Kia Specktra 1.6 Novus

hmm surpise me .. finaly a positive remark bout spectra ....

fuel consumption on spectra can be tune or not? i mean is there anything to do that can make the FC become better ???

yo guys....a Spectra owner here,

Mine is a 2001 model, and frankly speaking, i have no serious complain of this car all this while...there are no premature parts replacement, no power window prob, none at all...only wear & tear parts perhaps.

I agree, its not the best car nor the best looking out there, nothing to shout bout it;) But it serves me well until now.

Power wise? I dun really look seriously into that matter when i opt 4 the car, since my previous ride is a Vr4'ed Satria (u dont know how it feels like, driven a turbo 'd and suddenly to 1.6 NA (A)!! hahaha) just need a decent family car....
Well, the Spectra can reach 180km/h (need some effort duh:p ) just enough for a decent car.

My verdict,
Pros:
1. Spacious
2. Reliable
3. Comfy

Cons:
1. FC (RM50 for 330km city driving)
2. High depreciation
3. Not as fast as an EVOOOO hahahaha

well, this is just my personal experience, just try to even the comments here....cheers

RM50 for 330km is considered very good my fren. ok, let us calculate... if we put the bencmark as this

to consider one car as fuel efficient 1 litre shud go 10km. --> 1lt = 10km
RM50 (at RM1.42 per litre) will get u around 35 litres. RM50 = 35lts = 350km

and u r getting 330km!!...that is very good mr.63! more that 95% efficiency.

my 20 years old car cud only get 300km per RM50 @ 35 litres what more now minyak naik harga. but can claim tak apa. ha ha ha

p/s btw, Novus bodykit looks a lot better than Hyundai Accent RX-S.

yong, i am very afraid to hear that...like driving ferrari only.

I am also driving a 2004 spectra and I do not find any major problems with it. No doubt there are problems but still manageable.

As for the fc I got about the same as 'sixty three'.
Comfortable? definitely!
Spare parts expensive? Very true!
I have to admit a spectra's pick up may not be as good as a vios or wira partly due to its weight which is 200kg heavier than a vios. On a highway its very stable at high speed and its back end if much stronger than its front end.
As for the abs, I tested emergency braking at 150km/h and it works extremely well. My car did not skid at all and I could feel the abs controlling my brakes. Cool! but dare not do it more than once. LOL Do not want to risk my car.

I bought it mainly cause of the looks(with full bodykit, leather seats & cd changer)

Overall: I'm satisfied with it for the price I paid which is rather cheap for a 1.6 so called non national car.

zan said:
RM50 for 330km is considered very good my fren. ok, let us calculate... if we put the bencmark as this

to consider one car as fuel efficient 1 litre shud go 10km. --> 1lt = 10km
RM50 (at RM1.42 per litre) will get u around 35 litres. RM50 = 35lts = 350km

and u r getting 330km!!...that is very good mr.63! more that 95% efficiency.

my 20 years old car cud only get 300km per RM50 @ 35 litres what more now minyak naik harga. but can claim tak apa. ha ha ha

p/s btw, Novus bodykit looks a lot better than Hyundai Accent RX-S.

Good?
Its nothing laa...compared to honda's idsi which shall gives u much more mileage.

sixtythree said:
Good?
Its nothing laa...compared to honda's idsi which shall gives u much more mileage.
honda's idsi no doubt give much more mileage but let's look at it this way
the weight and size factor
the comfort factor
and most important of all
the price factor
how long do we have to drive just to cover up for the additional price we paid for a honda?

Concept said:
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news04/iihs_small_car_tests.html
It has been widely known about that but surprisingly i've seen a few spectra accidents in malaysia and they seem real tough. I've even seen a spectra crashing into a lamp post and the driver was uninjured at all. Also a lancer hitting a spectra cause the lancer cut the traffic light, the lancer got smash but the spectra isn't that bad.
Also in america they have a few models of spectra. They did not state specifically which model and it might even be the new spectra 2004.5 or spectra 5. the body shell is totally different from the spectra in malaysia. Malaysia is using the 2001/2002 model. I doubt they are doing a test on such an old model.

Also different agencies have different test and spectra did not fail them all.
".....scored its highest rating in the US New Assessment Programme (NCAP) and Euro NCAP of EU"

Again no car is perfect as it is up to individual preference.

rodneyk said:
It has been widely known about that but surprisingly i've seen a few spectra accidents in malaysia and they seem real tough. I've even seen a spectra crashing into a lamp post and the driver was uninjured at all. Also a lancer hitting a spectra cause the lancer cut the traffic light, the lancer got smash but the spectra isn't that bad.
Also in america they have a few models of spectra. They did not state specifically which model and it might even be the new spectra 2004.5 or spectra 5. the body shell is totally different from the spectra in malaysia. Malaysia is using the 2001/2002 model. I doubt they are doing a test on such an old model.

Also different agencies have different test and spectra did not fail them all.
".....scored its highest rating in the US New Assessment Programme (NCAP) and Euro NCAP of EU"

Again no car is perfect as it is up to individual preference.

did u find any squeking sound in your spectra??? will the front lamp become blurish after a while???

jasonchan said:
did u find any squeking sound in your spectra??? will the front lamp become blurish after a while???
squeaking sound in what sense? rattling sound definitely. hehe its not a jap car
the front lamp become blurish due to the material they used.
The air inside the lamp is very hot comepared to the air outside which in the long run cause it to face. I saw a supra's headlamp faded just like a spectra but it takes a longer time. Spectra just take a few years. In order to prevent it or slower its effect, there has been reports of people using wax to wax their headlights. It helps. :) I haven't had that problem and most of the people I know do not have that problem. One of the people I know who had this problem got their lamp replaced for free within warranty period by the service center.

i believe faded headlamp only occurs on the Sephia (which is known as Shuma or Mentor in other markets). I had never seen Spectra with such defect.

My bro owns one and he kept complaining about the high consumption. I think its not fair to him bcoz previously he was driving Wira 1.5M with carbie. I can say Spectra is better than average.

I am okay with Honda City but how did Honda exploited the cabin space? by putting the roof higher so that everbody sit like in express bus. remember Hondas of the 80s and 90s? sit so low one...lie F1 car.

zan said:
i believe faded headlamp only occurs on the Sephia (which is known as Shuma or Mentor in other markets). I had never seen Spectra with such defect.

My bro owns one and he kept complaining about the high consumption. I think its not fair to him bcoz previously he was driving Wira 1.5M with carbie. I can say Spectra is better than average.

I am okay with Honda City but how did Honda exploited the cabin space? by putting the roof higher so that everbody sit like in express bus. remember Hondas of the 80s and 90s? sit so low one...lie F1 car.
spectra do have the problem with faded headlamp but quite rare
I've seem some(rare)
:)

as for honda city i prefer the older model's design but like the new model's lights
:P
but its high
like what you said, express bus style
hehehee