capoeira if not mistaken in hartamas or damansara..cant remember
Not wrestlers, specifically grapplers. In one on one situations, grappling moves enables you to incapacitate most opponents, even highly trained ones. But these days, more and more fighters are learning how to deal with grappling moves, countering or avoiding etc.Duke Red said:Have you guys watched Ultimate Fighting Championship before? It's banned so probably not. The champs are usually the wrestlers. Full contact no holds barred tourney.
Ah, but is it? It is one thing knowing what to do and quite another to be able to do it when it actually happens. I can assure you, a lot of people who have taken self defence classes, freeze like granite when attacked by assailants. Even if they have trained in it for sometime. Unless they can stay calm in the event itself, which either comes naturally to some people or experience to most others, you are pretty much fucked. The experience part is the tricky one, because you'll have to get mugged pretty often to get that.Duke Red said:Coming down to street lever, you don't need years of training lah. Self defense techniques can be thought and mastered in a matter of months. For survival it's enough to know how to deflect blows and incapacitate opponents by striking key areas.
si|verfish said:Not wrestlers, specifically grapplers. In one on one situations, grappling moves enables you to incapacitate most opponents, even highly trained ones. But these days, more and more fighters are learning how to deal with grappling moves, countering or avoiding etc.
si|verfish said:Ah, but is it? It is one thing knowing what to do and quite another to be able to do it when it actually happens. I can assure you, a lot of people who have taken self defence classes, freeze like granite when attacked by assailants. Even if they have trained in it for sometime. Unless they can stay calm in the event itself, which either comes naturally to some people or experience to most others, you are pretty much fucked. The experience part is the tricky one, because you'll have to get mugged pretty often to get that.
si|verfish said:What happens when the assailant is also well trained in martial arts?
QUOTE]
Then we're fucked.
jchk2k said:Its very subjective when u talk about instinct because it only helps us out a little bit. Many people today still get traumatised when confronted with a real life situation because of one prevailing factor FEAR.
If you are able to overcome that, which is through martial arts preperation and conditioning, we can use our instincts to help effectively neutralise the situation according to opportunity, resulting in a take down or a chance to get away.
Just be relying on our own natural instincts will not be effective if you are in a hostile situation. Simply kicking like Jet Li or Tony Jaa will not be tt effective if the assailant is experienced.
The point is not that you will miraculously fight like Bruce Lee but that you will put up a fight when cornered. I've not seen many people stand still while getting beaten up. It's like when you toss a person who can't swim into the deep end of a pool. They will still struggle and not freeze in fear. Why? It's our instinct to survive by any means we know how to. If I were to threaten to throw him into the pool then yes, he may exhibit and overwhelming fear.
I never said that instinct alone will enable a 50 pound weekling to beat up a 300 pound sumo wrestler.