Life after degree

zephyr3d said:
wow... what on earth is EMBA?

EMBA = Executive MBA

Current EMBA rankings with Average salary of the holder and the average increase of salary after completing the EMBA:
http://rankings.ft.com/rankings/emba/rankings.html

Currently,I am setting my foot in Chinese University of HK by which is rank 15 in the chart. My top choice will be HKUST which is 2nd in the chart.

HKUST need good GMAT score and atleat 8 yrs working experience and holding position in sizeable MNC only they will take you in for EMBA. Very Very freaking tough to get in, and if you get in then your classmates most probly will be current or future CEOs or in some MNC.

Chinese University of HK noneed GMAT but also need 8 yrs working experience in sizeable MNC, I am taking their Course which may help to exempt few subjects if i manage to get in the EMBA maybe 3 years later....if i can manage to persuade my current lecturer to write me a recommendation letter(he is one of the senior member in the admission board)

links said:
what industry are you in? may consider deploy six sigma.....

two type of six sigma, one is for manufacturing and one is for service e.g bank, hotel, trading.....

if can help to formulate the current situation of your operation then generate tabulated facts for further improvement with indentified goal.

six sigma are bollocks man especially those given on crash courses... those dumb green and black belts.....

hire industrial engineers..those are really the people to do it

DRFT_240sx said:
six sigma are bollocks man especially those given on crash courses... those dumb green and black belts.....

hire industrial engineers..those are really the people to do it

industrial engineer only can do engineering process improvement, SS is the control of direction before any process improvement can be done.It is not only improving the quality of production, its improving the overall quality of management. Anything involve "process" can involve SS.

there will be alot of space for improvement but onli the top critical 20% in each period will have the priority because we have to consider the resource available. How to get the scope? using some SS tool and analysis. After the first 20% untilised then we move on to next 20% with the revenue saved

also another different from the traditional aproach, SS will diagnose the projects needs base on the customer needs then stake holder needs. If rely on industrial engineer, usually the decision will only base on the company internal determination.

SS will provide facts for the management to make decision in organisation level, not only in engineering field, usually we cover marketing strategy, process re-engineering, problem prevention and cost reduction and operation.

In another word, SS team is the consultant within the organisation which helping CEO to achieve the management goal.

most major MNC deploying SS, verified savings are in billion dollars in Motorola, Bank of America and citi bank.

nice thoughts links....

well i guess if only you could get a better understanding of where the roots of SS came about you will know it branched out from IE ..

but appreciate your point of view. i belief you're taking some sort of ss certification to let me know that point of view.

cheers :)

1st scenario:
Life after Degree ----> work,work,work--->money come-->lotsa money come--->load n load of money come---->enjoy life---->happily ever after :biggrin:

2nd scenario:
Life after degree--->master degree--->phd--->work shortwhile old already--->cannot enjoy life--->still need to work,work,work---->and work,work,work--->start to enjoy life a lil bit---->really enjoy life---->happily ever after :biggrin:

si|verfish said:
Show off balls meh. People will hardly bat an eyelid if you told them you have a Master's degree. If you have PhD, then, you'd probably get some reaction.

But really, that's just the truth, academic qualification don't really matter in the working world. What you can do, how much you earn and how successful you are, is the key to making people sit up and take notice.

agree, the more higher edu level u get, the more difficult for u to enter the market, unless u dun mind earn degree level salary even u have master level lor, many of my frend go for master but end up, salary stl same as degree or even lower, the real life is experience will WIN all the paper u had, go to the real 'society university' first is my suggestion.:shades_smile:

ai.. makan gaji alone tak cukup wan.. dont waste money on paper.. user the money to do business... heh he hheh.

act7656 said:
agree, the more higher edu level u get, the more difficult for u to enter the market, unless u dun mind earn degree level salary even u have master level lor, many of my frend go for master but end up, salary stl same as degree or even lower, the real life is experience will WIN all the paper u had, go to the real 'society university' first is my suggestion.:shades_smile:
that was what i said earlier... and there are ppl whom challenges my words.

i dont say it doesn't give more $$, but there are ppl whom get extra $$... but i would rather, do it the other way round, which will do better for the master paper..

DRFT_240sx said:
nice thoughts links....

well i guess if only you could get a better understanding of where the roots of SS came about you will know it branched out from IE ..

but appreciate your point of view. i belief you're taking some sort of ss certification to let me know that point of view.

cheers :)

I am under going black belt certification by Six Sigma Intitution HK and Chinese University of HK, they are in link with American and China certification Body.

previously,I was also thinking SS is doing the job of engineer but when my previous company deploy SS only i realise it has more than that.

Currently, SS not only in manufacturing, some hotels, retailers and Banks are also adopting it to improve their services. Another good reason to go through it is, currently , black belt with formal certification in msia and singapore are not more than 200ppl, there are only 20 registered black belt in HK and less than 1000 completed formal certification. They forecasted in HK might need more than 200 certified black belt in next 2 years, Singapore also need atleast 200 in by end of next year.

well i'm sure they do... =) well there is a lot more SS certified people i know here... maybe should kick them back to asia... *laughs*

US have the highest average pay for SS certified people so usually most SS professionals are settle in US and Europe.

Asian bosses are not that open to invest when they see the cost to implement. Also training cost in Asia is quite high because the lack of Master Black belt. There are alot training institute but some are not certified so you might see some BB and GB are not so professional.

Most SS company are US and Europe. Asian culture is not willing to invest much into strategic planning. Only Japan and Korea willing to invest into Strategic planning and human resource therefore their MNC can go global.

I worked for a few Asian Companies before, The bosses value the profit as their own asset instead of organisation 's, and very reluctant to invest into strategic planning which is "uncertain" for them and they dont really value their human resources, some worse case is when company suffer losses they want the worker to share, but when the company make profit they will retain the profit as their own fruit of hardships.

Without capable staff and good strategic planning, many Asian companies are not in match with the western competitors.

OFcourse there are some rare cases on the Asian companies which value the HR highly.

you can compare the bonus released by the western companies and the Asian companies which having similar earnings. You will surprise to see the big difference...

wow good stuff guys especially the discussions on SS..I didn't know much about it until now..Great that you guys are sharing your professional experience here..

The job market might be tough there think we should use this forum to also help our bros n sis to get a job in their own areas of specialization..Well anyone with a couple of years of banking & finance experience can contact me..I'll see what I can do..

razaksa said:
wow good stuff guys especially the discussions on SS..I didn't know much about it until now..Great that you guys are sharing your professional experience here..

The job market might be tough there think we should use this forum to also help our bros n sis to get a job in their own areas of specialization..Well anyone with a couple of years of banking & finance experience can contact me..I'll see what I can do..

Banking and Finance,...you should see more banks apply SS. Citibank and Bank opf America used SS to reduce their ATM process and Loan approval time. Credit Suisse is also working closely on it.

By the way, do you have any friends/colleague doing CFA level 1 this year? i need help to get the complete study notes.

Sorry cant help you out on that mate...I gave up after failing CFA 1, 5 years ago just couldn't balance work and studying and playing cars hehehe..But I'd say go for it...definitely a boost to your career path..all the best ya..

Haha, no choice, UKUST quoted me the tuition fees of HKD$200k/yr for their MBA.....no sure whether it worth me now but i defintely need a financial background to for myself.. so CFA seems to be a good choice but should expect very very tough studies...they only pass top 30% of all participants....