L2S Problem headache.. please help for URGENT Fixes..

Maybe... does your turbo overboost during the vacuum issue?

New turbo never cheap... I've ask for a new RHF3 for my L5 engine and got a rm2xxx.xx!!! might as well get a new halfcut instead....

Not sure about L2 stock turbo (RHB series rite?) but normally my L2 frens will get a RHF series from L5/L6 3 piston engines... highest I saw for a halfcut unit was RM4xx...

to service a stock turbo might be expensive.... for my RHF3, I got around rm6xx service quote.. might as well get a hybrid turbo (RHF3 turbine housing + RHF4 turbo)... more power and it only add another rm1xx or so...

My advice to you is
  1. If going for the halfcut route, better go for RHF3 from 3piston L5/L6 (the cheapest)
  2. If going for recond route while maintaining relatively easy installation, get a hybrid turbo.... I think @ Tong Turbo you can get a hybrid turbo for L2s series; or
  3. Custom mod another similar turbo from other brand... TD025 from eterna twin turbo is a good bet, but you might wanna mod the exhaust manifold a bit.. or
  4. Go big! there's always TD04-09B + front mount intercooler hehe

normal la bro playing wif hafkat... last 2 week when my turbo broke, got it replace with L6 ones, all tested ok, no shaft play etc... but barely a week later white smoke again, already spent rm400 for that turbo :bawling:

...now saving for RHF3 + RHF4 hybrid...

My Turbo Over boost during the vacuum issue? I’m not sure sir, I think maybe..
Because when I had the vacuum issue, even 0 bar it makes lots of 'kccingg' sound.

I think even it showing 0 bar, but actually its not 0 bar, maybe higher.. And I sometimes push to 0.7 bar (even when having vacuum issue).

I’m not sure of L2 stock turbo on what series are they, how to check?

Can I go the same option as you? choosing for RHF3 and RHF4 hybrid?

Please advice as i'm newbie on turbo :) really appreciate

I think it overboosting already.... maybe la the turbo kong because of that...

AFAIK, all L2/L2S uses RHB series turbo... you can use newer RHF3 series, but need to mod your exhaust manifold to suit if I'm not mistaken.... most L2 guys i knew use RHF3 from a 3 cylinder L5/L6 model

Go to Tong Turbo, i think they got RHB-RHF4 hybrid

I think it overboosting already.... maybe la the turbo kong because of that...

AFAIK, all L2/L2S uses RHB series turbo... you can use newer RHF3 series, but need to mod your exhaust manifold to suit if I'm not mistaken.... most L2 guys i knew use RHF3 from a 3 cylinder L5/L6 model

Go to Tong Turbo, i think they got RHB-RHF4 hybrid

Noted with thanks. You're such a big help! :love:

On previous comment, you did mention the price is around RM4XX, does it mean the turbo itself?
cause i may need to mod my exhaust manifold right? to suit the RHF series.. right sir?

For RHB-RHF4 hybrid, do it need to do mod also to my exhaust manifold??

Noted with thanks. You're such a big help! :love:

On previous comment, you did mention the price is around RM4XX, does it mean the turbo itself?
cause i may need to mod my exhaust manifold right? to suit the RHF series.. right sir?

For RHB-RHF4 hybrid, do it need to do mod also to my exhaust manifold??

yup... the turbo itself cost around rm4xx... you can get cheaper so shop around... I think the RHB flange is a bit different than RHF series.. that's why you need to mod your exhaust manifold a bit to make it accept RHF3

as for the RHF4 hybrid... I think it sell RHF3-hybrid-RHF4... but you can order for that typical hybrid flange to match your current exhaust manifold so PnP la... hehe

I think the going rate for a hybrid turbo is around RM7xx.... make sure you specify
  1. which model of engine? L2/L5/L6/l7/L9
  2. mode of transmission? auto/manual *turbo for automatic car have smaller turbine inlet than manual ones

no worries...good luck

Thanks sir,
Need to ask you something, I having some financial problem now,

What happened if?

1) I let this problem for 2-3 month before fixing it?
2) Will carbonize formed in my piston due to this problem (engine oil burnt)?
3) Or I will face other problem like my piston will break?

Please advice on consequences if I don’t take care this problem immediately?
Or can leave it first until have enough financial to fix this problem?

AFAIK, no big issue whatsoever.. as per my current experience
  1. Need to check oil level everyday and topup accordingly.... you see those cloud of white smoke is engine oil burned in the turbo housing.... at least it consume quarter (according to the dipstick) of oil per day
  2. When the turbo finally kong, you simply lose power... imagine driving a 660cc kancil

for me, just maintaining the oil level is more than enough.... Since i've used my spare money to buy & change the previous turbo... now I'm saving for either a hybrid turbo or a TD025 turbo with customed extractor to fit....... target round nearing a rm1k for the turbo and the workmanship :bawling:

now I'm driving slowly.... :slug:
Thanks sir,
Need to ask you something, I having some financial problem now,

What happened if?

