No improvment at all...

thteh...dun like tat lah...

4 cylinder 1.5 liter engine if win a
3 cylinder 1.0 liter enigne if nothing much 2 be proud of loh seriously

if drag 0-100meter i guess my bet will be wit the 'arowana'... :P

boggysv..kinda agree wit u...its like i dun have mivec but then stick a
big MIVEC on my car's butt o windscreen...

Kopi...rm 80k budget 4 a proton car???ahahhahahaaa perdana mayb...

SuPeRtEc88..wei...if giv ca18det also syiok loh...ahahhahaa

2 be able 2 produce a new car...sure proton has put in lots of effort...but then...r they putting in enuf?
i was wondering y they even wanna come out wit savvy..o wat they call sawi...
was wondering who in zth here will think tat it has a 'sporty nterior' cool looking xterior????

thteh86 said:
if i didn't try it b4 i won't say out...and for your guys' opinions, arrowhead is using 4g15 and i am too...

1.0 DOHC vs 1.5 SOHC, but counting on the weight, i would say yes to kelisa

but by judging on torque....sorry kelisa owners, u may feel a bit of powerband, but try to drag with some 4g15 owners
1.5 really can't compare ler. Win the fish almost in every aspect. 1.3 still within the league.

butthead ,
someone is blaming proton and praising perodua without basis at all .
i am not shooting at perodua , but at least , perodua didn't do the work on the DVVT thingy but they still shout out like no body business , remember the time where the launch of the kembara DVVT . ok ,as an advert , it is ok . but it is advertising somehting that they are not success at .
proton campro at least , it is still a success for proton . but somehow , the Campro-kosong engine has defect too . the problem is that they didn't get the powerband up nicely . basically , if an engine is mean to be powerful at high revv , it must have at least adequate power on low revv . they sacrificed the whole low-end power for the highend power .
for the gen2 , when u mean everyday , aunty uncle .. won't revv high . such things are depends on the car , the marketing strategey of the car company . as proton told the public before, the waja is more towards ppl with age 30-35 above . while gen2 is for young ppl .

but then at least perodua merge wit daihatsu toyota n produce good result
many customer r happy wit it...
proton merge wit lotus n renault but still comes up wit erm...duno how 2 say punya car design...especially savvy...
the proton is like taking all those old saga,change the interior n xterior a bit...n then resale them at cheap price...s wat they call saga special edition
n there goes the wira n satria special edition...kind of like...can say a good marketing stretegy but after so many years its still selling the same car...

evo 1-9, y not u say they use back the same car n just did some slight exterior changes? tho the engine is diff every series. (correct me if im wrong)

oh...evo1-9 using same chasis ar...wah...many of us didnt know tat wor...
mayb onli lancer diff chasis kua...
but evo 3 chasis is E-CE9A
evo 4 chasis is already E-CN9A
evo 7 chasis change 2 GH-CT9A

got same ar?

butthead,
haha, i'm really lazy now, just let it go. :D

to all,
I think no point firing here, stats will tell us whose strategy works.
IMHO, automotive player for small market such as malaysia market do not need to have their engine house development. Earlier we want Proton to have their own engine and gearbox badly because Proton keep on tell us that getting Mitsu engine and gearbox is expensive (coz of stronger Yen), by having the Proton in-house engine will make a slash on the Proton car price. However, we forgot that Proton need to charge higher price to recover it's engine R&D cost. So everything back to square.

To get the own engine plan started is obviously good, but i was shock when I saw SAVVY having Renault engine and not 1.3 Campro, I was thinking, does Proton moving backward? Proton currently can only make 1.5 Campro availalbe for gen.2, it's even harder for Proton to recover the engine R&D cost.

And the engine naming is really misleading, a engine named Campro without Cam Profiling? Marketing in Proton dun talk with Technical? Or Proton really think that they can simply fool Malaysian and the rest of the world like old time? Every international motor mag/body was keeping an eye on the development of the Campro engine, coz of historical and powerful name, Lotus. Unfortunately, Proton just make another joke with the entire automotive industry.

I dun mind if Proton really take the initiative to push Campro (with or without Cam Profiling) hard, get 1.3, 1.5, 1.6, 1.8, 2.0, 2.0 v6 engine in the power plan to replace the engine for SAVVY, WAJA, Perdana or any future model like SRM. They can even make engine for smaller cc like 660, 850, 1.0 and sell it to Perodua to further helping them to reduce the R&D cost effectively.

I really really thought WAJA 1.8 is the last foreign engine for Proton ever since they launch Campro, well, too bad, it's drived by wire :)

why WRM does not replace Wira? According to Proton, because the market still have ppl want to buy WIRA. From my observation, i think the actual fact is that Gen.2 price is not as competative as WIRA, if Proton discountinue WIRA, they won't have a product for the 4xK - 53K segment, which is same segment with Myvi.

of course some will obviously says that if WIRA model discountinue, many vendors or supplier will lost their job, vendors may close shop and etc. So, is that means that Proton will continue selling WIRA for the next 100 years?

just my 2 cents.

oh ya...4 ur info..

http://www.sportcompactcarweb.com/features/0304scc_lancerevo/

haha
i'm driving a kelisa
and i don think 1.3 stock can overrun a kelisa
maybe 1.6 wira can la

btw, any idea what's the engine that SRM will use?
or SRM will never make it to the production line, coz TM step down as CEO, many thing may have change? Dunno.

