Idling problems on B16a after porting

arrowhead...no need so modest. kenot hide 1 ler heheheh. i was also thinking of that. thats y i asked the mech is it cos the ECU cant adapt to the additional air but he said he's done this on 3 other b16a without problems... one question tho...the milling machine they use should be an 8 axis cnc router rite? if the company that does the milling regularly should have the axis all stored and all pnp should be exactly the same correct? i'm damned worried the pnp went totally wrong...if oni i heard about ad-eg's shop after my car went kaput n had to send the car into this shop...

Jin...TB still stock standard. whole engine is stock standard other than the fact its head is pnp-ed. will have problem ar if use back stock TB?

if by this friday he still cant find the solution i think i'm pulling the car out n sending it to ad_eg...

Bro.... don't have opinion to give, but want to ask. B16 uses MAP or AFM? Because if AFM, it will surely affect more as the air velocity is greatly reduced.

just PNP without change throttle..??

I dunno. I'm digging for info - so I just ask. I'm a Honda-idiot.

izso : u mistook me for someone else?

the sifu's are dcloo, jin, hattech-v, shiro, d-iv, e-tech, ad_eg...

im just a potato with his personal b16a problems... HAHAHAHA...

but honestly, i dont know. it make sens what dcloo said, that after porting, your engine does take in more air, thus creating havoc on the a/f ratio... (more air than normal ma?) but then TB and intake never port (right?)... *shrugs*

as for idling, i always point towards IACV (idle valve) or TPS sensor. most ppl dont disturb their tps sensor (unlike me) so probably u can rule it out...

Well, I've been reading around and your posts are knowledgeable so :adore:

I don't see how there can be more air if TB is stock like what Jin pointed out. Perhaps the PNP job was a hack job and that wrecked havoc there I wouldn't know. But I seriously doubt a PNP job will affect idling.

Arturo : This is a totally newbie comment but could it be possible your mech forgot to plug something in? Last time I came across this joker who forgot to plug in his vacuum hose on his Myvi and complained about the huge amount of black smoke coming out from his exhaust.

if you or your mech have a spare stock b16a head,try swap the pnp head with a stock one..this is juz to pin out if the pnp head is ok or not...since everything else is stock..right?

juz my 2 cents....

i just changed head gaskets cos leak...if i change the head will need to change the head gasket set again.....

Arrowhead...double checked for loose or wrongly fixed vacuum hoses...the mech even called some other mechs to see if anything was placed wrongly.

veloc...i have no idea. jin should be able to answer. google cant answer everything for me heheheh

Jin...means after pnp no matter how minor oso need some sort of management? cant ever go without management?

i just changed head gaskets cos leak...if i change the head will need to change the head gasket set again.....

Arrowhead...double checked for loose or wrongly fixed vacuum hoses...the mech even called some other mechs to see if anything was placed wrongly.

veloc...i have no idea. jin should be able to answer. google cant answer everything for me heheheh

Jin...means after pnp no matter how minor oso need some sort of management? cant ever go without management?
if just minor, just doing it shinning shinning only, won't really affected ur idling... even dun hav management oso can...

Izso : i copy and paste from other forums one! lol.

the real sifu is JIN!

veloc: honda uses MAP.

my bet is related to IACV and/or TPS sensor, since he mentioned hunting idling like hi-cams and engine dying.

just my 2 cents.

jin....u dun tipu tipu like that ler :biggrin:. n i think its 1mm all around...no idea if thats a huge volume or not but i feel it is...

arrowhead...the TPS sensor was adjusted by my mech. he said he was trying to bring the idle rev down. it could be thats the prob...the IACV(thanks for the explanation...now i know wat its called heheh) he said he changed with another unit and still same case. i did ask him how sure he was the 2nd unit is a known good item but he couldnt answer...i'll been to pursue that further

a little chronology of wat happened ar...
1)head came back from pnp n he fixed everything back
2)started the engine and as usual from cold start, rev will be quite high(i was used to seeing 1.8k straight off and would go down .1k every 2 or 3 seconds till it stabilised at about 900rpm about 1 minute after start) but my mech said he waited for about 30minutes but still stuck at 2k rpm.
3) he messed adjusted something on the TB(i think this will be the FITV?) to get the idle down but he said adjusted to the max also still at about 1.8k...so he messed with the TPS sensor.so when he did, theres where the hi cam symptom came out. he then adjusted the TPS back up and idle back to 2k...he showed me how just a little knock at the tps sensor adjustment screw made it hi cam again...

and it has been like that ever since.

my action items tomorrow after work is
-i will get him to find a whatever AFC he can get to see what sort of AF is going in(cos he said running too rich)
-force him to get another IACV to test it out...

i damn kau miss my car u know...:bawling:

i dont know about ur mech but what i would do first when idle is high is to adjust the throttle body screw first. its where we adjust the idle.

he shouldn't temper with the tps sensor to bring down the idle because once u touch it, and it isn't set properly, u will have alot of eratic idling. it took me a long time to finally solve my eratic idling when i tempered with my tps.

best way or rather my solution was, use hondata. i can "scan" to see if my tps is at the correct angle when throttle close and wide open throttle.

But I kinda think maybe your head ported too big. Normally b16 should only polish. As far as I know la. Hope all the Sifu correct me.

again, i believe try the tps first la.

jin: dont con ppl la! we all know u are the sifu of sifu!

arrowhead. yep thats wat he did. he tried adjusting the TB first...then when it reached the lowest point it was still at about 1.5k-1.8k thats y he started messing about with the tps...

i was held back at work yesterday...by the time i got off...he aredy close shop. haih...

i also starting to think the head ported too big...too much air for the ECU to handle(is there such thing la?)

if really head ported too big n the only solution i have is to go management...what u guys suggest? right now not looking for ideal but realistic solution...heard of re-chipping...sasuke can do plus tuning but in KL but wondering if E-tech also can do...pokai aredy. everday the car stuck in the workshop, i'm adding another 100 to the bill...:banghead:

hmmm...
sound like clog vacuum like

or

vacuum hose "sudah tersalah pasang" <<--how to say in english aaa ? :hmmmm:

Chin...vaccum hoses all changed to new set also still same problem and it doesnt look like wrong pasang since b16a oni got so few...

just got a call from the mech. bad news. i need management to control the extra A/F. he's tried a new TB set but still same problem(includes IACV n FITV).

any suggestion for management? pokai aredy.

need something sub 1k include tuning. any suggestions?i'll most prolly go to AD_EG's place to get it done. damn bengang rite now...

i think VAFC can be purchased for around that price. used one that is. yeah u should go to AD_EG's place to try solve it. dont jump into buying something to solve another first. get 2nd maybe 3rd opinion.

but just for that matter, management wise, i will highly recommend HONDATA. its the only management where it control your IACV cycle, so idle will be smooth all the time.

Hondata cheapest i saw also bout 1.8k?not yet tuning n install hehehe if i go sell backside at puduraya for the next whole 3 months maybe can get to install by year end wakakakakka

another thing...emanage blue cant control a/f? is this true?if it is then i need to cross out emanage as an option...

anyway...i told the mech to go screw the machinist and not do anything else to the car. will go n take the car back after work today as is an send to AD to look look see see...any further work needs to wait till month end cos i'm already above my car budget...just wondering how my FC gonna be affected by this...40c/km? maybe need to sell backside a few extra months kua :banghead: