need help regarding engine...

fazidk

hi sifus...im currently trying 2 troubleshoot my car..its an ori mitsu vr4..d only mod i've done is evo7 cooler, vr4 na inlet manifold, banana manifold...apart from dis other remains standard e.g. injectors, turbine etc etc...

no problems starting or watever...it starts when d car HAS started...i have 2 "play" wiz d gas paddle 2 avoid d engine "dying"...u see...d idling is rough (though i think dis is more of n understatement)..after d car starts, d idling is smooth (engine cold) but after a while (normal operating temp) the rpm goes slightly bezerk n engine dies off...while driving its OK but whwen d car stops..dats when dis problem occurs..like i mentioned i have 2 play wiz d gas paddle...

so i wld b very grateful if any sifus in here can help me in dis matter...TQ much appreciated

IMO,
1. problem starting engine/need to rev abit to keep engine from dying when cold = Check autochoke function and cold start valve
2. Idling low till engine dies off
= TB sensors kong already. Get from chopshop for mitsu engine.

HOpe it helps

happens to my n/a b4, found prob from exhaust sensor wiring.. timing become crazy when engine hot..

your t/b kong oredy.install FICD la.i had one for sale cheap2 only.Pm me if u want it.item is used and taken out frm my car.

tq 4 all ur kind opinions...fyi, starting is not d problem..it starts very well both cold n hot..its after a while..maybe normal operating temperature it becomes like dat...idling or when car is at stop (toll, traffic lite etc etc)..have 2 play wiz d gas paddle..

im not sure whether dis makes any sense but when d radiator fan is not moving (i have a loose fuse problem..have 2 adjust from time 2 time) i dont face d idling problem (at dis point only overheating problem!! hehehe)

so, cld dis still b exhaust sensor wiring? im asking dis bcoz i replaced my exhaust 2 banana n d wire got "snapped"..so its not connected..

ya, sounds more and more like the TB sensor is kong. When fan moves, the heavier loading is compensated by increase in idling speed. in your case, when the fan moves, idling speed drops dangerously low ie. heavier load in not being compensated. and guess who is the culprit ? yep, its the ISC valce in the TB.
Ask ur mechanic to troubleshoot the sensor. they'll remove it and test, relatively simple and when confirmed...luck is also on your side coz i've heard that for mitsu engines, chopshop is willing to sell just the sensors without the TB.

FICD = Fast Idle Control Device.
ive heard that this can only be installed in a carburatored engine. pretty useless in an EFI system as the idle speed is controlled via the TB sensors which sends signals to the ecu.
IMHO, i don't think this would solve ur problem, jst perhaps masking it...if it can be succesfully installed. Get to the root of the problem bro

i think ur prob same like me laa bro..TB kong aready,
if switch on the aircond sometimes rpm drop until engine shut down..

TQ bro for ur kind advice..but d problem is when d fan IS moving/on..when its NOT d RPM is ok (not jerky or watsoever)..anyway, i tested d ISC wiz mt multimeter n d reading is at 30-33 ohm which is normal...i b taking d unit out 2moro n testing it wiz a 6v battery (s adviced by a vr4 user)...

btw, how much r u selling d FICD bro raja_emperor??:regular_smile:

ya, sounds more and more like the TB sensor is kong. When fan moves, the heavier loading is compensated by increase in idling speed. in your case, when the fan moves, idling speed drops dangerously low ie. heavier load in not being compensated. and guess who is the culprit ? yep, its the ISC valce in the TB.
Ask ur mechanic to troubleshoot the sensor. they'll remove it and test, relatively simple and when confirmed...luck is also on your side coz i've heard that for mitsu engines, chopshop is willing to sell just the sensors without the TB.

so, cld dis still b exhaust sensor wiring? im asking dis bcoz i replaced my exhaust 2 banana n d wire got "snapped"..so its not connected..

i think it may, coz ur car can't read the heat.. maybe u need try to connect it back n if nothing changes, can try using ficd..

thnks bro mattz...will try do dat...hafta find 1 1st from chop shop...wonder how much it costs...hmmmm anyone?

Write your reply...