Need Help on RPM gauge.

nicotine

Hello to all ZTH sifu,

my snail Car - Protong Wira 1.3gli (a/b) year 02 (siemens)

I recently purchased a autogauge 2" rpm gauge and tried to DIY it by refering to this guide, but then I dont know why the thing just dont work:confused_smile: only the backlight is working flawlessly so i dont think it's the power problem. As for the sensor, I tap the green wire to my existing ori 1.3 meter panel. So sifu any idea ? or any other way to deal with it? or perhaps the guide were meant for mmc ecu n not svdo ? please enlighten me.. .

thanks in advance.

the light is independent from ur gauge power..btw, do ur ori meter got rpm meter?
if so, first try to test the gauge power..red n black..if it was okay, then u try to use another wire to connect ur autogauge green wire to the distribution cap there...connect to the distribution cap metal body..then it should work...

is it called distribution cap? the 1 that seperate the plug cable into 4....

sifu, my ori meter panel dont have tacho, that's the reason why i purchase a seperate gauge ;)

for the distributor.. just connect to the body can already ? err... if possible can show using picture ar? low quality pic also no prob .. hehe sorry to demand so much :P

thanks again

help me also...

i'm using toyota AE92 engine that is 4agze... where i should connect my tacho signal cable to? please..

nicotine said:
Hello to all ZTH sifu,

my snail Car - Protong Wira 1.3gli (a/b) year 02 (siemens)

I recently purchased a autogauge 2" rpm gauge and tried to DIY it by refering to this guide, but then I dont know why the thing just dont work:confused_smile: only the backlight is working flawlessly so i dont think it's the power problem. As for the sensor, I tap the green wire to my existing ori 1.3 meter panel. So sifu any idea ? or any other way to deal with it? or perhaps the guide were meant for mmc ecu n not svdo ? please enlighten me.. .

thanks in advance.

hey bro,
there are 5 wires for you RPM gauge...
1)red = positive
2)black = negative
3)green = RPM (this is the one to connect to the RPM wire in your dashboard)
4)white
5)...forgotten...

unscrew and take out your dashboard panel,there is a RPM wire there...beside meter wire.tab the green wire from your RPM gauge to connect to the RPM wire.
you haven't connect this green wire,that's why your RPM just only got light and no function for others...
other 4 wire please refer back the RPM gauge installation diagram....
good luck........!!

sifu frcgrey,

i think you misunderstood my enquiry, i did tap the green wire to the white RPM wire behind the meter panel, but it's not working and today i tried to tap the connection from the distributor but then it's not working also.. i wonder whut's the problem....

oh by the way the 2"autogauge is working perfectly on my dad's toyota via disti coil ;)

anyidea sifu's ?

cheers.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v296/kyleng7889/watercooled/DSC05417.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v296/kyleng7889/watercooled/DSC05414.jpg

nicotine said:
sifu frcgrey,

i think you misunderstood my enquiry, i did tap the green wire to the white RPM wire behind the meter panel, but it's not working and today i tried to tap the connection from the distributor but then it's not working also.. i wonder whut's the problem....

oh by the way the 2"autogauge is working perfectly on my dad's toyota via disti coil ;)

anyidea sifu's ?

cheers.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v296/kyleng7889/watercooled/DSC05417.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v296/kyleng7889/watercooled/DSC05414.jpg

hey bro,
are you sure the wire that you taped at the dashboard panel is correct??or maybe you can try to tap other wire at the RPM panel wire...
good luck.......

err i dont think i'm gonna try tappin other wire unless there's someone who can confirm which wire to tap .. coz i dont wunna risk frying all my wiring, anyway thanks, i decide to give up and buy a 1.5 wira panel prolly by next month and thanks again.

cheers.

i think you better check which is the correct wire you should tap from.there are 2 wires 1 of it is + and another one is - .to check or confirm try turn your key to acc or on position.then use your test light to check and sambung to the - position.give a try!

sifu, the +12 n ground I "sambung" from my ciggie lighter, and i think it's working coz the gauge light lite up ler. haih .. very ze blur o.O"