Back at year beginning of 2004, Proton is so ambicious, telling the world that they will release 3 new models in a year, which are WRM, TRM and SRM. 2 models will start selling at 2004 and the last model will be release at the end of 2004, and start selling at the beginning of year 2005. Releasing 3 model in 1 single financial year is really something hard to achieve. You don't even see big player like BMW and Merc to release new model for 3,5,7 (BMW), C, E, S (Merc) in the same year. PS: New model, not face lift.
International Auto Mag have a very big question mark on Proton 3 model in 1 year promise back then, and now time proof that Proton is wrong.

Unlike Proton, Perodua is prepared for Afta at 2005, they tell the press that , no more new model after the new Kancil release, and only 1 new model (which is Myvi) will be release at 2005. Perodua just did what that says. But Proton, continue give you false hope. Yah,yah, yah, i know, supplier and vendor can't make it on time, last minute hickup, they are new, inexperience, no experience technical worker. But this is business, not masak-masak or Monopoly game.

Remove or suspend the vendor from the list for those vendor who can't meet the dateline, if the vendor hold you and screw up Proton's image, Proton shall have the rights to sue them until the last penny the vendor have in their pants. Proton don't screw them, but finger pointing at us, saying that consumer don't buy their car, questioning goverment why some imported car tax is under declare, blame that Korean car is selling cheaper than it shall be, Says that Malaysian don't give them a chance, Proton is nagging like a spoiled child.

ahahha..quite true....
last time 1 kelisa almost smoke me kau kau...
was damn amazed by its pick up...damn fast boy...
but top end kurang liaw lah...
but still its damn fun 2 drive around town wit such good pick up n torque

This little fish is quite fast / responsive within the speed range of 70 kmh till 140 kmh. But stand still pickup still slow as usual :D.........

guy,proton engine is sux
if not we also won convert this convert tht ald leh
MIVEC GSR VR4 EVO all also use to replace those proton..haih

JPJ somemore stop us to modify and convert,damn sui

Getz said:
This little fish is quite fast / responsive within the speed range of 70 kmh till 140 kmh. But stand still pickup still slow as usual :D.........
pickup from stand still slow meh? it still gives me nightmares ler.. maybe just that my car's pickup even more slower... :D

The oni time proton can improve is when they stop hanging to other car companies n then copy ppl's engine n say it's their own very new design wif this pro n this tech....

I would be very proud of proton if they manage to produce thier own engine w/out any help be it a 1.0L engine or 2.0L n etc....;)

Getz said:
1.5 really can't compare ler. Win the fish almost in every aspect. 1.3 still within the league.

u so sure???

CyberPunk said:
evo 1-9, y not u say they use back the same car n just did some slight exterior changes? tho the engine is diff every series. (correct me if im wrong)

not only chassis and engine diff ...later versions got AYC, ACD and the 9 got MIVEC...

bridgestoneRE711 said:
butthead ,
someone is blaming proton and praising perodua without basis at all .
i am not shooting at perodua , but at least , perodua didn't do the work on the DVVT thingy but they still shout out like no body business , remember the time where the launch of the kembara DVVT . ok ,as an advert , it is ok . but it is advertising somehting that they are not success at .
proton campro at least , it is still a success for proton . but somehow , the Campro-kosong engine has defect too . the problem is that they didn't get the powerband up nicely . basically , if an engine is mean to be powerful at high revv , it must have at least adequate power on low revv . they sacrificed the whole low-end power for the highend power .
for the gen2 , when u mean everyday , aunty uncle .. won't revv high . such things are depends on the car , the marketing strategey of the car company . as proton told the public before, the waja is more towards ppl with age 30-35 above . while gen2 is for young ppl .

if i am not wrong...Campro's original idea was to work without camshafts...they would have hydraulic actuators pushing the valves...this way they could have an infinite control over their valve opening and closing duration...in theory it is superb...but even big european and the jap manufacturers would not dare push this sort of technology although they had thought of it...

BlackSamurai, very deep and insightful though...i must say...actually all the crap bout cutting cost is jus all about "face" only...they dun wan to looked down by people...which is a good thing...but they should also know bout their own strength as well...

i dunno much about 1.3,1.5 campro...but i remember they said there would be a 1.8 camproed Gen2 to be released 3 months after first Gen2...

i think Proton jus never thought about the feasibility when they said they were going to release 3 new lines within the same year...even big manufacturers like Benz that has manufacturing lines all around the world dare not do it...

even Perodua has to slow down Kancil, Kelisa and Kenari productions lines in order to give way to Myvi...of course they are on the same production line which cannot be blamed...but would Proton be able to produce cars in time for customers if really "assuming" that they could really get their 3 new lines into production within the same year...dun tell me that they are going to open a new plant jus for the new line of cars...who would inccur the cost...

and for cars like Savvy...i would opt for a CVT rather than a sequential or tiptronic...

judas evo2 said:
all the engineer in proton 'makan gaji buta' or what?there's no improvment in proton cars.even the produa are using DVVT right now but proton are still using the stupid engine.many people complaining about the 1.3 engine are slow,now the make new car with 1.2(savvy).shit...!! even produa kelisa with 1.0 engine are more faster then savvy.when will proton gonna give us are more powerfull engine... :mad:
talking about kelisa...
yesterday went up genting with my 1.3L iswara car (4g13 oni)... to my surprise, i was smoked by at least 3 or 4 kelisa's charging up the hill... damn kao fast man their car... some even faster than those so-called gravity defying sentra taxis... they even smoked some merc... haha... cornering time can see they doing tripod.. :eek: