Matspeed Performance Camshaft

gggti said:
OK LAH, to be fair enough ,wait untill i go first then only i comment,ok

zamriali ,elaborate la a bit y u say matspeed cincai work.Share share ma.

guys,
this is my experience with matspeed.
Charlie is responsible and proffesional but his workers, i hav doubt ??

Last time, i bought a 272 cams for my evo engine and install at matspeed. The joker over there (Not Charlie) don't know that 4G63T have balance shaft and need to be set or else the engine will vibrate at high speed. b'cos of that simple mistake i have to towed my car from ampang to shah alam in the middle of the night and change my evo head and the 272 cams. Since the mistake is on the workshop side so matspeed replace my cams and my evo head but i still have to pay my towed fees.

gggti said:
OK LAH, to be fair enough ,wait untill i go first then only i comment,ok

zamriali ,elaborate la a bit y u say matspeed cincai work.Share share ma.

guys,

Last time, i bought a 272 cams for my evo engine and install at matspeed. The joker over there (Not Charlie) don't know that 4G63T have balance shaft and need to be set or else the engine will vibrate at high speed. b'cos of that simple mistake i have to towed my car from ampang to shah alam in the middle of the night and change my evo head and the 272 cams. Since the mistake is on the workshop side so matspeed replace my cams and my evo head but i still have to pay my towed fees.

rainman2 said:
guys,

Well at least Charlie agreed to replace your cams and your evo head. I think ever since your incident Charlie has been extra careful with work done by his mechanic. When I was there last Wednesday to fit the cams, Charlie personally inspected my car after the installation was completed and in between testing and setting the cams and fuel regulator, his mechanic went in and out of his office no less than 10 times to report on progress and take instructions. He also had Halim his race driver acid test drive my car like 10 times at all out revs up and down the nearby straight roads before finally handing over my car keys and settle payments.

razaksa said:
k guys I have just installed matspeed camshafts and adjustable cam pulleys, the increase in performance can really be felt. I'll be doing some managemnt mods and exhaust mods soon, once the final product is done, I'll be posting a review" Gen2 NA Tuned"

For those of you who are interested in Matspeed camshafts contact Charlie 017-3868575. Just for your info Charlie is a UK trained automotive engineer and has developed engines for Proton, he has a wealth of experience on the local track scene where he tests and R Nd his products.

My advice for you guys who wana know more call to arrange and meet him, better after office hours. To be fair, they are a bit slow in doing the mod jobs, but I must say it is worth the wait and the workmanship is quite good. It took them half a day to regrind my cams, install the cams and adjustable cam pulleys. Also i brought my own FSE fuel regulator which they installed for free! Total cost of 2 cams and 2 adj pulleys incl. installation : RM2,100.

Waiting for ur Gen2 REVIEW.

minivan said:
i dunno man...... but logically....

If you could produce a cam that would generate 10 hp more that a toda or JUN cam, i repeat.. TODA and JUN cam...!! would'nt it be easy to convince an investor to pour in money to manufacture and promote the cams...?? Matspeed cams would be all over honda tuning on sale side by side with toda and JUN......

And, sunway is just a small market... if the honda cams produced are that good... we're talking about the global market here dude... forget sunway...

Minivan,

We don't go by logic here, I must say. In car aftermarket parts business, who has the power to keep stock, to buy in bulk, who has the chain of store, who can influance the market in term of the price? It's all the Sunway guys.

You might not know Charlie, it's ok. Let me tell you a bit about him. He is R&D man. His company has been awarded the 'R&D Status" company by the government therefore he was granted a specific amount of grant. Only few company has been awarded so far and as far as I know, he is the only aftermarket part company (not factory) that has been awarded the status.

Most of his time is spent doing r&D. Even now Proton is giving him tender/project for new parts like the Campro camshafts, Gen2 & Waja new close ratio gear etc. Even the one of the engineer of our Pxxxxx motorsport has confessed that they buy aftermarket parts from Charlie and study it.

I must admit, Charlie is not a marketing guy. He doesn't really market his products. What he needs is a good marketing guy to market his product. But Charlie is Charlie, he stay like that. And that doesn't mean that his product is not good.

