Kelisa 1.0 190k full overhaul or swap engine?

hon_cs

Hi all,

My wife kelisa has white smoke and eat engine oil. Need to top up twice before next 5k service. Mileage almost reach 190k. Gearbox also got sign of oil leaking and clutch need replacement. My forman said estimated 2.5k++ for full overhaul + clutch set replacement. Other alternative is swap l7 or l9. I'm not familiar with k-car engine I checked mudah these halfcut consider cheap nowadays. If swap engine no plan to upgrade the performance since it will be use by wife. Please advice

Hi all,

My wife kelisa has white smoke and eat engine oil. Need to top up twice before next 5k service. Mileage almost reach 190k. Gearbox also got sign of oil leaking and clutch need replacement. My forman said estimated 2.5k++ for full overhaul + clutch set replacement. Other alternative is swap l7 or l9. I'm not familiar with k-car engine I checked mudah these halfcut consider cheap nowadays. If swap engine no plan to upgrade the performance since it will be use by wife. Please advice

If you know the history of the car from new I would suggest do an complete overhaul. This way everything is brand new again. Getting half cut, you do not know the history of the used engine.

since it is only ur wife driving it, just maintain the engine.. its 190k millage so about time for major overhaul anyway..

Get stock K3VE and transplant!

Thank you all reply from taiko. Yea, I think will just stick to overhaul.

@Izso, I feel kelisa chassis very weak. Not a good idea direct transplant K3VE

Thank you all reply from taiko. Yea, I think will just stick to overhaul.

@Izso, I feel kelisa chassis very weak. Not a good idea direct transplant K3VE

Not really. 1.0 to 1.3 stock (not turbo) it's quite a reasonable upgrade!

I suggest to do a complete overhaul rather than change engine.
buy the parts yourself to cut costs.

K3VET in a Kelisa is overkill. K3VE NA enough already lo.

Haha! Need k3vet in order to tapau the VR4 in PJ :rofl:
I agree that K3ve in a kelisa can be powerful enough since that engine stock itself is very responsive on low end torque...

2.5k for overhaul? RM4k~ buy YRV halfcut, swap the whole thing in, including YRV tiptronic gearbox.

K3VE in Kelisa is too slow too irritating. YRV Kelisa is too fast too furious. You want to be fast or slow.. your choice la. The price difference between K3VE & K3VET is very small

Just took my car this morning. Total damage is 2.5k. Engine respond quite good. But now there is a problem with the vvt pulley. It sounds like those tappet noise just like below video. Mechanic told me he can't find used unit because usually chop shop sell with the entire head. Next week I will try luck at munlee. If next time I want to change, he said need to open up the head again.I looked at below video and guy can replace the pulley without open the engine. Can anyone confirm this?

How to replace a 4AGE 20 valve VVT pulley - YouTube