1) I let this problem for 2-3 month before fixing it?
2) Will carbonize formed in my piston due to this problem (engine oil burnt)?
3) Or I will face other problem like my piston will break?

Please advice on consequences if I don’t take care this problem immediately?
Or can leave it first until have enough financial to fix this problem?

Hi all,
Update again on my car problem..

I have resent my car to another mechanic, and fix the problem by assembling the vacuum hose according to its original. Now my car RPM didn’t revving high-and-low (looks like it’s the vacuum hose problem), but he said the throttle got little problem (the sensor maybe effected due to the wrongly vacuum hose previously) because the RPM revving high-and-low a little bit (2-3 time only, then not revving anymore)

But after that, I having a new problem
1) My car is giving a heavy white smoke in early morning when warming up the engine
2) heavy white smoke while driving (this happened only sometimes only), I notice this problem accrue when a long driving, then u stop in traffic light then u start moving.. The problem happened.. OR when u driving normally, and try to bypass a car by boosting, then it start to give out heavy white smoke.. But after sometimes, I became normal

Please advice
white smoke isnt a problem if its boosting properly, my question is, does it? sumtimes, a better engine oil is all u need to get rid of dis smokey problem, tq sir

i thought so myself... during the previous turbo change (the 2nd one in a month! :bawling: ), the mech mistakenly buys 10W-50 oil for me, he says that turbo need oil that more 'likat' because its hotter and it makes the engine a lot quieter.... thought at first it makes no different and I kinda accept that it's normal when using halfcut turbo...

.....maybe, instead of topup oil with the same grade (as I done currently, 20W-50 shell for diesel!!!).. might as well go and get an oil change with the proper grade like grade 30 as per manufacturer recommendation..

Hi Sir,
I don’t understand by boosting properly means? How can I know whether my car is boosting properly? How do you check it? When sending it to the mechanic for sure he will fine-tune the car to boost correctly right? By the way, I’m using 10W30

i thought so myself... during the previous turbo change (the 2nd one in a month! :bawling: ), the mech mistakenly buys 10W-50 oil for me, he says that turbo need oil that more 'likat' because its hotter and it makes the engine a lot quieter.... thought at first it makes no different and I kinda accept that it's normal when using halfcut turbo...

.....maybe, instead of topup oil with the same grade (as I done currently, 20W-50 shell for diesel!!!).. might as well go and get an oil change with the proper grade like grade 30 as per manufacturer recommendation..

Hi Sir, so what happened when u using the 10W50 oil? What oil needs to be use? When white smoke happened I consult with the mechanic, he also asks me to change oil... say, more likat good for the turbo! I’m confuse... what is the correct oil and why? As previously I’m using 10W30, everything is ok for me...

Hi Sir,
I don’t understand by boosting properly means? How can I know whether my car is boosting properly? How do you check it? When sending it to the mechanic for sure he will fine-tune the car to boost correctly right? By the way, I’m using 10W30
I think what sir xtremeleo meant was:

1. Do you have issue maintaining boost i.e. at one time max boost 0.7 but at the other time goes 0.5
  2. the boost is not smooth i.e. when you boosting, the boost build fast then stop a bit then continue
  3. or... in worst case scenario, overboost i.e. when WOT, the boost goes up way beyond max boost for example your max boost is 0.7bar but it goes beyond 1bar... when dis happen usually you felt the engine jerks violently as the result of boost cut

Hi Sir, so what happened when u using the 10W50 oil? What oil needs to be use? When white smoke happened I consult with the mechanic, he also asks me to change oil... say, more likat good for the turbo! I’m confuse... what is the correct oil and why? As previously I’m using 10W30, everything is ok for me... [/QUOTE]
it's a bad idea to use dis oil... hard to start in the morning... and could be dangerous if the oil is too likat to flow in the oil pipe from sump to turbo..... AFAIK, small turbo oil pipe is not that big... worry it could clogged...

the good news is, you won't lose much oil... I'm waiting for gaji to service the car once more.... using back 10W-30 oil as per daihatsu's recommendation

the key is to use good quality oil... got money, go for branded full synthetic..

