Martial Arts.

If you want to be able to fight effectively, you need to put your skills to the test ie. get in the ring and fight someone. With minimal rules. If you don't use your skills practically, you will never be able to fight properly. At most you could defend yourself against lowlifes or untrained men. But if you come up against someone armed or with nasty intentions or trained, you are fucked.

Practical Martial Arts.

In real life scenarios, be it defensive or aggresive ,i think the most effective way of sharpening one's skill without getting into a ring immediately is to experiment with what you have learnt. Try getting some friends and try out techniques that you have already learned from your masters that you think can be used in a combat situation. Once you know what works, then practise it through creation of real life scenarios. Consult peers or your master on what you've experimented with and seek their advice or opinions before continuing developing.

Once you think u've got enough techniques, try taking it to the next level by getting into the ring and fight with only what you know. If your techniques fail, you can develop it further through constructive advice from your opponent and master. No one can really predict what the situation will be like in a real fight that occurs instantenously.

All martial arts can be used to defend yourself, some even advocate agressive offences, but in nature, repetition will at least help develop the muscles and reflex patterns needed to fight when needed. It is important to note that without ANY sparring or combat experience/ experiments, basic training is not enough to assist you in winning a fight, even less with a trained fighter.

The post above I agree with.

Martial arts which have been turned into Olympic sports are also pants (when it comes to actual fighting). Wushu = pants, Taekwondo (yup, unfortunately also pants), Judo = pants, Karate = pants (a little bit better than the previous 3 because the rules of sparring are less restrictive).

If you really want to beat the crap out of people (which I don't condone, of course), learn Muay Thai. Seriously. Don't learn those that have been comercialised. The real thing. A year of that and you can pretty much beat up most practitioners of other martial arts bar the experts. I'm not saying this because Muay Thai is better, but it is the most effective and you can develop serious fighting prowess in a relatively short time period.

CompetitionVS Combat Conditioning.

Every martial art in the world will one day be commercialised even Muay Thai. If anyone would like to pickup a new martial art skill, do some research on the Internet about the styles you're interested in, without regard to the rumor about the effectiveness of the art.

Once you've decided on what you want to learn, start asking around and trying out the trial classes at some of the dojo's or gyms to fully understand the strengths, weakness and masters of the classes. It is important that you attend one that you are comfortable with, and think that potential exists between you and the instructors there to help you develop.

One very good thing to do on yr first class if you attend, is to try and talk to the master or instructors about your interest in the Martial Arts world, be it for general, competition or combat training. All you have to be aware of are those phoney gyms that offer cardio martial arts replicas that are mostly incorporated in Fitness Centers.

Make sure its safe, clean and well equipped (Staff Especially) before committing to a school.

BTW .. I truly advocate and support the following quote to all those in and coming into the Martial Arts World.

" I am a Martial Artist, If I wanna fight, I will do it in the Ring and not outside of it"
-Master Khoo Meng Yang- KL

u wanna know its can be use or not ...
go n try at street ... if u kena whack kaw kaw, means you only know the technique, but dunno how to execute it at right time and conditions applied ...
then u go n try again, if u manage to defense n whack , it means it's can be use :D
after tat u go seek for grandmaster , and try to find PERFECTION in martial art

http://www.shudokanmalaysia.com/activities/dec2005/kenjutsu2005-final.jpg

helping my fren to promote this ...
open to all people , please contact the number or visit the website for more information

Have you guys watched Ultimate Fighting Championship before? It's banned so probably not. The champs are usually the wrestlers. Full contact no holds barred tourney.

Coming down to street lever, you don't need years of training lah. Self defense techniques can be thought and mastered in a matter of months. For survival it's enough to know how to deflect blows and incapacitate opponents by striking key areas.

Judo

My friend and I are keen on taking up Judo. Anyone here can help recommend a good gym around the vicinity of Bangsar, Damansara, Hartamas, TTDI or PJ (If its realy worth the trip)?

Im looking for those with personal experience and not just forwards of what u hear or have seen. Thanks.

Duke Red said:
Have you guys watched Ultimate Fighting Championship before? It's banned so probably not. The champs are usually the wrestlers. Full contact no holds barred tourney.
Not wrestlers, specifically grapplers. In one on one situations, grappling moves enables you to incapacitate most opponents, even highly trained ones. But these days, more and more fighters are learning how to deal with grappling moves, countering or avoiding etc.

