Newbie from Kepong

JackCozi

Heya, I'm quite new here, currently got interest in ICE setup in my car. I'm driving a 1.3 iswara sedan and would like to install ICE step by step. My first thing in my mind now is getting a HU. Gentleman... do u have any ideas?

HU
Alpine or Eclipse?Whats the model? My budget now is RM500

Another question is, do i need to install voltage regulator? Is it required? How about sound proofing in my car?

Currently im trying to forked out RM500 each month in order to upgrade my ICE system, :) So, i need some advise yeah...Thanks alot. :rock:

Since you can get each month 500, I think is better you save the money for few months then change it at 1 time, you will save money on installations. 500 for these 2 brands is not that possible. Unless you get a lower end one...

Oic. I need to start off as amateur, not high end user...Currently in the learning stage...What is the best HU for starter? I have preferences between Alpine and Eclipse... Im not going to spend much on my ICE system, maybe on da budget 3k...:)
Btw, before i get a HU do i need to install voltage regulator to maintain my car performance while having the ICE. How about sound proofing...is it value for money?

Thanks alot... :biggrin:

A voltage regulator is no need. Since your budget is 3000, you can buy a 12' sub for 400-500, 2 channel amp for 500, HU that you want to I never use it, so I not that know the current price. The best is get a HU with mp3 function. I think it will cost you around 1000-1200. If Pioneer then it will be cheaper, maybe around 700-900 you can get a good HU. But sure if compare to Alpine, it will have a gap.. So the balance 1000 you can get a 6.5' component set with an amp.
Sound proofing material I never use it before so I cannot comment much. But last time when I use Iswara without it and install ICE, the car end up I have to sell it off, the screw sound come out from no where always.

wit 500 nothing can b done bro... :biggrin: 500 for an alpine HU?? i dun think u can get even kenwood, sony, pioneer n etc... if u r taking bout the lastest model la.. if u want sumthing like 2- 3 years back im sure u can get. but wats the point of getting a HU set that is 2- 3 years old rite? if u r goin 4 cap 3 ayam then can la.. dun waste ur money on cap 3 ayam, its better u save up.... mayb like 3k o sumthing... then from there u install little by little... thats my opinion only

Yo, thanks to the reply. 3k for a HU? Just a cd player leh...and a cd player is actually an output source. Got a question here, why dont i spend more on amp or crossover, speakers? How about upgrade the wiring...haha.. does it makes any difference? Is it the same as applying my home theater audio technique into ICE?

Btw. crossover is term as digital mixer for home theater rite?

Sorry for lotsa question...been thinking how to utilise my fund....

Thanks again to kyheng and dev for you opinion...:)Appreciate it... :)

JackCozi said:
Yo, thanks to the reply. 3k for a HU? Just a cd player leh...and a cd player is actually an output source. Got a question here, why dont i spend more on amp or crossover, speakers? How about upgrade the wiring...haha.. does it makes any difference? Is it the same as applying my home theater audio technique into ICE?

Btw. crossover is term as digital mixer for home theater rite?

Sorry for lotsa question...been thinking how to utilise my fund....

Thanks again to kyheng and dev for you opinion...:)Appreciate it... :)
a HU unit might cost 1k n above depending on wat brand n model... the more u pay, u get better deal... its not point changing wiring if u dun have amp n stuffs... lets take water pipe 4 an example... if the water pressure is low no point putting a big pipe line rite? its the same 4 wiring.. its no point have ex amp, speakers n stuff like that if u HU unit dun have the output power to push it.. so top to bottom must b good... electronic crossover is normally used when u have more than 2 amp... its gives a better tuning... if u r talking bout 1 amp just get a pre amp that will b good enough... no worries bro.. :tee:

Okay, thanks alot yeah, btw... How's your HU performing? Any brand recommendation? i prefer vocal and mid bass.... not loud bass/disco songs.... :dancing2:

JackCozi said:
Okay, thanks alot yeah, btw... How's your HU performing? Any brand recommendation? i prefer vocal and mid bass.... not loud bass/disco songs.... :dancing2:
if u want clear sound go 4 soundstream... it will b dear but good... HU unit doesnt really matter as long u got a good 1 instead of a cap 3 ayam brand (brand like Alpine, Kenwood, Clarion, Pioneer n etc produce nearly the same sound) when i 1st started playing ICE ppl told me not to use Sony cause Sony produce sharp sound want feng tau use Kenwood :cool: ( but now 21th century already all nearly the same)... u will b able to find the 2- 3 years old model 4 a cheaper price im sure... but dun la compare wit ppl lastest model HU unit.. new 1 might have better sound cause of newer fectures in it... same as hp bro, last time where got such thing as bluetooth o 3G... last hp that cost 2k, now 500 also no 1 want... ppl all want to up, no 1 want to down rite? agree? :party:

Just add a bit more points, if you just want a normal listening only, then Pioneer can do the job, if can try to get a DEH5750, I using it now, not bad. I bought that time around 730 almost 1 year ago, now maybe cheaper. The best part on this HU is it has 3 pre-outs, so you no need to crack your head to buy a crossover or a pre-amp later when you want to upgrade.. Just make use of the 3 pre-outs.
Talk about home theater or ICE, the concept is more or less the same, only the power supply not same, home is 240V and car 12V.
If you want to change wiring, the best is you buy from electronic shop, the price for the wires will be very much cheaper compare to a accessories shop.

my suggestion are as follow for rm3k n for newbie:

1.New Alpine Hu without MP3,entry level 9 series RM550-600, Cv audio is selling.
2.Get a second hand 4 channel amp like Phoenix Gold 4.150 someone quoted me RM600, or any good one, later got cash can upgrade to better one.
3.Get a Alpine Type E 12 inch subwoofer for RM400 second hand- someone in Zth is selling.
4.Get a new 6.5 inch Ads 236is components by Mnkh27 for RM850-888 i think, also selling in zth
5.Make a customize woofer box for Rm150 in Megasound Subang
6.Balance cash can use for installation n cable n diy sound prof fing or u can get people to do it for u in ice shop.

