Mod on 4G92 Mivec Waja

ayiecrx said:
Ben...somethin' Wrong With Your Mivec Activation Point. Check Your Wiring...ecu.....are You Still Using Waja Meter Or Mivec Meter..

I'm Using 6a12 (v6 Mivec - Fto) In My Waja 1.8. With Fto Meter And Wiring. No Problem At All. Enjoying It Every Moment!!!

Hi..

after conversion, i'm using lancer dashboard (inc. speedo, digital trip, digital air-cond + 2 airbags)... tacho shows reading until 10k RPM.. dat's MIVEC dashboard rite?

its gud 2 have someone done same thing...
mayb you can help me here..

any test to check my MIVEC?

ben_gsr2s said:
4G15 DOCH tiptronic can easily reach 6k RPM?

damn... i must do something?

any suggestion?

I'll try to post the Mivec MT panel meter pic tonight. See whether the rpm cut-off is same or not with yours.

At mean time, my advice is to to check with respective same 'geng' as yours...i meant those using the same Mivec tiptronic liek yours.

ben_gsr2s said:
Hi..

after conversion, i'm using lancer dashboard (inc. speedo, digital trip, digital air-cond + 2 airbags)... tacho shows reading until 10k RPM.. dat's MIVEC dashboard rite?

its gud 2 have someone done same thing...
mayb you can help me here..

any test to check my MIVEC?

Can be fitted into Waja dash ka?. Wa... Malaysia Boleh!!!.

As for the speedometer, the rpm meter reading ended until 10k.

aja said:
Can be fitted into Waja dash ka?. Wa... Malaysia Boleh!!!.

As for the speedometer, the rpm meter reading ended until 10k.
Yup..yup..can..seen a few edy..one of our member is using 1.8mivec engine and another one 2.0 mivec..some still remain their old dashboard, just change the meter and also the aircond panel..

WajaRS said:
Yup..yup..can..seen a few edy..one of our member is using 1.8mivec engine and another one 2.0 mivec..some still remain their old dashboard, just change the meter and also the aircond panel..

hmm... Like that can post a pic here arrh?. Just want to see.
BTW, there is no factory-made Mivec 1.8. I guess your friend hybried it.

Anyway, here is the meter pic for my previous mivec ck manual tranny. If u notice, the rpm cut-off around 83++ (same reading as rsm reading..plus minus).

hi..

i use all mitsu lancer dashboard part duering conversion..
dat's mean i throw away all my waja dashboard...
so far,
no problem wif da dashboard as all electronic + air cond work well plus the installation of lancer dashboard fit my waja very well... look like factory made...

this saturday,
i'm going to send the mivec for checking... hopefully i find out wat wrong wif the engine..

1 more question...
about the piping... do i need to re-pipe...?
can i use orignal waja 1.8 piping?
suitable piping for 1.6 MIVEC?

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y163/ben_gsr2s/test%20car/speedo.jpg

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y163/ben_gsr2s/test%20car/interiora.jpg

ben_gsr2s said:
hi..

i use all mitsu lancer dashboard part duering conversion..
dat's mean i throw away all my waja dashboard...
so far,
no problem wif da dashboard as all electronic + air cond work well plus the installation of lancer dashboard fit my waja very well... look like factory made...

this saturday,
i'm going to send the mivec for checking... hopefully i find out wat wrong wif the engine..

1 more question...
about the piping... do i need to re-pipe...?
can i use orignal waja 1.8 piping?
suitable piping for 1.6 MIVEC?

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y163/ben_gsr2s/test%20car/speedo.jpg

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y163/ben_gsr2s/test%20car/interiora.jpg

Wah..Really can fit arrh... Sure after this lancer dashboard become hot!!. Techically, look exactly like my previous lancer CK. BTW, the door trims, it's really can fit the dashboard curve arhrr?. If yes, then ...bravo la.

As for the Mivec piping concern, normally for VV engines (Vtec,Mivec etc), my opinion is the optimum piping is 2.2".. or maybe 2.3" with hi-cam (if any).

Just a comparison..FYI, for my previous mivec 1.6, I'm using 2.2" piping with straight flow muffler (cause it's manual). Currently with my H22A 2.2 NA (manual) Vtec also, my OEM RS*R piping still 2.2". Pelik, isn't?. I think Japanese already measured that 2.2" piping is most suitable to VV engine, stock engine of course.

