Add a PC in your car. (wifi,bluetooth,dvd)

how about this motherboard with built in C3 2000+ processor running on DDR400 ram with built in graphic and flex ATX size ?
http://www.pcchips.com.tw/PCCWeb/Products/ProductsDetail.aspx?DetailID=247&MenuID=25&LanID=0

Retail below RM250 (motherboard and processor built in) , just need a ram, harddisk, power supply and monitor then we are ready to rock.

P/s: mine got stolen few weeks ago but lucky it wasnt in my car when it got stolen so i didnt have the broken windows (touch wood) yet! ... but the stupid thief took the whole thing including my wireless mouse!!

hmm computer in car.. i have that ideat oo.. have.. facing some same money problem as u.. well.. if budget wise... i got few suggestion,

power inverter
pasar road cna get 1000w one. about rm 480, the one in lowyatt.. not powerfull enough , trust me. i check and ask before...

computer inside
make a decent case that can keep ur pc cool, and. good shock resistatn for ur whole mother board and hard disk.. or.. expect it to be gone in less then 6 months, keep heat below 60c max! prevent overheat destroy

and... 14 inc monitor is MORE then enough, with 1kw inverter.. should be able to support it flawlessly, for me.. i will cut my dashboard and integrade my monitor inside... ( thats for me )

and... a piece of advise is... get a spare battery... and.. send to shop to charge them instead of using the one ur car sharing..

well.. i fu are starting the project.. i wont mind joining u to check how things works.. i live in sunway.. ^^

icecube said:
The 17" is retailing for RM750 and 14" For RM520. For that price i would of coz get the 17" as its much more brighter (suitable for daylight outdoor use) ...coz the 14" is not that bright (even after adjusting the contrast and brightness).

The 17" LCD adapter stated "AC input 100-240V 1.5A Max. 50 -60hz " .....Does it mean 1.5A X 220v =330watts ? WOW....:O

Aiyoo...no la.even my 29" Tube TV at home just used 110watts.How come 17"LCD can reach 330watts?Actually,inside the LCD panel,it has an converter a.k.a. adaptor which can reduce the electric to the lowest as needed by LCD it self.It is 30-50watts around that-if i'm not wrong.

Oh please don't go for the M789 with build in proc. Absolutely don't go for it if you plan to watch movie/mp3 with visualization on it.

Well, it's quiet and consumes power next to nothing, but the proc sucks! Don't be fooled into thinking it's a P3 2.0Ghz equalavent! It's not.

It's running a C3 800Mhz Samuel processor!

Do a google and you'll find out how bad the samuel proc is. What you can do with it? Run a thin OS desktop word processing. That's the max it can do. Absolutely no multimedia.

A quiet in bedroom server is good too.

And you wonder why the sellers in LY is selling so cheap? :wink:

hmmm c3 800mhz .. pc chip right ? ... i know a few ppl using it for a car-pc and they said mp3 are quite ok but laggy when playing video ...

oh .. since we are talking about car-pc .. i have a complete set for sell .. complete with touch screen and dc-dc psu ...

i too had the plan to build up my own car pc but got 2 main problems....power n touchscreen. both oso damn expensive. coldfusionpower...where did u get those 2 items from? pricing?

yeah .. two of my prrevious car-pc uses a UPS , inveter and a rca lcd .. and when it just getting good with all the touchscreen and dc-dc psu , i had to sell it . damn .

dc-dc psu = rm450 and liliput touchscreen = rm1200

that DC-DC psu....is it the kind that auto starts up when detect engine crank up complete and auto shutdown when engine stop detected?

ive searched some websites that uses these kinds of power supply that can auto start n shutdown the pc depending on engine state but so far only selling in the US. price oso very power. on avg they supply bout 150W rite? where did u get it from? hmmm...if u selling mayb i can get these 2 items from u...but not now wor. only at end of year i starting up this project. these 2 items the most pricey anyways.

the liliput is 7" ?

yes .. that's the one .. it can survive engine crank , auto on and shutdown. google for M2ATX (180w max). it was made and imported from US.

lilliput touchscreen from china .. lilliput is china made not US .. US made Xenarc

wanna ask some other things....the lcd. connected using analog cable rite? u used extension from your boot? custom make or u just buy the extension n extend till reac where u need to pu the lcd?then how bout the dvd drive? how did u extend it to the cockpit? then the lcd how did u mount it to the dashboard? drill holes or just double sided tape?

ever thought of integrating the aricon controls n all the sensors so its truly a car pc? all that needs to be done is a serial in and a program

the LCD is VGA so i just buy an VGA extension to the boot. dvd drive , use the IDE to USB adapter. IDE cable cannot go more than 100cm. my lcd was bondo to the center console . u can use a screw or use the double sided tape that already provided with the LCD goose neck .

yaa . i know a few ppl uses the air-co control . really cool ! but just imagine if ur carpc hangs or broke ... so ur air-con cannot work .. i'm sure u dont want that . or at least do a bypass switch .

If anyone is interested in getting a touchscreen and power supply specially for carpc.

Check it out at: http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?p=1950022#post1950022