U can use that 4 channels amp as follow, 2 channel to push the components speaker n 2 channel bridged to push the sub.

Just my 0.000000000000001 cent :smile:

Tohsan said:
my suggestion are as follow for rm3k n for newbie:

1.Alpine Hu without MP3,entry level 9 series RM550-600, Cv audio is selling.
2.Get a second hand 4 channel amp like Phoenix Gold 4.150 someone quoted me RM600, or any good one, later got cash can upgrade to better one.
3.Get a Alpine Type E 12 inch subwoofer for RM400 - someone in Zth is selling.
4.Get a 6.5 inch Ads 236is components by Mnkh27 for RM850-888 i think, also selling in zth
5.Make a customize woofer box for Rm150 in Megasound Subang
6.Balance cash can use for installation n cable n diy sound prof fing or u can get people to do it for u in ice shop.

U can use that 4 channels amp as follow, 2 channel to push the components speaker n 2 channel bridged to push the sub.

Just my 0.000000000000001 cent :smile:
Tohson, u sure all those stuff ori o imitation 1?? cause the price of the Phoenix Gold, woofer sounds funny if it was ori.. the HU i can turst cause no MP3 n might b an old model :rolleyes:

Anybody knows reliable ICE centre to fix my HU? If possible kepong area...btw where is CV audio?

500-600 for HU, nice catch...erm heard about TRU amp ka?
next month is december liao, wanna get nice ICE to blast thru new year la, hehe...Christmas is coming :santaclau ! Imagine those christmas melody in my car.....wow! :rock: :star: :thrasher:

dev said:
Tohson, u sure all those stuff ori o imitation 1?? cause the price of the Phoenix Gold, woofer sounds funny if it was ori.. the HU i can turst cause no MP3 n might b an old model :rolleyes:

Beside the Hu and components speakers is new one, the rest u can pickup second hand from ice selling section of zth, go check it out. If the second hand ice is ain't that cheap for entry level, how much do u think they shld sell??? like new unit price???? who wanna buy if they are close to the new unit price??? perhaps u????:tongue: :tongue: :tongue: :biggrin:

Fixed my car ICE at Sound View Auto Accesories, Taman Megah

Currently
Pioneer DEH 3750MP - RM550
BLAUPUNKT GTA470 800W AMP &
BLAUPUNKT Component SET TSW Series - RM600 (2nd Hand item)
Workmanship & Wiring - RM200

Total- RM1350

As result,
Drilled holes in both my car door panel..Perfectly fit.
Moderate good... as mention b4 things starts to rattle off. haha....
Locating unwanted sound in my car but couldnt find it...
Currently using stock 3 way speaker u produce bass... Looking for a descent 10" woofer ...haha. ANy recommendation?

Cheers....

JackCozi said:
Fixed my car ICE at Sound View Auto Accesories, Taman Megah

Currently
Pioneer DEH 3750MP - RM550
BLAUPUNKT GTA470 800W AMP &
BLAUPUNKT Component SET TSW Series - RM600 (2nd Hand item)
Workmanship & Wiring - RM200

Total- RM1350

As result,
Drilled holes in both my car door panel..Perfectly fit.
Moderate good... as mention b4 things starts to rattle off. haha....
Locating unwanted sound in my car but couldnt find it...
Currently using stock 3 way speaker u produce bass... Looking for a descent 10" woofer ...haha. ANy recommendation?

Cheers....

the total amount is ok........
but the HU got a little bit expensive la........
if u wan woofer got 2 find a member in ZTH call "fofit"......
the item he sell cost is lower.......
i brought my HU kenwood kdc-mp5033 juz 600.......(latest mp3 player kenwood 2006)
the location of the shop is damansara damai......

Queries on Subwoofer..

Dear all the sifus who pass by this thread,:shades_smile:

Still confuse on buying a subwoofer,

Tube subwoofer 8 inches?
12 inches double/single subwoofer?
10 inches subwoofer double/single?

How do i decide on the woofer, and the power rating? For example can a 400W better than a 800w in terms of brand?
Besides that, woofer box with 'ventilation' hole and without hole affect the sound quality?
Woofer diameter size does matter?

Im currently using the amp as mention b4 in this thread. Do i need another amp for my subwoofer as well? Taking my own sweet time searching for best subwoofer to suit my amp.. I need some suggestion before i really buy it. Hard earn money dude. :emoticon_U: . Everybody, Thanks alot. :_:

Regards,
Jack:Not_Impressed:

mini clubman DF9818 said:
the total amount is ok........
but the HU got a little bit expensive la........
if u wan woofer got 2 find a member in ZTH call "fofit"......
the item he sell cost is lower.......
i brought my HU kenwood kdc-mp5033 juz 600.......(latest mp3 player kenwood 2006)
the location of the shop is damansara damai......

Gosh!... Thanks for ur suggestion. I PM 'fofit' edi. Get him quoted on Kicker subwoofer. Damansara damai along the way to sungai buloh...rite? :shades_smile:

If sedan car try to get a 12" sub with ventilation(ported) box, rms around 200-300w and an amp to power it. If got extra money, can go for a DVC sub. The rattling sound is from your door, so have to use extra 250-300 to add the sound proof material.

taman megah...i went there b4 their HU is abit exp....

do they sell second hand amp???

Write your reply...