But for your case, u shoud use the S-flow muffler cause yours is auto/tiptronic whereby the back pressure is important.

aja,

thanks for the reply..

last nite i hanging out wif vtec hardcore..
gettting idea on basic mod to the engine..

as u mention... 2.2 @ 2.3... yea it seems ok as the suggested that also...
they suggest 2.2 but better 2.3 for future mod...
so.. i think i will go for 2.3

about the dashboard... around door trim part.. it does not follow the curve exactly.. but from the way they installed it... no obvious gap between dashboard and the door which is acceptable...
the dashboard already HOT now... as market price can easily reach RM 1.3k...

some question:
regarding re-chipped or adding chip to ECU.. first i heard from mechanic.. then i read the advertisment in mag... i made a few call, so basically the price around RM450 to RM600 + tuning...

does anyone ever done this?

from the explaination... they done this to VTEC and MIVEC... so hi-rev is posibble... 8kRPM to 9kRPM...
i'm thinking of doing this...

any advice?

no point goin beyond the OEM rev limit if u've left ur internals untouched......mivec's usually starts losing power at 7.6k rpm or so.....

ben_gsr2s said:
aja,

thanks for the reply..

last nite i hanging out wif vtec hardcore..
gettting idea on basic mod to the engine..

as u mention... 2.2 @ 2.3... yea it seems ok as the suggested that also...
they suggest 2.2 but better 2.3 for future mod...
so.. i think i will go for 2.3

about the dashboard... around door trim part.. it does not follow the curve exactly.. but from the way they installed it... no obvious gap between dashboard and the door which is acceptable...
the dashboard already HOT now... as market price can easily reach RM 1.3k...

some question:
regarding re-chipped or adding chip to ECU.. first i heard from mechanic.. then i read the advertisment in mag... i made a few call, so basically the price around RM450 to RM600 + tuning...

does anyone ever done this?

from the explaination... they done this to VTEC and MIVEC... so hi-rev is posibble... 8kRPM to 9kRPM...
i'm thinking of doing this...

any advice?

Last time, i didn't know where they do the ECU rechipping, cause quite rare people can do for this 2nd Gen mivec. even last time i did went to see Uncle Charlie (Matspeed) to reconfigure / rechiping the OEM ECU but after spending almost 2 hours, he told me can't due to the E-prom is already fixed. Can't add-onn or something ..can't remember liao..& another thing is the A/F mapping. I don't think that normal person can do it cause the AF mapping for 1st gen & 2nd Gen mivec is totally different!!......but in reality, guessing for your tiptronic gearbox.. better kept it stock la. If not sure your gearbox cepat kaput one. Or else change to manual. That would be better. I still wonder why didn't u change to manual halfcut last time...if u pure looking for the power!!.

This Mivec CK is really meant for high-rev, as In Australia they previously used it for racing purpose among them. Last time, i did call/email soremberg (can't actuall rwcall their name) in Australia... asking about the rechiiped ECU. They told me that it's safe to rev to 9000k rpm:baring_teeth: with stock engine. Still internal can tahan.. My suggestion here, u need to do a various net search on this if u really looks for power and mods.

I'll try to post here the gear ratio (for the manual trans) for your info afterwards... just a slight comparison with my current CL1 H22A, but as far as i remembered from my prevous stock car, here are the speed vs rpm ratio :-

1st gear : Max Speed 62 kmh. rpm 83++
2nd : 102 kmh rpm 83++
3rd : 148kmh rpm 83++
4th : 198KMH rpm 83++
5th : 237 kmh max, rpm 73++. Full throttle, air-cond off..flat road. Tested > 10 times !!!
All readings based on actual RSM readings.

hi..

aja,

great info.. it seems that u have gone thru so much research during ur time wif MIVEC... i see now u own H22A... y? can't get enuff of MIVEC?

y not change to manual.. or straight buy manual h/cut?
the idea of doing the mod just to add 'some' power to the standet engine... summore, tiptronic/auto makes life easier in heavy jams... its not all the time i wanna rev to redline... u know, just sometimes when u need 'power'..

about re-chipped..
i've been told that they can do it for 2nd gen...
actually i'm still considering... since not many of us doing this... so i don't want future un-wanted problems...
maybe i do summore research before go for re-chipped...

how about piggy back... e.g VAFC... does it helps?

spyderslr,
stock internals... bcoz of still in the early stage of mod... internal mods coming soon

v-afc does help ......if paired wif ITC to tune ur ignition, it would b better of coz... =).....

ben_gsr2s said:
hi..

aja,

great info.. it seems that u have gone thru so much research during ur time wif MIVEC... i see now u own H22A... y? can't get enuff of MIVEC?

y not change to manual.. or straight buy manual h/cut?
the idea of doing the mod just to add 'some' power to the standet engine... summore, tiptronic/auto makes life easier in heavy jams... its not all the time i wanna rev to redline... u know, just sometimes when u need 'power'..

about re-chipped..
i've been told that they can do it for 2nd gen...
actually i'm still considering... since not many of us doing this... so i don't want future un-wanted problems...
maybe i do summore research before go for re-chipped...

how about piggy back... e.g VAFC... does it helps?

spyderslr,
stock internals... bcoz of still in the early stage of mod... internal mods coming soon

Yeah..not so comprehensive la. H22A now just nice, other than higher roadrax, the rest are as normal as VV engine. That all.