How can he beat Toda and Jun cam? Of course can, he got Engine dyno. Only true tuner has it. Even Proton do not has it. Only HE has engine dyno in Malaysia. An engine dyno is useful for tuners that wants to do R&D for new products. He just took the JUn and Toda cams, study it and make an improvement. That it.

that is good to know that charlie @ matspeed does have an engine dyno..susah one lohh to find around..but some ppl say bad experiences with him, some ppl say good experiences with him, so how now loh.. if charlie @ matspeed have studied those Jun & Toda cams, therefore I think he must have all the proven paperwork about it, right? I don't think that I'm the only one here who would want to see proof of this.

But one thing lingers...durability. Don't tell me a billet cam from Toda etc can only lasts a year or so? It should last way longer than that ( I think so.. if we're talking about piston rings or gaskets, maybe lah, but cams? ) so what about charlie's cams? Any guarantee from him that his cams should last? What I understand from this topic is that he regrounds them..not producing brand new cams from scratch..I do think that it's better to have cams machined from fresh cores rather than machining a 5 year old camshafts..Opinions guys, I'm learning too, and if charlie @ matspeed can produce and guarantee his cams are durable enuff, heck, sign me in bro!

ace79 said:
that is good to know that charlie @ matspeed does have an engine dyno..susah one lohh to find around..but some ppl say bad experiences with him, some ppl say good experiences with him, so how now loh.. if charlie @ matspeed have studied those Jun & Toda cams, therefore I think he must have all the proven paperwork about it, right? I don't think that I'm the only one here who would want to see proof of this.

But one thing lingers...durability. Don't tell me a billet cam from Toda etc can only lasts a year or so? It should last way longer than that ( I think so.. if we're talking about piston rings or gaskets, maybe lah, but cams? ) so what about charlie's cams? Any guarantee from him that his cams should last? What I understand from this topic is that he regrounds them..not producing brand new cams from scratch..I do think that it's better to have cams machined from fresh cores rather than machining a 5 year old camshafts..Opinions guys, I'm learning too, and if charlie @ matspeed can produce and guarantee his cams are durable enuff, heck, sign me in bro!

Ace79,

Does Toda/Jun/Spoon/Skunk2/Crower etc advertise how their cams performs? I don't think so.

Does Toda/Jun/Spoon/Skunk2/Crower etc guarantee their cams to last for certain year? I don't think so.

Have seen a brand new cams and compare it with 5 year old cams? I've done that. There is no diff at all (unless the old cams is not properly maintain or water has got into the head).

I'm using a regrind cams for years and no problems at all. Using regrind cams will cost you much less than a billet one. Of course Charlie can source a set of new billet cams, but are you ready to pay more than RM3000++ just for that? A regrind cams will only set you back around less than RM2000. And performance wise you can determine youself. Just talk to him and a custom made profile is yours.

p/s : Even Pxxxxx Motorsports Sxxxx Rx cams is being regrind by Charlie. Think about that.

Cheers.

ace79 said:
that is good to know that charlie @ matspeed does have an engine dyno..susah one lohh to find around..but some ppl say bad experiences with him, some ppl say good experiences with him, so how now loh..

this kind of thing very susah 1 lah...like example...i go 2 N1 racing...they treat me like idiot...coz i'm driving wira...i go wit my fren...driving galant...wah...not same wor..treat us better liaw...

but my other fren drive iswara there also desmond treat him very good...xplain this n tat properly...

so...human is like tat 1 loh...sumtimes they r in bad mood...sumtimes good...we never know...

gggti said:
Waiting for ur Gen2 REVIEW.

I'll be using OBIT piggyback ecu to fine tune the A/F ratio and ITC and also a straight flow exhuast system. Once all the NA mods for my Gen2 is completed hopefully by next week, I'll test it for about a month or so and do a dyno. Will put up a review here and also maybe in Extremekars if the editors are kind enough....

niceputera said:
Ace79,

Does Toda/Jun/Spoon/Skunk2/Crower etc advertise how their cams performs? I don't think so.

Does Toda/Jun/Spoon/Skunk2/Crower etc guarantee their cams to last for certain year? I don't think so.

Have seen a brand new cams and compare it with 5 year old cams? I've done that. There is no diff at all (unless the old cams is not properly maintain or water has got into the head).

I'm using a regrind cams for years and no problems at all. Using regrind cams will cost you much less than a billet one. Of course Charlie can source a set of new billet cams, but are you ready to pay more than RM3000++ just for that? A regrind cams will only set you back around less than RM2000. And performance wise you can determine youself. Just talk to him and a custom made profile is yours.

p/s : Even Pxxxxx Motorsports Sxxxx Rx cams is being regrind by Charlie. Think about that.

