If you would Handle The Government ?

Lets get this topic back to where it was... shall we ? Now if some of u are sticking with the hudud law, is ur opinion, n i fully respect it.

I feel the government in MY , is juz way to mess up now, less talking about the laws ... First the infrastructure of the government is the people..

First , i find that living in MY , the biggest benefit , is that we dun pay much tax, n still people complain too much...2nd Petrol in our country is one of the cheapest in the world...due to government subsidies, n still the people complain too much...

What can we do to change this ?

If we do pay higher tax , i personally feel that in return , the government should employ better n more law enforcers , TO protect the people , not by finding faulth among people. If we speed , there terms of negotiation , bcz after all , is about safety of the people...
If the person look rite , n its juz running a lilt high of speed i feel that the ticket should be a warning ...n the people's benefit , of better medical care , more transportation excess . Better devopment . Child support funds , higher old age funds. N cheaper car but higher tax.

Racism is a must go.. i know its sensitve , but i think if we call ourself multi-race or multi culture country , then we must put in action...rather than juz print it in tourist leaflets n showing the cover of the book to the world wat we are NOT.

Equality its wat i'm talking about here , Government , Homes , Lands , Shares , marriage .

N to be really honest , i'm trully glad n delighted that people like Munky, Boon , thteh86 , zeroed ...are interested in this subject ..

N i'm sure each of u individual have a potential to be some1 someday..

I'm never into politics, i guess my dad did had some influence to me, but in another way...

With people like all of u around , i'm sure Malaysia will be successful nation , as ur all backbone n the sound of Malaysia.

I'm living in the UK now , n i do believe that living outside here , i can trully see a lot of different from wher i come from. N living out , u can see a clearer picture of where u come from to..The grass is not greener on the other side, but its juz different.

Here children are taught to be free n stand tall..but from wher i come from , my grandad was a muslim, taugh me tat " Grow up like a Padi , but dun grow up like a Lalang " maybe some of u understand wat i'm saying , some of u dun..

I'm stornch Roman Catholic , n my believes only tells me what is forgiveness..so if i did offended anyone about the whole hudud law, i'm trully sori , i juz feel this world needs more forgiveness.

" No war , without peace , no peace, without forgiveness "

bryan2727 said:
i didnt say that the US n Japan are third country...What do u mean by that ?

Singapore is not considered theird world , but their in the industrial age...

so i dun know how did i make u feel that these 3 country are third world.

You said that only third world country uses capital punishment. But what i found was, US, japan, and singapore are still using it. That's all

What capital punishment are they using ? If ur saying the death sentences, yes they are using it. But on very rare occasions , check death toll by criminals charges of this 3 country...Is the one of the lowest , BY Populatioon Stats. Its like 100 captial punishment , only 4 are sentences to death , the rest are sentences to life imprisonment..

If hudud law is implied , all this 100 criminal is so dead...:_:

bryan2727 said:
i think the life imprisonment is the best capital punishment. Many advenced country is doing it , the only country's that still keep the death sentence, are country's from the Thrid World.

As it is many countries face problems with overcrowded prisons. In a sense capital punishment helps curb this.

As a law student, can you tell me the difference between capital punishment and the death penalty?

P/S : Just because you are a student, it doesn't mean you know more than someone else but you already apologised for that so... let's carry on with our discussion.

usually when it comes to death punishment; it's being exercised in a very cautious and systematic system and of course a full through out investigation.
Obviously no one wants activist to tag on their tails for some mistake that they've done......

Than of course like I stated before, if hudud law is to be implement; than basically every capital punishment would only be done after a full prove investigation.

Like one real case; a brother of my friend had been murdered....some said because of girls; some said because of business........no one really knows. Everyonel knows who killed the guy; but apparently the guys that surrendered is not the killer! It was rumoured hat the guy was paid a large sum to surrender......indonesian btw.
If hudud law is to be implemented; meaning a life for a life....do u think that scapegoat would go and surrender himself?

Basically, there's too much leakage in the worlds law system........like the quote : "Rules are mend to be broken"
that's a fact of life
everyone seems to be practising this proverb: "When there's a will, there's a way".....even the criminals!

Duke Red said:
As a law student, can you tell me the difference between capital punishment and the death penalty?

P/S : Just because you are a student, it doesn't mean you know more than someone else but you already apologised for that so... let's carry on with our discussion.

I didn't say that i knew all k..i know some of u know even better than me...or maybe juz trying to act smart...but only know the basic thing i need to know about law, thats all..

Well Capital Punishment is a way of saying, its the highest punishment for all sentences, but what is implemented in it...it can be a death penalty or a life imprisonment. Depends on the law of the country.

N by the way Boon , i think the boy ur talking about , i think his my friend too...Is his name start with the letter D ?

anyway...i think if we speaking the same language here, i think u n me know what really happen...

I personally think that he has his own doing as well...i'm not saying he deserve it, but i think he has attitude on the lose at the moment.

