newbie needs help....turbo engine

oneGSR said:
Expensive? how expensive? show me list of market price. i plan to use tdo5, now i standard tdo4 twin fin. I'd already use IC vr4rs, stainles piping to Hyper Dragger, exedy clutch racing, and another thing is all stock standard. what else i want to do? still newbies in turbo. :)

probably u need to change the gasget to metal type or upgrade ur gsr piston to 4agze piston. this is to lower ur compression ratio and ur engine will withstand a long period.

zero_kool said:
evolancer:
looks like we are on the same boat.....just converted to gsr..hehe....well, this is what i am gonna do...changing to hks ssqv bov(nicer sound and can take higher boost), changing air filter(current one is the air-box and using it u won't even get any bov sound bcoz of air limitations), turbo timer(must la...if not how to cool the oil?unless u wanna sit in ur car for about 1-2mins after u hv parked ur car??hehehe), adjustable suspensions(probably hotbits or hwl)u'll need good control of ur car and not just power, boost meter. for now that's it.:)

oneGSR:
there is no small budget for boosting up to 1.0 bar. u'll definitely need extractor change, turbo change, injectors change, fuel pump, i/c and etc..etc...but dun regret after doing it.:). best plug? i think they are the same for any engine but i think volker spark plugs are quite good...they are sold in speedworks. bigger turbine meaning u will need external wastegate(correct me if i am wrong all sifus who are reading) coz if u hv lots coming in, u'll need something to push them out. if not it will be too rich and there comes lag.

not only gsr cars are maintained like that but ALL turbo cars are mantained like that. for best maintainence, every 4000km change black oil. currently i am using motul. not too bad ler....and u must be very on time for ur servicing. coz turbo cars have powerfull boost. therefore, timing belt is an important issue here...keep checking if there is black oil lor....dun do crazy boosts if not it'll start leaking and that time u'll start to curse and regret. good pipping may help like probably stainless steel pipping.

well...i guess better stop here..hahahaha....damn tired and may end up "crapping" more....:p..chao dude and good luck

zero kool
any diff after u changed the bov to external??im planning to install boost meter,turbo timer and other gauges too..

Can anyone explain how the boost controller works??boosting manually adjust by you via this gadget??

As per the suspension system(absorber and spring) any good recommendation??the chopshop guy used back my old monroe absorber..can hear the nget nget sound..thanks

evolancer said:
zero kool
any diff after u changed the bov to external??im planning to install boost meter,turbo timer and other gauges too..

Can anyone explain how the boost controller works??boosting manually adjust by you via this gadget??

As per the suspension system(absorber and spring) any good recommendation??the chopshop guy used back my old monroe absorber..can hear the nget nget sound..thanks

i hvnt changed it yet but i dun think there is much after changing the bov from stock to after market ones. just the nicer sound and for u to prepare for higher boost in future. coz oem bov for gsr can't take high boosts. wah....so many meters ar???......mine just got stolen last month so if u plan to install those gauges...i think, u hv asked the wrong person liao...i'll put the LEAST meters in my car....only those that i really need in maintaining my engine...then only i will install. lost a both apexi rsm and turbo timer. fuc***g thieves!!!!!

boost meters shows u how much u can boost...that means the "bar"s come in here....so when u have reached ur optimum boost...u will knw when to shift. :). stock gsr boost is about 0.7 bar.

suspensions ar....of coz if u hv the cash then go for TITAN or KONI...but when u buy these adjustables...u must knw if they hv easy access after servicing. if not, how u wanna service ur absorbers? other good brands are hotbits, hwl....quite a number of ranges la...u slowly find out la

zero_kool said:
i hvnt changed it yet but i dun think there is much after changing the bov from stock to after market ones. just the nicer sound and for u to prepare for higher boost in future. coz oem bov for gsr can't take high boosts. wah....so many meters ar???......mine just got stolen last month so if u plan to install those gauges...i think, u hv asked the wrong person liao...i'll put the LEAST meters in my car....only those that i really need in maintaining my engine...then only i will install. lost a both apexi rsm and turbo timer. fuc***g thieves!!!!!

boost meters shows u how much u can boost...that means the "bar"s come in here....so when u have reached ur optimum boost...u will knw when to shift. :). stock gsr boost is about 0.7 bar.

suspensions ar....of coz if u hv the cash then go for TITAN or KONI...but when u buy these adjustables...u must knw if they hv easy access after servicing. if not, how u wanna service ur absorbers? other good brands are hotbits, hwl....quite a number of ranges la...u slowly find out la

2 to 3 meters ok la..i also worried thieves come and visit my car haha..
so any idea how the boost controller works??

your one is gsr also right?one question,the dashboard meter got one turbine icon right,so when i rev up this icon will light(green colour),wat does this mean? turbo kick in?

evolancer said:
2 to 3 meters ok la..i also worried thieves come and visit my car haha..
so any idea how the boost controller works??

your one is gsr also right?one question,the dashboard meter got one turbine icon right,so when i rev up this icon will light(green colour),wat does this mean? turbo kick in?

actually i use wira1.5 meter stock standard. but wut i hear, that something like ur turbo on lah. my frend that use mivec engine use this gsr meter also, its on when mivec work on!! correst me if wrong!! :)

i plan to use GTi meter. that white one. very cunn!!! hehe.

Currently using Agip turbo oil. guess it is cheaper than Q8 oil. no more irritating hydraulic tappet noise.
meters? use bare minimum. remember dont show off. i just lost my RSM, AFC n boost meter.