need more torque

Cavey

To all honda gurus.I've been trying to find answers but most of them unsatisfactory or not to the point.Hope u all can help.
I drive a bb4 prelude manual with 2.2 vtec.Car has been serviced regularly and has no problems.I have a k&n open pod filter and a straight flow exhaust.Catalytic converter has been removed and have one bullet in the exhaust system.My question is how can i improve my low end torque?In high rpm and when the vtec kicks in its fine but when in low rpms i find it very sluggish.I know that hondas in general have very poor low end torque.So what can i do to improve low end torque?Even with cam upgrade the power only comes in in the higher rpm.Thought of turbocharging it but got lot of cons than pros.Hope to get some feedback.Thanx in advance :cool:

yo bro,i driving bb4 honda prelude 2.2 auto. I have the same problem as u. High rev around 5-8 only have g-force. Low rev is like a bit underpower, the reason was the car too heavy. Modify ur car door to carbon fiber, honda prelude door too thick and heavy and remove ur back seat. Some specialist also advice me to put turbo but vtec+turbo engine usually won;t last long and have many problem. Second, try using fully synthetic engine oil, should be can solve the problem sluggish.

Using synthetic oil only since i got the car.Some mechanic say change to light flywheel but some others say if u change then going uphill the car will slow down.Damn leceh man.Gti with light mods oso can feel the pull and makan prelude but once vtec kick in then different story

rebore ur engine can increase ur torque.....
bigger cc = more torque rite?

bro, next time use fully synthetic if u want to feel g-force in low rev. Personally i recommend Shell Ultra Helix and Mobile 1. Prelude pickup definitely will no match for smaller car because too heavy but the advantages is very stable even u drive around 180++ but still u need to have good absorber and strut bar, as u know m'sia road condition not so nice. And u need to change ur ecu if u want to exceed 200++, because it will rev cut once reach 190+.

Been using fully synthetic.Wat about turbo with low boost?Is it a good idea?

useless 1 u put small turbo, won't give u any feel an also depend on ur budget. u need a lot $$ to modify h22 engine, even the cheapest modification also need around RM3k, no much feel, just let u listen to the turbo sound only and ur petrol money also increase.

even got budget to play turbo, definitely got a lot problem in the end. that time no budget to change engine

can, cause the front got plenty of space, prelude front more space than s2000. F20 from s2000 right? expensive engine, need around RM15k for that engine if i not mistaken

all the r type engine need high budget, not worth it especially for us normal use purpose.

including gearbox? how was the performance compare to h22? a lot difference?

have been considering changing s2000 engine, but have to wait until i rev my engine blow then only can change.

hattech-v said:
if u r looking to h22a turbokit. i know someone who want to sell it... :)

hi bro can u post the details?price etc

woodykids said:
can, cause the front got plenty of space, prelude front more space than s2000. F20 from s2000 right? expensive engine, need around RM15k for that engine if i not mistaken

s2000 is rear wheel drive.Can fit f20 in prelude ah?Prelude is front wheel drive