Its not only the girl , its basiclly over all...this is a real isolated case..if i was the judge , i f*cking blur wer~~

not the D guy.... ur friend D case, I think stir a lot of commotions during that period of time
sorry to wat happeend to your friend.....
my related case happened in other state.
See how co-incident it is to have 2 case with the similiar outcome. That is because ppl are not afraid of the law anymore. They're always trying to find the loop hole and surpassing the law.
That's evolution...........think smarter. So sometimes. brutal ways and harsh measures need to be in place to bring back peace and harmorny. Someone might be critisied or even condemned when he/she introduce harsher punishment; but in the long run, things would turn out to be better.
In away, it gives a stern warning to offenders and teaches the others not to make the same mistake!

Now anuther problem about M'sian Government, is they always look at short term benefits; thus the plan they always comes out with is short term plans.....they never looked beyond.........wonder why?! Mayb because they're only in control for 5-10 yrs?!

*sigh*

I am honestly curious as to how much crime would be reduced even if there were harsher punishment in place. I mean a thief doesn't plan on getting caught in the first place.

duke....we'll never know....
it's just my idiotic thought........but gradually I personally felt that criminals would be more afraid to do serious crime....pshycological wise...
or if it's like my sugesstion, if you do it the second time....u're basically dead......doubt that they would re-do a crime.
Like current situations, they did a crime, went in to jail for 10 years.....come back out, do anuther crime, severe punishment...maybe 15 years more....but to them; jail only mah, somemore fed by the government.
But if we're to practise cutting of limbs/body parts or even death on the 2nd offence; I personally would stay away from crime.........

geee.....it's either an idiotic or idealistic thought

I have no doubt that it will have a positive effect to some extent, but I also think there are other methods to curb crime like improving the quality of law enforcement, education, quality to living, etc. By virtue of the fact that cost of living is rising at an alarming rate, more and more people are beginning to feel they cannot rely on legal means to survive anymore. The number of desperate people increase as does cost of living. If nothing is done to help citizens cope with this, crime will continue to rise and we will be much worse off than we are now.

crime is a funny thing. even there's death penalty there are still pedlars for illegal drugs.

why? cause the they feel the end benefit is worth the risk. If a owner hits his dog, the dog may not bite back because of loyalty but continue hitting the dog till caught in corner, the dog bites back. love for owner or not.

crime continue to exist is because of many social problems that a high majority feel that they are either outtaluck or massive "injustice" befallen on them. Some may resort to crime for thrills (I sure u read some high profile rich chaps who do it for kicks)

back to original topic
bryan2727 said:
this a democratic country, we suppose to be allowed to speak freely...

We would love to be able to have an "ideal" democratic country. but in the real world it wont & it never perfect. even the western countries do not enjoy "such" a privilege but they do have a "their" mechanics to ensure "stopchecks" in their system of governance.

of course we cannot blindly adopt american of fully implement (100%) the "british" system of governance, we have other factors to play.

broadly speaking, we (malaysian way of life) have gone to such degree with affirmative action of the bumiputera privileges both enshrined in our laws, we (non-bumis) have to learn to come in terms with it.

"If you would Handle The Government" but first, we have to look within. unfortunately, it is an issue that cannot be changed in a decade. Our malaysian mentality is far too deeply rooted in the "tongkat issue". remove it we will face massive social problems. (likely to see fighting even amongst themselves, my former (bumi) boss feels).

they only way (seems logical) is to gradually remove & reducate. We have been truly fed with bias education in the past & it doesnt help when so many topics (about political issues) are argued over short term disadvantages that had befallen recenty. If some of you guys have ever experience working life since the 80s? a lot had happen since, then if you consider periods/terms after independence.

back then, (after merdeka independence) WE malaysians have a lot going for us, we have brains (people) & are massively willing to stride forward as a country. We know since the 70s, there were migration of a lot of talented malaysians seeking a pastures elsewhere.

all is not lost, as we are still blessed with malaysians for all walks of life who despite their vocal condemnation of policies are in their hearts, malaysians who love their country; not some traitors as some leaders puts it. but we better recognise this fact else if we continue to groom mediocre youth, we will embrace a society of mediocre leaders.

if any of you have the privildege to speak to the old school of malaysians (those who had english education before the transformation you will understand)

I dare day that we had in our (potential) better leaders/people then, then even singapore then. but we threw it away.

fact is there is no 100% right way to rule in any government, but we have to accept changes in society & some old way(s) of fundamentalist thinking may have to change.

As strange as it may sound, the criminals of a society are representatives of that society. They are the product of the system and they reflect upon the country. Crime patterns tell you a lot about what is wrong with said society.

si|verfish said:
As strange as it may sound, the criminals of a society are representatives of that society. They are the product of the system and they reflect upon the country. Crime patterns tell you a lot about what is wrong with said society.

THUMBS UP ~~ totally agree ~

Write your reply...