this is the sohai im talking about
Asure7
http://forum.vogs.net/posting.php?mode=quote&p=854073 http://forum.vogs.net/viewtopic.php?p=854073#854073Posted: Sun May 27, 2007 3:24 am
Post subject: Did I damage the engine?I really knew nothing about car maintenance when I first got my vios.
1. I did not go for 1000km servicing.
2. I did not go for 5000km servicing.
3. I didn't really noticed anything because no CEL light. Only the car was running a bit rough. At 8000km mileage, only after my bro took my car for a "spin" all the way to KL and back, that i checked the engine oil level. I got a big shock, cos... the dipstick was totally dry!!! No wonder suddenly engine auto-off when i was trying to make a u-turn (I'm on AT).... luckily can start again immediately.
4. I panicked and poured full 4L of Castrol SLX in... now then i know i poured in too much :(
5. Even then i did not go for servicing immediately... and waited until about 9,980km before i brought the car to BM for 10,000km servicing with Castrol SLX.
6. I think only the standard things were done. I didn't say anything, and they only told me they changed the gasket (I don't even know what a gasket is).
7. Not really happy with BM service... so when reach 19,900km, I went proswift for 20,000km servicing (used M1 0W-40 oil) and did an engine flush also. Never mentioned anything also, and they never highlight any problems abt the car.
8. Went on with regular 30,000km (Castrol SLX) and 40,000km (Castrol Edge 5W-40) servicing. Currently at 46,000km and the car still runs v smooth. In fact, smoother than when i just got the car.
Just would like know if there's anything I should take note of... I realize when i use the SLX, the engine eat up the oil a bit. But I heard that's normal when using 30W oil and I don't think there's any leaks.
Asure7
http://forum.vogs.net/posting.php?mode=quote&p=854073 http://forum.vogs.net/viewtopic.php?p=854073#854073Posted: Sun May 27, 2007 3:24 am
Post subject: Did I damage the engine?I really knew nothing about car maintenance when I first got my vios.
1. I did not go for 1000km servicing.
2. I did not go for 5000km servicing.
3. I didn't really noticed anything because no CEL light. Only the car was running a bit rough. At 8000km mileage, only after my bro took my car for a "spin" all the way to KL and back, that i checked the engine oil level. I got a big shock, cos... the dipstick was totally dry!!! No wonder suddenly engine auto-off when i was trying to make a u-turn (I'm on AT).... luckily can start again immediately.
4. I panicked and poured full 4L of Castrol SLX in... now then i know i poured in too much :(
5. Even then i did not go for servicing immediately... and waited until about 9,980km before i brought the car to BM for 10,000km servicing with Castrol SLX.
6. I think only the standard things were done. I didn't say anything, and they only told me they changed the gasket (I don't even know what a gasket is).
7. Not really happy with BM service... so when reach 19,900km, I went proswift for 20,000km servicing (used M1 0W-40 oil) and did an engine flush also. Never mentioned anything also, and they never highlight any problems abt the car.
8. Went on with regular 30,000km (Castrol SLX) and 40,000km (Castrol Edge 5W-40) servicing. Currently at 46,000km and the car still runs v smooth. In fact, smoother than when i just got the car.
Just would like know if there's anything I should take note of... I realize when i use the SLX, the engine eat up the oil a bit. But I heard that's normal when using 30W oil and I don't think there's any leaks.
[/...