Modifying stock airbox

yeah... it sounds very loud after 3k rpm...
see what can i do to reduce the noise while maintaining good air flow... btw, my Wira SE center box very low... everytime go through bump will kena scratch...

I thnk WiSE center box has a different design compared to the original GLi... mine even louder. But that helps in FC.. know what? Since it's so loud, i press less and drive more gently.. hehe!! :lol:

haha...that's a good idea to help FC... ;)
after i mod my airbox, i can barely hear my exhaust sound coz air suction sound is much louder :P

I think you need a CAI now... otherwise your car will suffer under the hot sun..

btw, how much did you get the air box for?

i will do heatshield soon lar...
i bought the whole airbox including the rubber hose (don't know the exact name) which connected to the throttle body for RM60... from chop shop... air filter also included...
don't know expensive or cheap... :P

consider cheap lor... i also thinking of getting one... does the intake S-hose has the MAF socket?

no MAF socket ... in fact, no holes... coz this unit is Wira 1.6 one...
Wira 1.6 MAF located right after the air filter if not mistaken and it is screwed onto the airbox ...

i will feel a bit guilty if i remove the cat...haha...don't flame me for that
btw, my car in pure stock condition before all these minor mods also can reach 90km/h in 2nd gear...around 6500rpm
engine screaming like hell...still can go faster but don't dare to rev anymore...

What car are you driving?? Mine is Wira 1.5 (M) 2002. Even with cam,extractor,filterand iridium pluds, at 6500rpm is all noise and no go. :angry:

unstable idling?? high cam ? high lo high lo high lo.. ah?

yeah...I think the cam is 262 degree. PZ recommended to have the idling adjust at Spin(USJ) as they have the machine to do it. Done it and had the idle adjusted to 850rpm but still the same. It is like 'farting'.

Originally posted by hann@Dec 31 2004, 10:01
What car are you driving?? Mine is Wira 1.5 (M) 2002. Even with cam,extractor,filterand iridium pluds, at 6500rpm is all noise and no go. :angry:
yeah...I think the cam is 262 degree. PZ recommended to have the idling adjust at Spin(USJ) as they have the machine to do it. Done it and had the idle adjusted to 850rpm but still the same. It is like 'farting'.
mine is Wira SE... in pure stock condition when i did that... ;)
don't dare to rev anymore coz already in red line...
btw, i think most high cam also behave like that lar...

Originally posted by lawrencelyl+Dec 31 2004, 11:22 -->
QUOTE (lawrencelyl @ Dec 31 2004, 11:22 )
--QuoteBegin-hann
@Dec 31 2004, 10:01

mine is Wira SE... in pure stock condition when i did that... ;)
don't dare to rev anymore coz already in red line...
btw, i think most high cam also behave like that lar... [/b][/quote]
mind to share out what is the different btw driving with a normal cam and high cam??? :)
what is the adv and disadv of high cam? :rolleyes:

just my opinion,

don't use knn or the hks (mushroom) filter. use the apexi power intake.

ok knn u need to maintain, hks also need maintainence, and it isn't exactly cheap. whereas the apexi one, all u have to do is at every service just blow high pressure air into the filter and it's good to go again! (it cannot come in contact with water or else ur screwed!)

ok, filteration quality, hks is THE WORST! meant for really track cars or if u hardly use ur car as a daily driver. apexi has better filteration quality than the knn one because, apexi is not oil based and does not need the oil to help in trapping the dirt while sucking in air.

bottom line, go for the apexi power intake.

i felt the difference, not only in a nicer growl from my engine but my 0-100km/h time improved by 4.3 seconds! if that isn't good...i don't know what is.

oh and also, don't buy those 6" open pods for ur car cause u MIGHT feel a slight lag...just like turbo haha. cause ur engine is not that capable of sucking in HUGE ammounts of air at a time.

hope this helps. i'd be glad to answer anymore questions on this filter :)

ALL highcams are like that wan le

why else the V-TEC is invented?

nice tame low-end, plenty of torque here
and after certain rpm,
*VRRRRRRRRROOOOOOM

the cam becomes a WiLD-HiGH cam.
then the power naik even more.
2-in-1, that's why the technology is so much better

Originally posted by tykoh@Dec 31 2004, 11:56
mind to share out what is the different btw driving with a normal cam and high cam??? :)
what is the adv and disadv of high cam? :rolleyes:
for more info about standard camshaft and high performance camshaft, click on this URL: http://auto.howstuffworks.com/camshaft2.htm
i also believe Apexi power intake is good...not just maintenance free but very good filteration too...
too bad it comes with a price :P

man......if u guys ussing simense ecu better use back stock filter.... i am a part time mechanic most of the car with simense ecu put on opend plod filter sure will gain the dust stick on the trottle valve.... but for those ppl have stock filter bolt on have no problem..... but i have tone to my car just like pic below ... just remove the water filter box....sound also go loud when apply full trottle......

water filter box ?? wah... haha
or you mean air filter box ?
or the U-shaped pipings before the air filter box which is used to prevent water from entering the air box ?? :D

yup that i... only leave the air box a big hole... the water wont go in what... so far so good ...

hey guys.. got something to ask.. if i just wanto try removing de U-shape piping b4 de air filter box. how to do it ah? need to remove de battery 1st?

izzit possible to replace de U-shaped pipe with a flexible hose as CAI leaving de filter box standard? if can wat size of de hose i can fit in?

Originally posted by khguan@Jan 2 2005, 15:25
hey guys.. got something to ask.. if i just wanto try removing de U-shape piping b4 de air filter box. how to do it ah? need to remove de battery 1st?

izzit possible to replace de U-shaped pipe with a flexible hose as CAI leaving de filter box standard? if can wat size of de hose i can fit in?
.....bro you ned to take out the tyre and battery