Duke Red said:
Coming down to street lever, you don't need years of training lah. Self defense techniques can be thought and mastered in a matter of months. For survival it's enough to know how to deflect blows and incapacitate opponents by striking key areas.
Ah, but is it? It is one thing knowing what to do and quite another to be able to do it when it actually happens. I can assure you, a lot of people who have taken self defence classes, freeze like granite when attacked by assailants. Even if they have trained in it for sometime. Unless they can stay calm in the event itself, which either comes naturally to some people or experience to most others, you are pretty much fucked. The experience part is the tricky one, because you'll have to get mugged pretty often to get that.

And what most self defence classes teach you is more a matter of detering the assailant and neutralising him for a moment to enable your escape. Causing him to think twice and look elsewhere for a prey. Again, if someone comes looking for you with real intent to hurt you, they won't be detered easily and if they are armed, worse still. What happens when the assailant is also well trained in martial arts?

But, generally speaking, I agree that simple self defence moves targetting vital areas are useful for everybody is most situations.

si|verfish said:
Not wrestlers, specifically grapplers. In one on one situations, grappling moves enables you to incapacitate most opponents, even highly trained ones. But these days, more and more fighters are learning how to deal with grappling moves, countering or avoiding etc.

Correct, Graeco Roman wrestling to be specific.

si|verfish said:
Ah, but is it? It is one thing knowing what to do and quite another to be able to do it when it actually happens. I can assure you, a lot of people who have taken self defence classes, freeze like granite when attacked by assailants. Even if they have trained in it for sometime. Unless they can stay calm in the event itself, which either comes naturally to some people or experience to most others, you are pretty much fucked. The experience part is the tricky one, because you'll have to get mugged pretty often to get that.

Our survival instincts ensure we do whatever we can not to perish. Like a cornered cat, we will dig deep when our life is threatened. It's different if you were asked to assault someone which may be against your nature. Self defense techniques are meant preserve life. I know where your coming from which is why I mentioned months of practice and not days or hours.

si|verfish said:
What happens when the assailant is also well trained in martial arts?
QUOTE]

Then we're fucked.

Fear

Its very subjective when u talk about instinct because it only helps us out a little bit. Many people today still get traumatised when confronted with a real life situation because of one prevailing factor FEAR.

If you are able to overcome that, which is through martial arts preperation and conditioning, we can use our instincts to help effectively neutralise the situation according to opportunity, resulting in a take down or a chance to get away.

Just be relying on our own natural instincts will not be effective if you are in a hostile situation. Simply kicking like Jet Li or Tony Jaa will not be tt effective if the assailant is experienced.

Without a doubt, Martial Arts training for those who take it seriously will definetly help build confidence and reaction time. =) But the best fighters in the world tend to use training and instincts to help them prevail in tough situations.

BTW ... yea ... grappling techniques are a essential part if one is to be an overall prominent fighter but as time progresses, those who focus on grapplin techniques alone will be outclassed to those who can do both ... because striking is still a faster and long range atrack preference.

jchk2k said:
Its very subjective when u talk about instinct because it only helps us out a little bit. Many people today still get traumatised when confronted with a real life situation because of one prevailing factor FEAR.

If you are able to overcome that, which is through martial arts preperation and conditioning, we can use our instincts to help effectively neutralise the situation according to opportunity, resulting in a take down or a chance to get away.

Just be relying on our own natural instincts will not be effective if you are in a hostile situation. Simply kicking like Jet Li or Tony Jaa will not be tt effective if the assailant is experienced.
The point is not that you will miraculously fight like Bruce Lee but that you will put up a fight when cornered. I've not seen many people stand still while getting beaten up. It's like when you toss a person who can't swim into the deep end of a pool. They will still struggle and not freeze in fear. Why? It's our instinct to survive by any means we know how to. If I were to threaten to throw him into the pool then yes, he may exhibit and overwhelming fear.

I never said that instinct alone will enable a 50 pound weekling to beat up a 300 pound sumo wrestler.

Not necessarily .. i beg to differ .. alot of muay thai fighters also cross train to get better in the ring .. having grappling techniques with powerful offensive strikes will make u a more well rounded fighter in any case ..

Judo ive heard is the best and most practical of all Japanese grappling and locking techniques for cross training because it was developed by cutting out the impracticalities of jiu jitsu and aikido.

Hmm....But a good martial artist wouldn't choose fight back as the 1st choice.
U'll be surprise they'll choose to run away 1st n oni starts to fight back when it's really necessary.