Muffler....

skyline2778

Can anyone tell me when is the good time to change the muffler on a car?
Any specific things to look out for??The last i changed the muffler was around 3 yrs ago....Thanks for the help....:_:

ur muffler is not a component that wears and tears.so there's no certain time that u shud change ur muffler.

u shud change it when it does not muffle ur exhaust anymore.when its too noisy for tat matter.

actually under normal usage from a "non-fire spitting" car...... a muffler could even outlast the exhaust piping itself, which is more prone to corrosion.

i guess the only way is.. when you hear your car sounding louder than usual... gotta check 2 things.. the exhaust pipings and the mufflers.

Actually i changed my muffler to an aftermarket one...it was bassy last time but now it sounds different like as though "kosong" inside.Now it's too loud.....

was it a branded one or a cap ayam one?coz maybe its the material that muffles the sound is spoilt.

It's cap ayam one la..... if i change muffler to good one,u think matola brand is ok ha?

matola is alright i guess..
alternatively u can refibre ur current muffler..cheaper alternative

resilienthunter said:
matola is alright i guess..
alternatively u can refibre ur current muffler..cheaper alternative

where n how much does it normally cost u to refibre it?

im plannin to change my whole exhaust system, currently using stock extractor n piping but 5zigen muffler wit twin outlet,wat other brand do u all recommend to me? i wanted a whole complete set one without cuttin one :X-:

Just wanna know, what is the difference between various types of mufflers available in the market?For example those oval shaped,silinderical shaped,twin outlet,etc...if i wanted to choose a muffler,which one should be good for my car(iswara a/b 1.3)?
Thanks.

there's no diff in performance.they are just mufflers.to muffle sound.
the only diff is the muffling.producing diff sounds.or...no sound at all.

got diff....how well the exhaust exits..matters...i think..hehe
there's one muffler from mugen...the pipe re-circulates back into the tabung...that generates hp...

yup there is a difference..if lets say you buy a muffler that has been specially designed for your car, there will be a marked difference..

and the shapes can roughly play a part..generally oval shaped mufflers are s-flow and the cylinder-shaped ones are straight flow.. and i think that there is a general conception that automatic cars should use s-flow mufflers (something about backpressure).

i havent been able to find anything about this on the internet tho..what are s-flow mufflers called in the west?

not quite sure which thread there was a topic abt the back pressure, if my memory still serve me well... the back pressure would cost cloggin of yr exhaust fume hence sacrificin yr car performance instead :X-:

0.000021 cents, cabut :X-:

"Imagine getting beaten by a 660cc.. "A Coke can blew up in the face?"

fluff kena tapau by 660?

read powerzone coment about muffler.for turbo, just leave it straight thru.the muffler is just for noise restriction.
for N/A set up, the extractor, mid section play the rules.size, shape depends on your engine combustion output.the best set up is to get the exhaust thru out without any pressure and leave a vacuum so that next combustion will be easy thru.so far extractor, 4-1 and CAT is the best.only that noise matter, we need to change to oval.now we're back to square.nothing change.the output mufler, also call a resonator is to reduce noise.thats it.
unless your engine has more than 1 output profile.e.g Vtec, mivec.to make it maximum, you have no choice except to concentrate at second profile (Vtec Open) setup so that you gain maximum performance.with this, you suffer noisy sound.
e.g bullet.
to enjoy improve in performance and still maintain the noise level, just use aftermarket exhaust system like, hotbits etc.they have proven at dyno and noise test.std factory use a blockage type while the aftermarket just release this with S flow concept, enlarge inner diameter and cover up tight with good fiber.
bear in mind, each time you change the exhaust, please do check the tuning.bigger output is not suitable any more for the std tuning.this is why speedwork recommend SAFC together with the K@N open pod to give good combination.the price wise?? errr...rm3+++k for all..expensive!
better stick to std and save money for others.

I recently changed my mid bullet coz my old one cracked.But now whenever i press the oil pedal and let go at around 1st or 2nd gear, i get this explosion sounds at my exhaust.Why this happens and any cons to this???Thanks....

*pop pop* sound?

if ur using a carby engine...re tune the carby..try changing the sparks...