My piece of advice...don't too much revving your engine to redline...as we know auto gearbox is really not relible one. Once a while, consider ok lah..but trust me, later it will be most of the time!!! kekekeke

About VAFC, some say it's good, some say no. In general, i think VACF is just waste of money. Just imagine, paying RM1k++, hp gained is like 2-5bhp, tu pun if u are lucky. My opinion, why not spent that RM1k++ budget for others upgrade that is more worthful!!!.

I think that y until now i'm still not using the VAFC. kekekekeke

aja said:
hmm... Like that can post a pic here arrh?. Just want to see.
BTW, there is no factory-made Mivec 1.8. I guess your friend hybried it.

Anyway, here is the meter pic for my previous mivec ck manual tranny. If u notice, the rpm cut-off around 83++ (same reading as rsm reading..plus minus).
Yes bro..he hybrided it wif a 1.8 block coz he broke his crankshaft before and can't find any parts for it so at the end of the day, GSR block was his last resort...

JOEFTO said:
hi,guys what do u think mivecv6 on waja
plse comment,tq
Its quite good..seen one before..and there is a few more around Subang area..Dunno why the auto gearbox looked a bit weird if you install the auto version coz that shifter seems to be located higher than the old one..something like driving aeroplane..not sure whether can it be modded anot..

JOEFTO said:
hi,guys what do u think mivecv6 on waja
plse comment,tq

In theory, Mivec V6 should be better cause with a V6 lines that provide higher low-end torque. But in real life, it's more for easy cruising (that y most of them came in auto tranny, not manual) , not really meant for performance due to it's a heavy crank that i's carried.

That y, if we notice nowadays, Japanese V6 engine is least popular for modders, as compared to V4.

As far as Mivec 2nd Vs. Mivec V6 concern...auto to auto... starting point normal Mivec 2nd Gen will go first a bit due to lighter crank+engine. After that , then V6 come to overtake until the topspeed. Stock to stock la, i meant.

Some dyno-charts for stock Mivec 2 Gen CK..

it seems that whp is around 145-148whp. There about 15%-20% transmission loss. Meaning to say, mits claims on hp for Mivec Ck is consider correct also.

Since i've being the owner for this mivec for 4 years previous, i wonder why people in bolehland do not modify this 2nd gen mivec...still modify the old mivec one!!:Not_Impressed: :Not_Impressed:

Gear Ratios for CA4A and CJ4A

Model CA4A - 1st gen Mivec

Gear
R..........3.083
FDR......4.592

At 100kmh your revs should be about 3100rpm. The difference could be tyre size.

Model CJ4A/CK4A - 2nd Gen Mivec

Gear
R..........3.363
FDR......4.625

At 100kmh your revs should be about 3160rpm.

Based on the calculation, the top speed for a CJ4A is theoretically 237.32kmh. In real life, as i said earlier..i tested the topspeed of it >10 times..the topspeed i get is 237kmh (rsm readings)

bare in mind that post 99 Mivec CJ4A has a 2nd gear ratio of 2.055 and all as stock close ratio gearbox & high compression 11:1!!.

See the different??...3rd gear & 4th gear of Mivec Ck really differ from mivec 1st gen. Only 2nd gear same..and notice that 2nd gen mivec gearing is longer. Same goes like B16 & H22...Topspeed higher for mivec ck.

Maybe that explain why the STOCK Mivec 2nd Gen still can fight with mid mod Mivec 1st gen 1.8 !!

Any other comments are welcome!!

I think maybe u should get a piggyback like E-manage Ultimate.. which has speed cut, rev cut.. all in one.. should be good enough for your car.. happy modding

Hi..

yesterday (saturday) i sent my waja mivec to a mechanic.. before any test drive, i brief him some on what have been done to the engine.. then he popped-up the bonet and touch here and there ( a few places)..

we went for a ride... the mechanic driving.. he rev-up my engine... and to my suprise... i heard the MIVEC in action... somewhere past 5k RPM... until reaching 8k RPM.. he tried that 2-3 time... everytime i can heard and feel (sikit2..) my MIVEC in action...

he explain to me.. nothing wrong... maybe the engine not run too long... so no charge... FOC... not even a single sen for 2 hours of testing...

my question:
- does the explaination acceptable?

so now.. i have a happily rev. MIVEC...