Mr-2 Sw20

Wah! Goober no time for email but got time to come foruming huh?!

Anyway Hello all, its Marcus here for those who know me...

Yup :-) its me.

But 'stock' is a very subjective word hehehhe... who am i talking to lah?

TheFalcon said:
just askin
anyone interested in rear lights of a 2?
got 92 and 94 one....
is it 245 lights? is it come with the lock? how much is it please?

JS2 said:
is it 245 lights? is it come with the lock? how much is it please?

yea, everything lor
coz jez bought the halfcut... but i prefer my old lights
pm me wif a price lor, not sure about pricing ^^

Hi all,

i want to ask whats the difference between the engine cover?

some have a bulge and some are flat and some the bulge is even bigger.

whats the difference?

is it the difference of the engine?

good guess Yen... there are 2 types of OE engine hood covers... a raised engine hood cover are for turbo-ed models and actualley helps in dissipating unwanted hot air and the flat engine hood covers are for NA engines

the ones that you see that are even bigger are aftermarket ones

I see that there are a few "new" MR2 owners out here of late?

welcome to the gang :)

anybody interested to meet up this friday? do list your name down here...

1. midship

midship said:
good guess Yen... there are 2 types of OE engine hood covers... a raised engine hood cover are for turbo-ed models and actualley helps in dissipating unwanted hot air and the flat engine hood covers are for NA engines

the ones that you see that are even bigger are aftermarket ones

can i use an NA hood for a GTE engine? advisable?

yeah..I have spare turbo hood if u want..cheap cheap...hehe
or u can fabricate customised type from the NA engine cover .

hehehe, actually.. i just bought a turbo halfcut
so got hood adi...
now thinking wad to do wif lights nie.. sell or use?

anyone wants a GE engine? those dat wanna play NA ^^

midship said:
I see that there are a few "new" MR2 owners out here of late?

welcome to the gang :)

anybody interested to meet up this friday? do list your name down here...

1. midship

1. midship
2. iexit
3. goober = hanz

Anymore for Friday?:regular_smile:

Hey MR2 buddies,

I have a small problem regarding my transmission and was wondering is anyone could give me some pointer or direct me where to go for some answers.

OK here’s my problem, my transmission has moods; sometimes everything is good and smooth… other times I have problems slotting in to 2 or 3 gear (sometimes its 3 sometimes its 2). The problem is usually happens when I’m driving hard and it’s only during down shifts. At first I assumed it’s the fail safe system (i.e. 1 gear) but I soon realize that even at sane speeds (80kmh dropping to 3rd for a corner) it sometimes get ‘stuck’. Eventually I’ll force it in… when I do this; there is just a small click but no transmission noise or cranking sounds.

Shifting while driving normally does not indicate any problems, everything is silky smooth. I’ve serviced my transmission and am using Motul Mineral LSD oil (boy this gearbox really need lots of oil)

Could it be the Syncro? (not sure about spelling) If it is how come is not consistent? Or could it be the transmission mountings which are in need of repair, or perhaps the clutch? Any ideas?

BTW its a 3S-GTE. And has anybody found any MR2 manuals for repairs and general car care?

iexit said:
Hey MR2 buddies,

I have a small problem regarding my transmission and was wondering is anyone could give me some pointer or direct me where to go for some answers.

OK here’s my problem, my transmission has moods; sometimes everything is good and smooth… other times I have problems slotting in to 2 or 3 gear (sometimes its 3 sometimes its 2). The problem is usually happens when I’m driving hard and it’s only during down shifts. At first I assumed it’s the fail safe system (i.e. 1 gear) but I soon realize that even at sane speeds (80kmh dropping to 3rd for a corner) it sometimes get ‘stuck’. Eventually I’ll force it in… when I do this; there is just a small click but no transmission noise or cranking sounds.

Shifting while driving normally does not indicate any problems, everything is silky smooth. I’ve serviced my transmission and am using Motul Mineral LSD oil (boy this gearbox really need lots of oil)

Could it be the Syncro? (not sure about spelling) If it is how come is not consistent? Or could it be the transmission mountings which are in need of repair, or perhaps the clutch? Any ideas?

BTW its a 3S-GTE. And has anybody found any MR2 manuals for repairs and general car care?

Hmm..sounds like your car needs some test drives and some donuts to loosen up the gearbox..hehe :)
Try to grease your gearshift lingkages and also remember to change the clutch pump oil. A reminder to get it done by pros because some mech tried pumping for 4 hours but couldnt get it primed. Mine felt better after the clutch pump oil change and also adjusted the height of the clutch pedal for a better feel.
If it doesnt work...then try looking for a spare gearbox and cynicks would be glad to relieve you from the speedo assembly. :)