Kelisa Gathering

si|verfish said:
Noted. I'll ask them about it. Thanks.
call them to check all th connection of the timing belt with the roller inside...shouldbe that problem...heard this problem before happen to BMW...if the belt didn;t pass through certain parts...it will not work...or start

si|verfish said:
Don't know if this is the right place for this;

Anyway, need some help guys. Recently sent my Kelisa to my regular workshop to change me timing belt as it was hitting 80k. Thought it would be routine enough. What I didn't expect was that my car wouldn't start afterwards. They've tried to fix it, checking almost everything and they assure me the timing is correct. I had no problems with my car before this. As of now, my car is still at the workshop.

Any ideas? Thanks.

unless they reroute the timing belt wrongly (which i dont think & hope its not the case).

also they did remove bolts, wires, ground wire (did they reconnect it back?). there could be some basic stuff they just might overlook. it happens. other then that, cant point a much better remedy. (doubt kelisa need ECU reboot).

Wires? I'm not sure if there were wires involved on that side of the engine. And where's the ground wire?

i dont have a kelisa engine layout. but if they (mechanic) were to do a timing belt change, many of them disconnect battery terminal or may remove some part/wiring to access the particular side of engine to facilitate ease of work.

yes, they are only humans & I have seen even a senior mechanic who accidently forgot to reconnect the earth/ground wire (depends on how they call it) when he removed the car dash board to access some work on car air-cond (car make=MR2) & later found he couldnt start the car. even call the car-wire expert but only to find ...you guess it.

yes, if you notice most cars will have a wire (engine bay) that is "grounded" to the car body.

then again, a simple timing change would only need to retract back what was done to find the root of problem.. hope it solve soon enough. dont know if my analysis helps.

Tohsan said:
thats mean for a very very long time oni ahhem once, basically just hug n sleep on the same bed,tats why i say vegetarian ma:biggrin:

not 1 sleep on bed 1 sleep on floor mar can lor...

si|verfish said:
Don't know if this is the right place for this;

Anyway, need some help guys. Recently sent my Kelisa to my regular workshop to change me timing belt as it was hitting 80k. Thought it would be routine enough. What I didn't expect was that my car wouldn't start afterwards. They've tried to fix it, checking almost everything and they assure me the timing is correct. I had no problems with my car before this. As of now, my car is still at the workshop.

Any ideas? Thanks.

there could be several things... i believe they would need to disconnect the starter motor.. maybe the starter is cranking but the engine is not being cranked... since they say the timing is correct...i dun think it might be the problem there... if the timing are wrong i guess it would make a real mess of your valvtrain... is your starter cranking like normal or is it cranking slowly??? might be battery week.. or even your engine losing compression might cause some issues...

when the engine cranks up.. does it at least choke a few times only it died down or anyhing??? the other thing i guess they would check is to take out the spark plugs and see if they are firing... if it is not.. then they would most probably troubleshoot the ignition modules... yes poor ground connection can render the whole ignition module useless as mentioned by koolspyda...

if the engine cranks at the appropriate speed and there is spark.. then it might be something related to your fuel pump or your injectors...

that is my best guesses...

kelisa6009 said:
where ur workshop?
the mech reliable or not?

people asking for opinion to solve his problem lar... not asking you to judge his mechanic...

About the ground wire thing. If its not connected, would the starter be cranking? Anyway, the timing belt position for the Kelisa is on the other side of the engine, opposite from the battery.

Battery isn't the problem, because they even used a another battery to provided the power, when my own battery went low (cause they were trying to start it many times). The spark plugs were firing. Fuel was there. And all the electrics are working i.e. lights, alarm, signal, etc.

Starter is cranking like normal. Engine just won't start. How would one know if the engine isn't being cranked? Any tell tale signs or sounds?

Just a word of note. My car was working fine and had no issues before this.

si|verfish said:
About the ground wire thing. If its not connected, would the starter be cranking? Anyway, the timing belt position for the Kelisa is on the other side of the engine, opposite from the battery.

Battery isn't the problem, because they even used a another battery to provided the power, when my own battery went low (cause they were trying to start it many times). The spark plugs were firing. Fuel was there. And all the electrics are working i.e. lights, alarm, signal, etc.

Starter is cranking like normal. Engine just won't start. How would one know if the engine isn't being cranked? Any tell tale signs or sounds?

Just a word of note. My car was working fine and had no issues before this.

there is not only one ground for the whole car.. each system has it's own ground as well as a power source.. if the ignition system is not grounded properly.. i heard before that it would not start.. but the chances are minimal as changing timing belt would not touch on the ignition system...

since you say spark plugs are firing, fuel is delivered... then i am out of ideas... sorry cant be of much help... maybe it really is someting related to your timing belt or starter...

Update!

Quote myself;
BS, I didn't go to Perodua SC for sometime :biggrin:

So, no it isn't Perodua...it's my own mechanic sadly. Anyway, the good news is, they said they've found the problem. The bad news is, they're waiting for a part to arrive. Apparently, one of the wheels which the timing belt is attached to has lost one of its tooth. Probably due to their negligence but anyway, just hope it gets fixed and soon.

Thanks for your concern.