Need Some Help...Regarding Pc Stuffs.

heng84

Does Powersupply make any difference.. im using a powersupply that maximum output is 350w... my friends say i need higher powersupply to support my pc.. and i ask him why he say dont know -_-...... anyway im running on p4 2.7ghz.

My AGP slot got some problems.. my old video card(agp) spoilt maybe make my agp slot got problem too.. i tried other agp video card.. it displayed bios.. but once loading windows..it will automatically reboot.. and when i use safemode to enter windows that time..it cant detect my video card.. anyone know why??? im using on board video now :( .........

Can anyone recommend me video card that is pci type..dont need to be high end.. just some normal video card with 64mb memory maybe.. is pci more expensive than agp???

P4 2.7 .. better if u have 450watts minimum. Mostly if a person uses.

-Hhigher end graphic card
-CDR/RW, DVD-ROM or Writer
-Additional cooling fan stuffs fitted in
-Or any other accessories ..

Reason is because .. Im using P4 2.8Ghz, 1GB RAM, GF3 AGP, 80GBx2, CDRW, DVDROM also twin blower at the end of casing..

previously i used 350watts power unit.. was okay but one day suddenly lost its lifetime but cant power on already .. if i ON oni the CPU colling fan turn on for a while then OFF .. checked the power supply but power supply is ok.. at last ..

i changed to 450watts and now my baby is running sleek & steady till now.

Its my experience.

Cheers!

Newer P4s require at least 400W PSU to run properly.

Actually, 350W also can but must be those expensive brands such as Enlight, Enamax and etc...

Why? Those el-cheapo ones cannot supply as claimed on the label due to cheap components. Means if you buy a casing with those RM 20-30 350W PSU, it max it can supply is around 250W or less.

If you want to save money, buy any 400W-500W el-cheapo will do. Or else, invest in branded ones.

Also, try to invest in a UPS to stabilize these el-cheapo PSUs. You might find they by doing so, the PSU can last a long time.

thanks man..1 more question........ will it cause my pc to hang while playing games??? im experiencing it.. but not sure whats the problem.. might be directx or video driver..cos play 3dgames only will hang.. T_T

Most of the time, symptoms of "shortage of power" is instability of windows. Your comp might either come up with lots of application errors or restart for no particular reason. It's always best to invest in a good PSU such as Enermax , Antec, ACBel which costs ard RM200-300. Which mainboard you're using now? The reason behind this is because some mainboard tends to consume lots of power such as Asus' P4PE. As for your AGP, safe mode will never detect your AGP card model or whatsoever.

Err i might be wrong here. But is there a P4 2.7ghz? From what i know, there is 2.4, 2.66, 2.8. I'm not aware of 2.7. Did u bought an OC'ed machine or u OC yourself?

Anyway, a cheap 450W power supply would cost from RM90 above. Unless u want those RM500 ANTEC variety. More moolah for your machine. :lol:

Originally posted by netmatrix@Mar 30 2005, 20:07
Err i might be wrong here. But is there a P4 2.7ghz? From what i know, there is 2.4, 2.66, 2.8. I'm not aware of 2.7. Did u bought an OC'ed machine or u OC yourself?

Anyway, a cheap 450W power supply would cost from RM90 above. Unless u want those RM500 ANTEC variety. More moolah for your machine. :lol:
[snapback]854554[/snapback]​

oh..sry.. mine is 2.66ghz.. i see many ppl with 2.66 mentioned theirs as 2.7 so i follow oso le.. sry ya :P.. 2.7ghz sounds more proud ma..when telling ppl.. hahaha.

anyway thanks for the infoz..i am using some cheapo 450W now.. :P..ive been told that my mobo have some problems.. you guys know how much asus mobo for 2.66ghz atround?? i dont want built in video anymore..

my friend bought a msi mobo at rm150.. but his cpu is 2.2ghz i think.. i think cant support my cpu..anyone know the price ar?? lazy to go shop by shop and ask =P

Originally posted by heng84@Mar 29 2005, 14:32

My AGP slot got some problems.. my old video card(agp) spoilt maybe make my agp slot got problem too.. i tried other agp video card.. it displayed bios.. but once loading windows..it will automatically reboot.. and when i use safemode to enter windows that time..it cant detect my video card.. anyone know why??? im using on board video now :( .........

maybe u can try disable ur on-board graphic in ur bios first before u slot in an agp :)