I think what sir xtremeleo meant was:

1. Do you have issue maintaining boost i.e. at one time max boost 0.7 but at the other time goes 0.5
  2. the boost is not smooth i.e. when you boosting, the boost build fast then stop a bit then continue
  3. or... in worst case scenario, overboost i.e. when WOT, the boost goes up way beyond max boost for example your max boost is 0.7bar but it goes beyond 1bar... when dis happen usually you felt the engine jerks violently as the result of boost cut
it's a bad idea to use dis oil... hard to start in the morning... and could be dangerous if the oil is too likat to flow in the oil pipe from sump to turbo..... AFAIK, small turbo oil pipe is not that big... worry it could clogged...

the good news is, you won't lose much oil... I'm waiting for gaji to service the car once more.... using back 10W-30 oil as per daihatsu's recommendation

the key is to use good quality oil... got money, go for branded full synthetic..

ooo..for issue :
1) meaning.. when i max boost sometime it goes to 0.7, sometimes it goes to 0.5? No, i didnt encounter this problem.. my max boost is always 0.7..

2) No, i do not encounter this problem
3) No, i do not encounter this problem also

Yup agree and noted.. the key is to use good quality oil... previously im using PureGuard, but now hard to find.. i change to Penzzoil.

My L2S can use full synthetic? cause the mechanic said.. Full synthetic is only for new car, old or used car.. use other grade.. :hmmmm:

so no worries about boost issue then...

as per engine oil are concerned, any engine will appreciate a good quality oil.... penzoil are good.... may I ask how many mileage your engine has? I've seen an L2S wif mileage approaching 200k km but using full synth oil wif no issue.. in fact your turbo will love you for it hehe

ooo..for issue :
1) meaning.. when i max boost sometime it goes to 0.7, sometimes it goes to 0.5? No, i didnt encounter this problem.. my max boost is always 0.7..

2) No, i do not encounter this problem
3) No, i do not encounter this problem also

Yup agree and noted.. the key is to use good quality oil... previously im using PureGuard, but now hard to find.. i change to Penzzoil.

My L2S can use full synthetic? cause the mechanic said.. Full synthetic is only for new car, old or used car.. use other grade.. :hmmmm:

so no worries about boost issue then...

as per engine oil are concerned, any engine will appreciate a good quality oil.... penzoil are good.... may I ask how many mileage your engine has? I've seen an L2S wif mileage approaching 200k km but using full synth oil wif no issue.. in fact your turbo will love you for it hehe

hi papagoines,
sorry the late reply..
my engine mileage is almost 90K.. oo,thanks for the info.. will change into Full Syn when the time and money comes ;)

Updates on my issues..
I just sent my car for the fixes.. and it turn out, the vacuum is making all this problem..
at first the pomen fixes the vacumm for revving problem, and told me that turbo is leaking (that why it producing white smoke).. so i leave my car there, and the next morning... the pomen started my car, the problem is solved..

no more white smoke.. it seem that the vacuum is the problem.. can someone explain to me in simple word.. cause i ask the pomen, he told me.. the car is ok, no white smoke.. and he also dont know why.. anybody???

---------- Post added at 04:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:19 PM ----------

Now my car have 2 new problem..

a) When i out the engine, the turbo timer start to count.. still counting like 20 second, suddenly the rpm revving high and low.. and the engine when dead..

what is the problem? is it the carburator (the butterfly in the carburator)?

b) since all previous issues is fixed somehow.. and its vacuum issues.. now my car is consumming a lot of petrol. For full tank, it ONLY can goes up to 210 KM.. its not fuel efficient for me.. any ideas? advice?.. huhuhu

hi papagoines,
sorry the late reply..
my engine mileage is almost 90K.. oo,thanks for the info.. will change into Full Syn when the time and money comes ;)

Updates on my issues..
I just sent my car for the fixes.. and it turn out, the vacuum is making all this problem..
at first the pomen fixes the vacumm for revving problem, and told me that turbo is leaking (that why it producing white smoke).. so i leave my car there, and the next morning... the pomen started my car, the problem is solved..

no more white smoke.. it seem that the vacuum is the problem.. can someone explain to me in simple word.. cause i ask the pomen, he told me.. the car is ok, no white smoke.. and he also dont know why.. anybody???

---------- Post added at 04:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:19 PM ----------

Now my car have 2 new problem..

a) When i out the engine, the turbo timer start to count.. still counting like 20 second, suddenly the rpm revving high and low.. and the engine when dead..

what is the problem? is it the carburator (the butterfly in the carburator)?

b) since all previous issues is fixed somehow.. and its vacuum issues.. now my car is consumming a lot of petrol. For full tank, it ONLY can goes up to 210 KM.. its not fuel efficient for me.. any ideas? advice?.. huhuhu
I'm sorry for sounding cynical, but I think it's time to change mech la bro... care to share your location so I can recommend some?

change mechanic?.. its not wrong to try right?.. im staying near putrajaya.. thanks bro, really appreciate it

hi bro, mind to share your vacumn problem on your L2s ......i got the same problem .....
the rpm ....up n down ...after awhile .....this problem gone .....back to normal ...

i saw one of my vacumn was stop by the screw .......but dun know this vacumn pipe shld connect to where ......:stupid::stupid:

later will upload the pic for your comment ....

thanks ....