Need advise

TaE|VoN

Hi.

I bought myself
-a Bazzooka 6" passive tube
-a pair of Boss audio 6.5" riot series components set of mid and tweeters
-a 700w Quake Laboratories 4 channel amp

Looking to install this into my small car. (MR2)
Well cabin space is a very big factor here in my consideration of ICE.

Will this few things make my car ICE sound good? Or do i still need to buy an active crossover?

Thinking of just bridging 2 channel of the amp to power the tube and leave the other 2 for the components.

How? Advice?

I would think that you would be happy with the outcome. Whether it sounds good....it more of personaly preference. Dont worry so much abt add ons such as xovers and such...get what you have installed first and work from there...for all you know, the current stuff would put a big smile on your face... ;)

Originally posted by Master D@Mar 15 2005, 07:53
I would think that you would be happy with the outcome. Whether it sounds good....it more of personaly preference. Dont worry so much abt add ons such as xovers and such...get what you have installed first and work from there...for all you know, the current stuff would put a big smile on your face... ;)
Thanks for your input.

But wat i want is good sound quality lah. Not those ah beng ah beng bomb bomb bomb one. :D

So do i need to buy a cross over for my current setup? just one single 4 channel amp can put crossover to filter the sound frequencies to the tube and the speakers?

What head Unit are you using?

If you really wanna go for SQ, you have your work cut out for you on the lower frequencies with the Bazooka, IMO, you would need a bigger sub because a 6" bazooka wont really thump and it cant go low too but you need to work out the details with your space constraints. Where are you planning to place the sub anyway?

On the xover, it depends on the HU, if your HU has xover built in, then you can do without it for now, but you can also add an xover for more "tunability".This is optional.

Since you are into SQ, I'll have to say that you could do without any of the items you have just purchased, a decent set of components will cost you abt RM800-RM1K..the componets will be the most important thing here if you want to do this the quick and easy way, from there you can look into a better HU then decide on a proper sub. The amp that you have will have to do for now, I cant find its specs online but since its there, use it.Based on its "advertised" output, you can plan for a 10" sub later. Then when you have all the speakers and HU issues settled, go amp hunting.

If you do decide to offload the items you have, then set a budget and keep your options open.You need not necessarily get new stuff as sometimes there are good used items for sale.I guess amps,components and subs would be OK to be purchased used as long as you get to test them.For HU's, I'd say get a new one if you can or only decide the buy one thats used if you can test out its playback on all the different medias the HU is supposed to be able to play. Some HU's are extra sensitive.

If you dont want to spend on purchasing new items, then go ahead and get what you have installed,honestly the outcome could very well be what you expect and you will be happy with it, do a proper fitting for the components and if you have the money, get sound proofing done too. This will be for future expansions when you wanna upgrade later.

Hope this helps. ;)

Too profound... :o

I'm into SQ with the equipments that i've got. Try to get the most out of them.

I'm idiot with ICE... My frd driving MRS can get very good sound out of all no brands items. He DIYed everything. One RM50 no brand amp to power his 6" bazzooka. One another no name 4 channel amp to drive his front components. And a crossover. Thats it. Good sound lah. That was how he did to his old integra as well. Very solid sound. BTW integra was equipped with two 12" subs.

Wat improvment will an active crossover be for my current equipments that i have?

I dun wan to get pre-amp. Coz front din all no space already. defi controller and turbo timer in place. :)

BTW i'm using a pioneer deck. Beginner series. Forgot wat model already. It can play mp3 one. 45wx4...

Wah... not bad ar Master D, now already know how to advise plp on SQ setup yeah. whahahah. not bad not bad. keep it going. dun embarrass me hor... whhahahaha

TaE|VoN bro,

perhaps u can explain which part of your sound system u dun like. basically its very hard to say what to do and how to do to achieve a better SQ result. what kind music you're into to also very important part.

my opinion

low $$ - low expectation = ok
high $$ - high expectation = ok
low $$ - high expectation = disapointment
high $$ - low expectation = err.. dunno what its called.

which part actually are you not satisfied? Bass not loud? bass not clear? Voice not loud? voice not clear?

Write your reply...