Jerking when stop in "D" mode

Jeff86ks

When stopping in "D" mode i.e stop at red light, the car starts vibrating/jerking, what might be the problem? All sifu/master/tuk guru pls help...:regular_smile:

What car / engine?

If it is a Mitsubishi or Proton, most likely the ISC or FICD. Try switching off the aircon, if it helps... u already found the problem.

Maybe the car is old and the mounting need to change. Only can guess, too less info.

if u shift to N.. what happen? still shaking/vibrating?

put N ma at traffic light....y put D?

u know wat..ur engine is running and ur gearbox is at D position..mean ur car is moving....but u jammed brake..so the car wan to go but cannot go....

the car suffer...so ur car vibrate.....hehe.....:X-:

*broken english used..pai seh

Or check ur front and back engine mounts. Most likely koyak already.

It is 1999 Mitsubishi Pajero IO(A) powered by a 1.8 SOHC 4 cylinders 16 valves 4G93 engine.. when switch into N mode, of course the problem can be solved, but I tried in others car such as a Toyota Wish, the problem isn't there,even though in D mode,the car won't jerk. When stopping, rpm kept within 600-1000rpm, I don't think it's neither too high nor too low... any other advice please??

i think ur Engine mounts are gone..check those..most vibrations come from the engine..and the mountings reduce them..

ehm...what is engine mount? haha...sorry la, but thanks for the advice!

The mountings are the parts that actually hold the Engine in its place in the engine bay..
an example is the following picture..all the parts shown here are it mountings..one only needs to change the rubber inside them that actually reduces the transmission of vibration to the interior of the car

http://www.ladaniva.co.yu/parts/a0.01.jpg

I had this problem before & it was due to engine mounting.
But what is your rpm at 'D' when your car is stopped?
If its too low then it will vibrate. A good condition auto
car will not vibrate in any gear when stopping

thank you so much ehaab! So I can change the mountings at any workshop? Normally how much it will cost?
To sexycar.. the rpm is between 650-1000 rpm, I think it's normal?

hmm.. could be de timing of de car too low.. try retuning ur car bro.. might help.. :regular_smile:

yup...agree with all the sifus that possible causes are :

1. Engine mountings (front and/or rear need replacing - possibly rubber bushes are split/cracked/damaged)

2. FICD or idling speed too low...

Had that prob recently and my OJ was fixed by doing both. Cost of changing both bushes? By outside mech, less than RM100 incl labour.

3inline sure more vibration compare to 4inline,coz piston movement not so balance n ez coz mounting wear off,u can ask foreman to check the mounting whether the rubber bushing is crack,beside FICD also call as air cond valve,its control the valve when air cond is on,the mounting local oem price around rm300 for 3,if ori around rm800 for 3