ICE setup, need advise

koonjiun

Hello all sifu, bros, pros, experts

I was thinking of throwing some money for ice and my budget is around 2k to 3k max.(not including wiring cause i dont know how much it will cost)

im a total newbie with ice so i'm not familiar with the terms being used here... such as

Head unit - the player??
component set - speakers??
RMS?
2channel amp? 4 channel amp? what is the difference and usage.
RCA?
and some other words.

i was planning to install (please correct me if this setup is not appropriate)
- 2 front speaker(at the door panel one) and 2 tweeters
- 2 rear speakers (wanna change the stock one coz lousy sound).
- 1 unit of 12" sub
- maybe 2 amp. to power sub, front, rear speakers? can i power my tweeter as well?

Sorry for any stupid question

please advise.

hi again,
also, any recommendation of some good shops around kl for me to get those items and installing. (murah, cantik, bagus) :)

HU= Alpine 9835/7998R or Pioneer 8650 or CD7000
Sub Amp, Orion HCCA G5 can get here.. www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=6928
if want more keng amp... www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7050

Just My Basic Set-up
HU, Alpine 9835
Comp, RS Pro LE
Sub, RS C12
Amp, Xetec P4 Evo or Audio System F4-560

If for Rojak set-up (low Budget)
HU, DEX + DEQ P9R
MidBass- Scans 18W4831
MidRange- Scans 12M4831 or MW140
Tweeter- Rs Pro LE or MD130 or MD330 or Dyns Esotar
Sub- JL12W6V2-D4 or DLSUR12
Amp- a) P4 + 2 P2 evo
b) F4-560 + 2 F2-450
c) PHD4070 Pro + 2 PHD2200
e) Dls A4 + 2 A3

just one more thing,instead of using a single sub, try double 12",by the way u r using a wira and dont forget make an amp rack.

thanks for the reply,

oldskolboyz: the link u gimme is high end product?
tohsan: thanks for calling more help :p
takumi_86: u mean 2 12" sub?

If like that... try ask fofit loorr... I only play high end stuff... coz even the stuff oledi 5-6yrs ppl still looking on it... that make me crazy.. haa haa

his budget is 3k only la...

my suggestion is HU, 4ch amp, front component set and one 12" sub enuff oledi. better if u search for used high end items instead of buying cheap new ones.

other forums besides this one is mycarhifi.com and gr8tunes.net, both have buy/sell section...

oldskolboyz said:
HU= Alpine 9835/7998R or Pioneer 8650 or CD7000
Sub Amp, Orion HCCA G5 can get here.. www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=6928
if want more keng amp... www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7050

Just My Basic Set-up
HU, Alpine 9835
Comp, RS Pro LE
Sub, RS C12
Amp, Xetec P4 Evo or Audio System F4-560

If for Rojak set-up (low Budget)
HU, DEX + DEQ P9R
MidBass- Scans 18W4831
MidRange- Scans 12M4831 or MW140
Tweeter- Rs Pro LE or MD130 or MD330 or Dyns Esotar
Sub- JL12W6V2-D4 or DLSUR12
Amp- a) P4 + 2 P2 evo
b) F4-560 + 2 F2-450
c) PHD4070 Pro + 2 PHD2200
e) Dls A4 + 2 A3

Wow, even it is 2nd hand also it is difficult to get at RM2 -RM3k. By the way, it is better to buy a new HU. Others, depends on luck. There is always a risk of buying 2nd hand items unless u know the owners.

in ICE, u pay peanuts u get monkeys. 2-3k is a decent budget. i suggest u get a HU first with 3 rca perout ( i think pionner 5850 haf--> around 700/800), then get a front component set. listen/audit then go buy, less hassle. then get a 4 chn amp, grab those with higher rms rating as u will need to power up one 12 inch subwoofer also in the future. if not, then get a 2 channel amp to pump the comp and then a monoblock amp if ur wanting to get 2 12 inch subwoofer.

root mean squared....it is average power rating in Watt, as opposed to Maximum power (PMPO)

i'll have to agree with zenn...

spend your dough wisely. look for a set of
speakers first, with sound characteristic that
you like. hook them up to your current HU
and enjoy them for sometime while you shop
around for the amp (which must be powerful
enuf to drive the speakers, preferably 4ch. 2
for speakers and 2 to bridged for sub later).
then only look for the HU. lastly, add a sub if
you want more boom. if you are patience enuf,
3K could get you some decent used stuff, imho.

key word : patience

storm_bird said:
ultra noob here, what is rms actually?? hehe

To the layman, RMS means the constant power u will get. On the other hand, maximum or peak power are the power u will get in a lapse of a moment (basically, this power can't be utilized)

hehehehehehhe..........so ....budget 3000 ka....huhuhuhuhuh .....alot.....so buy a pioneer cd player deh-5850 around RM700++ then go for component set front and back ask hi1983,......he selling the speaker with nice price. rm800.....buy the amp, 4 channel and 2 channel/monoblock... rm1000 then buy subwoofer.....hehhehe another rm500......cable buy in jalan pasar....heheheheheheh

jalan pasar got sell good cable..
very2 cheap don worry..
but must make sure the spelling is rite... JBL not JCL or CLARION not CLRABION

Write your reply...