Life after degree

A real life experience; hiring someone with the right qualification is easy, hiring someone you actually want is hard, damn hard. Them computer science and IT grads these days are useless.

It's not just in the IT industry mate, I find difficulty in identifying suitable candidates for a position in my industry as well. It's easy finding people who can memories formulaes, equations, historical facts and regurgitate them during exams. It's difficult finding those who can think on their feet and deal with situations.

Duke Red said:
It's not just in the IT industry mate, I find difficulty in identifying suitable candidates for a position in my industry as well. It's easy finding people who can memories formulaes, equations, historical facts and regurgitate them during exams. It's difficult finding those who can think on their feet and deal with situations.
Exactly. Them fucking taught to study but not to think. Sigh.

Remember the old adage of teaching someone to fish. Well, the problem with grads these days is that not only do you have to teach them to fish (which is fair enough since they are inexperienced), you also have to point a spot for them to fish every single day. They never learn for themselves and they never bother to learn. They just do what you want them to do and that's it.

Duke Red said:

what industry are you in? may consider deploy six sigma.....

two type of six sigma, one is for manufacturing and one is for service e.g bank, hotel, trading.....

if can help to formulate the current situation of your operation then generate tabulated facts for further improvement with indentified goal.

links said:
what industry are you in? may consider deploy six sigma.....

two type of six sigma, one is for manufacturing and one is for service e.g bank, hotel, trading.....

if can help to formulate the current situation of your operation then generate tabulated facts for further improvement with indentified goal.

I'm in the entertainment industry. Thanks for the feedback mate but all I need is someone who can think a little. In this industry, things always go wrong and the ability to trouble shoot is invaluable.

Duke Red said:
I'm in the entertainment industry. Thanks for the feedback mate but all I need is someone who can think a little. In this industry, things always go wrong and the ability to trouble shoot is invaluable.

life in the fast lane!!!
to entertainment or be entertainment??:tongwink:

burn out are high but for those who persevere; the rewards are good.

aiyo work la buddy.....cari makan la first....get some experience la......get a ruthless boss la than when you become boss you also ruthless la buddy.....than only you will have value in the open market......hear alot of buddies say....setakat degree sekarang susah nak carimakan la....kena ader pengalaman la geng....

we're out of topic... hahahaha.

ok, lets make a final conclusion...

get experience first, then followed by the papers....

zephyr3d said:
we're out of topic... hahahaha.

ok, lets make a final conclusion...

get experience first, then followed by the papers....

by then...u'd be too busy working and not keen on going back to do uni at all (i get this from a LOT of my friends). UNLESS you have the $$ (or rich parents) and can afford time off (one year minimum) from work and have no financial responsibilities. not to mention, if you were to study part time, u would NOT have a life. hahahah.

personally, i dont see much disadvantage doing masters right after bsc. work experience of cos helps (especially for business degrees), but thats not necessarily true for all professions. i started my masters (at 21) right after BSc. but then again, i had a few months of internship during my bsc as well. it worked out fine for me. anyway my masters was fully paid for by uni (sorry, i wasnt smart enuf to qualify for any scholarships). hahahahah. so, for free education, why not! and i have to tell u this, i had THE BEST time (in my entire academia life) while doing my masters.

btw, my degrees were in engineering.

all the best in your making your choice.

yep..normally after you work for awhile then you only find your path. till that time you only decide which way you want to go.

i think must try to explore the world when you are young, with global vision then you can have better facts to plan for your future.

Duke Red said:
i always aim to entertain :regular_smile: life is a stage right?

the think i know about the "entertainment industry" (guys i knwo) is their lifes leads to many fobidden fruit.

some a are really juicy, god sent; majority are sad "lonely singles" :wink:

apple , oranges, even from overlands fruits!!

jinkl said:
Im not here to ask u all wht exactly to do
bt do advise me , im 21 , jst finishing my degree in software engineering in 2 months time.

Is it wise to continue with my masters ?

Am i too young for masters ?

should i expose myself with the working field first ?

is a MBA worthwhile ?

frankly speaker if i m the employer i will first look at wat kinda input that u can contribute to my company and secondly whether u can work well as a team n lastly oni whether ur MBA which is specialise type or just a normal kacang putih MBA which everyone can study as long as u got cash to enrol then again to complete the course also is a question,since u have not much corporate or business exposure.

Don't waste time n money on general mba they are just as general as normal professional course,at time professional course i heard is so much more recognise than a general mba.

If u do really take ur effort to research,those "read" mba is not much of contribution,oni those which need to do research n thesis about work related stuff which is more specialise n advance will be more preferable becos your employer know u know ur stuff well and u can give proper solution without totally going back to your text book.

And one last advise for you, since money does matter a lot nowadays, try calculate how much your parents already invested in your degree and add that up with your mba, try calculate see how long you will get back your money for all your parents spend as well as taking care of your parents,then u won't be so eager to take up a mba. If you are born with silver spoon then all i can say is enjoy your uni life. :regular smile:

Sorry for my poor england as I didn't even finish primary school. :biggrin:

Go and gain some experience from working field after that only do Master.I get my degree and i start working in company and they gave me scholarship to pursue my Master.Now i am doing my Master while working.Got gaji somemore get Master.Worth It.Depends on u la.I just gave u a piece of advise

work firstlah brader...Master later also can do...after 2-3 years of work experience then you'll know which specialized MBA is ideal for you..also do an MBA only if it adds more $$$ compare to your present salary..no point just doing MBA for namesake..like that better spend the money on making your car go faster..heheehe

it's never young or old to study...go with ur heart..
i start working immediately after my adv.dip...just regret y i din continue with my masters...
so, personal advise..do the neccesary research..as per my papa(blacksamurai) said, it's a tough world for a fresh IT grad nowadays....but hey, a lil' bit of experience wont hurt...i'm currently 22...wanna start my master next year(after 2years of working...)hehe...

trancebum said:
by then...u'd be too busy working and not keen on going back to do uni at all (i get this from a LOT of my friends). UNLESS you have the $$ (or rich parents) and can afford time off (one year minimum) from work and have no financial responsibilities. not to mention, if you were to study part time, u would NOT have a life. hahahah.

personally, i dont see much disadvantage doing masters right after bsc. work experience of cos helps (especially for business degrees), but thats not necessarily true for all professions. i started my masters (at 21) right after BSc. but then again, i had a few months of internship during my bsc as well. it worked out fine for me. anyway my masters was fully paid for by uni (sorry, i wasnt smart enuf to qualify for any scholarships). hahahahah. so, for free education, why not! and i have to tell u this, i had THE BEST time (in my entire academia life) while doing my masters.

btw, my degrees were in engineering.

all the best in your making your choice.
it all depends on yourself.. how disipline and determine you are to take on the challenge to further enhance yourself acedamically during the working years..

not easy i would say.. i went thru a couple of certifications... mak.. head also wanna bengkak. What more if itz masters? my head would have exploded long time ago.

well if you decide to do a master what will you look into?
1) uni with good reputation but hard to get in and tough to complete
2)any tom, dick and harry Uni as long as it gets me in and pass easily
3)Local Uni
4) most expensive master in the town, reputation normal

I finished my degree quite late(24s), so i think if i were to do my master i will only finish it at early 30s. But currently i feel that there are quite alot of MBA around these days. Might consider EMBA.