of it...giving us a gear box that is exclusive to cars like Ferrari, Alfa Romeo, BMW, Porsche and in a car that only cost RM380 per month...that is daydreaming fren...i'd be glad they could give us a tiptronic styled auto...

"Campro is already producing 200bhp from 2 liter. The mechanism used is more like those used by Proshe than Toyota / Honda / BMW."

from what u say...Honda need to close shop and go tanam padi adi...how many 10's of years in automotive field and their B16A could only produce 167BHP...wat a shame...

"Problem faced by Proton. Vendor. This is the main problem that has yet to be solved by Proton. Many may remember during 1997 our economy was being hit hard by the recession. During that time, Proton has terminated many of the vendors due to no business to give and to cut cost down to survive. Remember how hard it hit Hyundai and Kia? So as GM and others. "

as u said 1997...even Hyundai and Kia is back on the road now...why isn't proton...and to hink that they got so much back up from local gov...although i am a Malaysian...and i would like to be as patriotic as possible and defend proton against any negative comments...but then sometimes we jus got to think twice whether it is worth before backing them up...

"They lack the expertise, experince, tools and machineries and skill know-how workers"

they jus never took the effort to learn from other people when they had the chance...

"P/ls : Ohh some members said they wanted to see VW turbo engine fitted to Proton, well it might happen if you care to wait for another 3 years for the nes Satria GTi. I've seen the concept. Much lawa than the latest VW Golf GTi. But the engine is among few engines being shortlisted to be fitted in the new GTi besides Campro 200bhp 2 liter. Pray from now guys."

u would never know what the germans would come up with in 3 years time...

haiihhh BlackSamurai i also lazy la...the rest i leave it back to u...

Yong_5290 said:

modding is 1 problem...keeping the engine alive is another...i remember Jeremy Clarkson of top gear once said that the Renault Clio's reliability is so bad that he called it a French Surrender Monkey...of course i think he broke a few trying his usual antics on the camera...

bridgestoneRE711 said:
the campro is not campro-ed yet due to various reason .
1st , developement is not fully matured yet .
2nd , before they put a campro tech , one thing that must be make sure is the engien is stable enough . that is why it is removed .
3nd, dont expect proton to do everythign half baked . seriously , the engine , proton has been putting effort , becasue tengku is very serious of the driveablity of the car . but the quality itself , ... tengku is not that serious . he wants a sporty ride and interior .

why would most malaysians want such a sporty ride for...most aunties and uncles would rather want a comfortable, economic, safe would not attract robbers type of vehicle...maybe the 3rd point proton is a success...with rising fuel prices and the old citizens broken hips...is this the right way to go...and i dun think they would like their sons and daughter to go zooming around town like MSC...

bridgestoneRE711 said:
judas evo2 ,
you have no automotive knowledge at all . that is what i observed .
the DVVT is not perodua's project , it is a typical daihatshu engine .
the reanult engine is not DVVT or no variable timing technology , but it itself already achive the maximum power wihout the aid of the variable valve technology , a powerful engine which chunks out the power from a small little 1.15 engine .
compare DVVT and Campro , DVVT is nothgin to campro in terms of successfulness of perodua . if u know how much the effort had been done on the developement of the engine , campro ...u will know . but the DVVT is typical japanese engine , which fit into a japanese car body which is made in malaysia with a perodua badge .
while the savvy is a car with proton body with reanult engine .

lets see , when savvy launch the AMT model . will u go bash perodua not doing their homwork for not including the tiptronic style automatic gearbox and remains at the normal PRND32L enigne ? perhaps , my guessing is right . no .

power...i dun think that is of my major concern... as long as it can drive me and my 4 frenz up Genting for a drink...be it a Kancil or E55 AMG and i would not care...

why go bash perodua...i think most City , Jazz drivers dun even fondle with their CVT 7 speed selector...this sort of things get old fast...you will only rave bout it for the first week or so...then you will get bored of it and jus place it in D everytime u drive...