Mivec 1.6 turbo 300ps v.s. 4G63 stock inetrnal 300ps!!

in sepang drag battle (or in fact any race - rally/drag/circuit), mivec turbo does not compete in 1600cc category. they compete in 2wd turbo category (group B) or open category (group A) with the big boys. i'm sure u know, as per FIA regulations, turbocharged engine is categorized as having 1.7 times the displacement of NA engines. how come u didnt know this? i thought everyone here knows about this...

its only under some 300m drag races (putera racing, maxx sport batu kawan, and some others) that offer 1.6T categories. mostly its only 2.0 turbo which means 1.3-2.0 turbo is all lumped under 1 category...

as for trackdays, name me any car(proton convert mitsu engine - especially 4G63 n 4G93 with 2wd) that regularly participates in trackdays that have more than 350whp... 2wd with more than 350whp is just asking for trouble. u sure cant brake on time, and on boost, the car just doesnt want to steer as sharply as we turn the steering. most of us (including me) here lower our boost level in trackdays... we dont need that much power cos it'll only mean we'll carry more speed into a corner, more wear n tear on brake system. unless u have really good brake system...

u mentioned that 2.0 with 300whp is not enough to fight with the 500whp boys in races. well, the thread starter here asked about daily drive. most of those 500whp monsters dont even drive their cars to circuit. they prefer to have their car towed. the cars are only driven for 400m at a time... i personally know some people that drive 500whp monsters daily and most of them buy a kancil/small car to drive around and keep their monsters in garage for reasons mentioned by joeker.

anyway, i did have someone asking me about turbocharging a mivec to 300whp target for daily use. i told him to go for 4g63 route. since his car was a 1.3 satria converted to 1.6 mivec, its impossible for him to upgrade to 2.0. so he sold his satria mivec, and bought a wira evo (already 2.0 approved by JPJ). he's happy he followed my advice. and since then, boosting everyday without any worries cos the car he bought was overhauled with brand new internals, well tuned and as a result, a reliable 300whp daily monster. which i quote "fuel consumption better than a mivec 1.6 NA when driven sensibly"

perhaps some mivec turbo owners can chime in and give their comments, since 4g63 owners has given their opinions...

in sepang drag battle (or in fact any race - rally/drag/circuit), mivec turbo does not compete in 1600cc category. they compete in 2wd turbo category (group B) or open category (group A) with the big boys. i'm sure u know, as per FIA regulations, turbocharged engine is categorized as having 1.7 times the displacement of NA engines. how come u didnt know this? i thought everyone here knows about this...

i dun know larr. i not pro racer in track. i not expert like u marr. if every1 in this forum know then this thread wont be started liao larr. no1 will ask this and that.

sorry i never meant to hurt ur feelings. i just thought that almost everyone here went to sepang drag battle so almost everyone should know bout that. sorry bro...

i also not pro racer in track, and i'm certainly not an expert...

Seems like all 4G63's sifus giving their opinion... Did we miss something?
Yeah, sifu Miton is sleeping.

sorry i never meant to hurt ur feelings. i just thought that almost everyone here went to sepang drag battle so almost everyone should know bout that. sorry bro...

i never been to sepang. i only know go youtube see drag race. moreover i not staying in KL.
anywhere apology accepted.

am i hearing dis rite? apologies? shut up!!! iam hearing pondan talk, lol

northiswara : u r talking to a master, bow down and show sum respect. lol

johan : bila pulak ko pakai mivec turbo ni? gilak ah!!!

joeker : points noted, hai... sifu.... still, there r things i disagree ler..

thread starter : johan has a very good point on getting a wira evo, changed ur mind yet? lol

northiswara : u r talking to a master, bow down and show sum respect. lol

johan : bila pulak ko pakai mivec turbo ni? gilak ah!!!
bro, since when am i a master? i'm not a master. i'm just a regular user just like everyone else.

pakai mivec turbo kejap je. i got the car already running mivec turbo. the car was lousy due to either ex owner/mechanic dunno what he's doing(but still 3++whp). i revised the gearbox ratio to make the car more "alive" but the car was sold soon after... tak puas pakai but i'm glad the car was gone...

what was wrong wit it? turbine besar sangat kot? charged mivec is good, as long as u couple it wit the correct turbine lah..

hehehehe, glad jo sold the mivec turbo :D , im looking at the 3 litre monster to be born soon :D , come on khoyos, 2jzzzzzzzzz

500whp cars driven for daily drive can be considered posible for a guy who owns a petrol station , hehehehe

northiswara :D learning from reading is far diffrent from experiencing it, bt i would say , its good u r trying to learn
i had my first turbo car without even knowing how to drive a manual :P i was on 1.6 auto all this while, then jeng jeng jeng turbo manual lolx

500whp , with lump idling high cams where u can even on ur aircond,
super twin or triple clutch plates
super noisy dual fuel pumps
nice grippy tyre which easily wear within few months

daily drive errr i tink the owners wife will give him a punch on the face lolx and also give him another kick in his nuts for breaking down beside the road 101 times lolx

what was wrong wit it? turbine besar sangat kot? charged mivec is good, as long as u couple it wit the correct turbine lah..
turbo not big, only TD06-20G but i seriously dunno whats wrong with it. off-boost response was just terrible... maybe a ball bearing turbo/higher compression piston could change the behaviour...

there may be some other mivec turbos that are better than the one i had, but personally, i would still choose 4G63...

td06 not big? 20G? for the 1.6liter puny block? lol, u must be joking.. or am i the one dreaming ni?

a td05 is enuff, will help a lot if u had the 1.8liter block. d problem was very remeh, cudve been rectified ler johan.. did u have any fuelling control device back then? i tot u r fond of the drax chip, cudnt d chip rectify the lagg issue?

we r still in topic, kan? i hope d other issues dat arises will help our thread starter to choose, lol

it was running on 1.8 93T block with dunno what pistons n dunno what conrods (rojak that failed i guess - prefer stock gsr block).
running haltech E6K.
i dont know whats wrong, n honestly, i dont want to know. maybe a evo3 td05 could make it a lot better but i dont care anymore.

wit a haltech unit? memang nak mampus dah tu, u were lucky u sold it, lol

how was when boosting? any good?

500whp daily driven 4G63 is possible. fuel consumption comparitively acceptable as long as not 24x7 boosting like crazy. Known atleast couple humble fellas slow strolling their 470-520whp 4G63s under the hood daily without much of a drama. Modern light weight twin-clutch with soft-slip capabilities (e.g HKS twin GD max) has given even more flexibility to drive confidently in crawling traffic jam.

all of those 4g63s are bored/stroked-up matched with upgraded turbo kits.

just to share.

btw, 300whp rojak mivec turbo will never have the same torque and power curve that the 4g63 will have. 300whp 4g63 will enjoy faster spooling and much linear powercurve comparitively.

On the other hand, especially in trackdays, 300whp rojak mivec turbo will enjoy less understeer due to lighter engine compared to older 4G63. 300whp mivec turbo will also suffer less on the dangerous torque steer as compared to 2wd 4G63.

Both have advantages, however, selection should boils down to application.

my 2 cents.

tune Is A Reality Not Big Numberssssssssss...lower Boost Big Hp And More Torque.that A Good Tunner.