Cheers.

Halo bro ,Will matspeed give me special discount if u bring me there....Just kidding...
I really wan to go but afraid he is in bad mood la....So can u bring me there...

gggti said:
Halo bro ,Will matspeed give me special discount if u bring me there....Just kidding...
I really wan to go but afraid he is in bad mood la....So can u bring me there...

bro the best time to catch Charlie in good mood is after midnight.....he and his guys work till early morning and they start work like 4-5pm....bring him coffeelah sure he help u wan

Kancil Club

cheeft said:
i m also thinking of gettin it for my kelisa... anyone know how much they charge??? wah ur lecturer so hardcore wan... :D
U shud Join the Kancil Club coz they have 600 members n they r familiar with matSpeed goodies....I can roughly say a total work as appeared in auto zoom mag dyno at 69 horse about rm2k...incl. camshaft rm 1400 but pls dont quote me...i might have the figures wrong...gif a short and call charlie at 017 3868575

i think charlie's cams are staggered cams. but wat the hell, i paid the money and got the results...im a satisfied matspeed cam owner.....i doubt i can get any cams for that kinda price i paid out in the market. and he gave me a 1 year warranty.....so far so good..no problem to my cam coz i take good care of my engine :P

but just keep in mind that, sumtimes when charlie is in the bad mood.....hehehehhee, habis la :) i guess this is the characteristic of sumone too obsessed in his work(in a good way).....just take albert einstein for example...i bet he has mood swings most of the time :P so if u go over there...just get charlie a can of excel isotonic drink...kau tim! :P

mengz said:
i think charlie's cams are staggered cams. but wat the hell, i paid the money and got the results...im a satisfied matspeed cam owner.....i doubt i can get any cams for that kinda price i paid out in the market. and he gave me a 1 year warranty.....so far so good..no problem to my cam coz i take good care of my engine :P

but just keep in mind that, sumtimes when charlie is in the bad mood.....hehehehhee, habis la :) i guess this is the characteristic of sumone too obsessed in his work(in a good way).....just take albert einstein for example...i bet he has mood swings most of the time :P so if u go over there...just get charlie a can of excel isotonic drink...kau tim! :P

In that case,i must buy him a carton of excel isotonic drink.......he he......

Dear Sifu's

I have a 1.8 GSR Turbo RS in a GTI. Anyone has experience with Matspeed Cam's for this engine? Any lumpy ideling, increase in fuel consumption? What profile cam would be most suitable for street?

Cheers

Some of the ppl behind R3 are very close to and used to race with Matspeed. While it is true that for reasons that need not be disclosed, R3 does sometimes evaluate Matspeed products, it does not necessarily mean that products produced by R3 utilise Matspeed items. In the future please do not make any unconfirmed assumptions or disclose any such discussion regarding supplier contracts with R3, whether or not they exist, as this is confidential information.

Matspeed is an automotive R&D company with a lot of knowledge, capability and experience behind it. Matspeed also produce more than just reprofiled performance cams and indulge in some contract developments/prototypes for certain automotive companies.

The Savvy R3 is a pure concept vehicle only, with some basic developments tested in-house over only a few days but not exhaustively. This R&D does not include any cams that were developed by matspeed, please do not make any such implications. And whether or not the Savvy R3 makes it into production is not an issue as it is nothing more than a concept.

Adian,

Good reply on this topic .

Saw the R3 Savvy at Sepang. Looked really good. Well actually alot of things at the R booth looked good. i.e the girls not you my friend.

Cheers!!

opp1 said:
Dear Sifu's

I have a 1.8 GSR Turbo RS in a GTI. Anyone has experience with Matspeed Cam's for this engine? Any lumpy ideling, increase in fuel consumption? What profile cam would be most suitable for street?

Cheers

Bro
I'm no expert in cams, but to high a profile ie. 270 and above your low end will suffer and idling will be rough, If u wana go for cams suitable for street i would suggest 254 cams as I know of several tubo cars using this profile, but best is you discuss with Charlie of Matspeed on your requirements and he can suggest you the best alternative

Bro,

Thanks. Do u suggest I call him or meet him in person. Seems that he can be a rather moody guy from all the past comments? A case of Male PMS???

cheers!