meters

mi_scuzi

for a turbo engine,beside boost meter..oil temp and oil press?which one more important?can anyone teach how 2 read oil temp and oil press?newbie here

Air fuel ratio meter.....to monitor ur car....

exhaust temperature meter... water temperature...air temperature...

fuel pressure meter...

mi_scuzi said:
for a turbo engine,beside boost meter..oil temp and oil press?which one more important?can anyone teach how 2 read oil temp and oil press?newbie here
it is best if u buy the excaust tempreture meter first..i got advice from few of my seniors..they said get a excaust tempreture meter first..then oni the rest..hehehe :biggrin:

huakenny said:
Air fuel ratio meter.....to monitor ur car....

exhaust temperature meter... water temperature...air temperature...

fuel pressure meter...

To monitor what in your car?? Dont bother with a/f ratio meter as it is pretty much waste of money.instead get a turbo time with a/f readings in V. not accurate at all but gives you a ball park figure. Do not use this to tune your car, only use a wideband o2.

Anyways if you're just starting out and looking at buying meters then start with Boost. You first want to make sure that the car is boosting as it should. Many car owners buy their car with inherent problems to turbines (wear and tear) and never know it. CHeck you owners manual or relevant forum on how to perform factory boost test. Usually it involves rolling start with gear engaged in 3 and wot (wide open throtle)

Next i would invest in a water temp gauge to ensure my cooling is efficient. Turbo cars especially water cooled turbines have tendency of bumping up water temps and if not monitored you will have expensive repair bills. Oil temp will be my next move as it involves your major internal components and effiency based on heat. You have noticed that i have specifically placed impotance on heat monitoring. This is especially important for turbo engines as higher the heat the less efficient your powerplant becomes. Remember, the intakes bring in dense air and if the heat is high, you have lost lots of power. For that reason many tuning houses make ducts,intake shields to minimise heat.

I would then look at fuel pressure and oil pressure to ensure optimum psi. This will allow you to monitor the performance of your injectors. Again refer to user manual or workshop manual for set psi.

Hope this helps. Personally i only run boost and water temp due to the fact that i hate meters on the dash.But i have an aftermarket ecu which i plug into from time to time to check vitals. ;)

dave

phat7 said:
To monitor what in your car?? Dont bother with a/f ratio meter as it is pretty much waste of money.instead get a turbo time with a/f readings in V. not accurate at all but gives you a ball park figure. Do not use this to tune your car, only use a wideband o2.

Anyways if you're just starting out and looking at buying meters then start with Boost. You first want to make sure that the car is boosting as it should. Many car owners buy their car with inherent problems to turbines (wear and tear) and never know it. CHeck you owners manual or relevant forum on how to perform factory boost test. Usually it involves rolling start with gear engaged in 3 and wot (wide open throtle)

Next i would invest in a water temp gauge to ensure my cooling is efficient. Turbo cars especially water cooled turbines have tendency of bumping up water temps and if not monitored you will have expensive repair bills. Oil temp will be my next move as it involves your major internal components and effiency based on heat. You have noticed that i have specifically placed impotance on heat monitoring. This is especially important for turbo engines as higher the heat the less efficient your powerplant becomes. Remember, the intakes bring in dense air and if the heat is high, you have lost lots of power. For that reason many tuning houses make ducts,intake shields to minimise heat.

I would then look at fuel pressure and oil pressure to ensure optimum psi. This will allow you to monitor the performance of your injectors. Again refer to user manual or workshop manual for set psi.

Hope this helps. Personally i only run boost and water temp due to the fact that i hate meters on the dash.But i have an aftermarket ecu which i plug into from time to time to check vitals. ;)

dave

see ur car running lean or rich....very important .....

boosook said:
yup! very important!..get an excaust temp first

my fren car got boost meter, exhaust temp n afr meter

exhaust temp is to see ur air fuel as well i guess....

boosook said:
yup! very important!..get an excaust temp first

If your car is stock dont waste money and buy exhaust temp larr. you guys drive what kind of car? You sure boh put exhaust temp first? Who tel you? Just follow my set reccomendations and instead of decrating your car like a airplane cockpit go and dyno your car RM70-100 to check your a/f ratio. Exhaust temp gauge is good only if its installed in the right spot. I put my car on a dyno to check a/f and its accurate no guessing.

phat7 said:
If your car is stock dont waste money and buy exhaust temp larr. you guys drive what kind of car? You sure boh put exhaust temp first? Who tel you? Just follow my set reccomendations and instead of decrating your car like a airplane cockpit go and dyno your car RM70-100 to check your a/f ratio. Exhaust temp gauge is good only if its installed in the right spot. I put my car on a dyno to check a/f and its accurate no guessing.

put ekzos temp sure drive turbo car lo dude....if NA put som many stuffs for wat a....

let's say go for dyno...how many times u can go for dyno??? buy one meter n put for permanent better lo.....

wat u mean by ekzos temp is good only if instal in the right spot??? explain plz......

1st thing to put in turbo car is not ekzos temp....the most basic...turbo timer....ok? my 2 cent

huakenny said:
put ekzos temp sure drive turbo car lo dude....if NA put som many stuffs for wat a....

let's say go for dyno...how many times u can go for dyno??? buy one meter n put for permanent better lo.....

wat u mean by ekzos temp is good only if instal in the right spot??? explain plz......

1st thing to put in turbo car is not ekzos temp....the most basic...turbo timer....ok? my 2 cent

The boost meter should be your number 1 meter. Thats that, thats it. You run a turbocharger on your engine and the only way to monitor it is by a boost gauge. Simple.

Why do you insist on getting a exhaust temp gauge? Unless you're running some totally modified system you do not need this. Your fuel delivery system is sufficient for road application, there's no way in hell you're going to run lean. Many modders run lean because the use existing ecu and modify beyond the ecu's capability. (you know your own car so read user manuals/workshop manuals)

How do you read your ext temp? What threshold? So if you have meter and your a/f is out of sync, lets say, what can you do? I would always reccomend a dyno to ascertain a/f. It does not vary much so not much you gonna see.

phat7 said:
The boost meter should be your number 1 meter. Thats that, thats it. You run a turbocharger on your engine and the only way to monitor it is by a boost gauge. Simple.

Why do you insist on getting a exhaust temp gauge? Unless you're running some totally modified system you do not need this. Your fuel delivery system is sufficient for road application, there's no way in hell you're going to run lean. Many modders run lean because the use existing ecu and modify beyond the ecu's capability. (you know your own car so read user manuals/workshop manuals)

How do you read your ext temp? What threshold? So if you have meter and your a/f is out of sync, lets say, what can you do? I would always reccomend a dyno to ascertain a/f. It does not vary much so not much you gonna see.

Ok man....u r rite.... for me..turbo timer 1st, 2nd turbo meter.....3rd i dunno...coz my car only hv boost n timer only....

different ppl different thought.....we dunno how ppl think...some put 7 meters or more in car....but they know the function....juz we dunno nia....

ok...stop....anyway....my car no manual..how to see?

a good way to check a/f (kind of at least) is the apexi pen type timer.
What car do you drive? You need to understand your fuel pump capacity, injector sizes, duty cycles, max duty of said injectors etc and at the same time ensure proper pressure of the fuel system. Search the internet or join international forums with your make there will be lots of interesting things to learn and diy.

Hey Phat, if im driving a merz engine (2.3 16V cosworth) though of putting turbo kit with a boost of 0.5bar without changing top or bottomo engine. I've got a boost gauge & HKS T.T type 1. The thing is this T.T has a lot of functions and im not sure whether it works for my car for example alert you when reach high rpm, etc. How am i to check the A/F? Im putting a 2.5" exhaust piping and im not sure whether it's enough. And must i put all kinds of acc like temp, exhaust, oil pressure gauges?
BTW what car r u driving? Need for sifu to teach before letting other ppl cheat.

anyone knows if someone stock these?

anyknow knows if somebody/shop have this locally (in stock)?

http://www.pivotusa.com/steppinggauge/501-F1.htm