Mechanical Engineering vs. Automotive Engineering

Darn .. my mom didnt let me do Auto's .. she pulled me into Computers .. anyways .. its good to have an institute like ZTH around .. all can have free Diploma already ;)

edward, TOC PJ?
SECRET . hehe. cause the college im in now was really lousy. Lousy lecturers, lousy management...... So, i don suggest anyone to go there. hahaha
You are in TOC???

Darn .. my mom didnt let me do Auto's .. she pulled me into Computers .. anyways .. its good to have an institute like ZTH around .. all can have free Diploma already ;)
I was thinking of doing multimedia last time, cause i was a IT student in 2ndary school. But then, a KEY ignites me and bring me back to automotive. haha
Haha. Ya, i have learnt a lot from ZTH, for free somemore. haha

aiya no need to keep secret one
most collleges and unis hav their share of good n bad lecturers, office politics and etc
mine also got la, but we get to comment on the lecturers performance, last time one lecturer got fired cos everyone complain and the grade all bad.
if i do go TOC nex time for another cert maybe i'll need to know la

i also wanna take a certificate in automotive after finsih my architecture study, maybe just a certificate for one year course... got eh? TOC got or not?

obviously u need to know the language. And the rest i think is having a good results and good interview.

my 2 cents

Eh. Didn't know thread was still alive. I came back to ZTH to search for information on 4AGZEs and upgrades (planning to undertake an AE86 GZE project next year, funded by part time jobs, and yes screw me i am still daydreaming), and saw Edward Chew's PM to me. It was sent a good 2 months ago, but I only saw it moments ago. Haha
Yeah, if all goes well, I may be doing Mechanical Engineering next year.
I was in Form 6 last year, enrolled with Biology and Chemistry! Honestly, I didn't think there was any hope of bringing food to the table owning a tuning shop and all, or working with another tuning company (YES, then I was still dreaming, and I still am!). That time it was really F----D. I found my passion for motorsports again, and asked myself, wtf am i bio??

Towards the end of the year, I got an offer to study in a college in Australia. So here I am now. As I only finished Lower 6, I couldn't enter Uni straight away. So right now I'm doing college, while my friends who had left shortly after SPM '05 are in their First Year already. Damn
So if all goes well (i really hope they go well!), and i meet the required points (and i really f-in hope i do meet them), I will be doing Mechanical Engineering in Uni of Adelaide.
To be honest with you guys, there are 2 things that are making me think twice;
1) being the weakling in mathematics that i am, im afraid i might not be able to make it through that 4 grueling years of engineering.
2) and yes, i still cant imagine bringing food to the table.

I have no other interests in other fields of engineering, so my scope right now is very narrow. Beginning of my term, I did not take Chemistry as I was DEAD SET on Mech. Eng, and the fact that I did so is narrowing down my choices in Uni as well.
And right now, I still can't choose between mechanical and automotive.

2) and yes, i still cant imagine bringing food to the table.

I have no other interests in other fields of engineering, so my scope right now is very narrow.

to address your first point, look at links racing, N1 or any major tuner shops in sunway. Then internationally, look at gemballa, active autowerk, APR, HKS, RUF, Vhisnu tuning, Mines,motec..bla bla bla....I wonder how they survive if this field doesnt pay.

2nd point, you cannot do a mech course without ANY interest in the other fields and at least be decent in maths. Unless you want to struggle through the entire course, and come out with a piece of paper but half the knowledge of your peers. (which then makes your a poser)

Change your views or give up now.

Can't put food on the table? If Ferdinand Porsche thought like this we would never had Porsches and he would never be a very rich man and the founder of one of the greatest sports car manufacturer in the world.

So sometimes it's good to think big and have a little faith!

faith.. tat lil faith is hard to hold on to.. =(
i've always lik cars since i was a kid..
the big dreams bout workin for a top notch tuning firm.. world class race team.. to even having my own name on cars.. but it's really not easy to get there..

like boggy said, engineering is not easy.. not at all..
im studying engineering in Segi. Diploma in Mechanical Engineering.
i just had my exams and now im waiting for my results.
and boy did i struggle with my maths. i've failed maths over and over again.
i took it 3 times! haha..
im just a decent student, no straight As. =(
with just a diploma, i wont get far. so i've decided to go on to take a degree.
then, there's the financial issue..

ah, the question, Me or Auto..?
ppl's alway say ME is broader, easier to find jobs.. bla bla bla..
the weird thing is.. in my college, the syllables in automotive degree they are offering (fr. Sunderland U) is actually the same with the ME ones.. but with an additional 2 subjects!
yeah, so basically u're studying ME with another 2 subjects.
0.o

i dont have much to share right now..
im gonna find out more bout it..

I don't know if i posted in this thread before, but Im here to share what I have gone thru so far. And...I have the same problem when I finished my pre-U course.

Mechanical Engineering or Automotive Engineering??

Im now in BEng. Automotive Engineering & Design Course, and its my final year. I will be graduating this July. The first year I took was Mechanical engineering degree in taylors college and I transfered to Automotive engineering course for 2nd year and final year degree.

1st year - Automotive eng course has an extra vehicle fundamental module.

2nd year - Extra module to learn about engines, drive trains, transmissions..so on..

3rd year - Final project will be based on Automotive. For me, Im designing leaf spring for formula student car. And also, electronic control system will be learned too. Which mechanical students don't.

Efini, if u really hope to join auto companies, study automotive will be the right choice for u. Yes..mechanical engineers can work for automotive companies but auto companies will consider you before considering mechanical engineers.
If you are worrying u wont learn manufacturing or industrial management in automotive engineering course, then u r wrong. I did attend manufacturing and industrial management modules. Which taught us about TQM, SIx Sigma, JIT, KANBAN system..n etc.

But..one thing..automotive engineering course graduates are very very hard to look for job in Malaysia. Unless u join proton. If u would like to join honda or toyota in malaysia, u will be doing manufacturing or management job but not R&D. So..think twice. I made my decision to study auto engineering course because I willing to sacrifice..and I have a dream tht is same as you!..LoL...

Good Luck to you!
btw..if u r in aust, try considering RMIT. Their formula student racing car is not bad..LoL...Competitors...

ah, the question, Me or Auto..?
ppl's alway say ME is broader, easier to find jobs.. bla bla bla..
the weird thing is.. in my college, the syllables in automotive degree they are offering (fr. Sunderland U) is actually the same with the ME ones.. but with an additional 2 subjects!
yeah, so basically u're studying ME with another 2 subjects.
0.o

i dont have much to share right now..
im gonna find out more bout it..

If u r toking abt syll from suderland university, basically first n second year u will have 2 extra subj. But why u cant actually work in a mechanical field because the final year, mechanical studied advance applied mechanics and thermo. So this is why auto students cant work in ME field..lol..

ohhh.. u mean Auto includes Advance Applied Mech. and Thermo while ME doesnt?
for the sunderland degree..
i thought thermo is in ME too..

u're takin the sunderland degree?

ah, yea edward, sorry i forgot bout the question, segi do offer Automotive engineering thru sunderland..

Alien..no..ME took advanced applied n thermo....auto dont....so auto cant work in mech field..

Yea..u r rite..im in sunderland now..n..DUN COME HERE...damn bored place..