I want to buy Digicam

stay away from fuji ? :blink: , most of the reviews stating fuji is a practical camera depending on its range , and if you had bad experience on it , doesn't mean others will do .

camera depends on individual 1 lo.. sum like sony cuz de design.. i personally like canon.. my slr n digital also canon.. my fren pulak die die nikon fan.. ehehhe so depends on ppl.. pls dun fight.. we all camera man ma! hhehe

well not fighthing , just voicing out opinions , since alot of you can voice out , i also voice out mah . anyway im a fine pix user here , i don't have any bad experience with it , just that it has a few draw backs , i bet all camera does have their pros & cons . and since our friend here is the one who wants to buy , so its his choice in the end , best to give suggestions , and no point telling not to buy this and that .

yup.. alll depends on him.. wut brand he wan n he trust..if he doesnt have a fav brand.. he can try walk around sg wang n try out all de camera.. ehhehe this is wut i did.. n i almost got the T1 sony... woooooo.. n de fello told me ..big screen = batt faster finish.. den i end up wif ixus400

vestax, no doubt that Fuji FinePix point & shoot is good & can produce very nice photos. The only draw back is they use xD as the storage :(
My cousin is using it and i really impressed with the photos B)

Small point & shoot digital camera i prefer Canon ixus 40 & 500. More control i stick to Canon A series B)

Sample photos taken using ixus 40 :D

yeah true , the biggest draw back with fuji & olympus cause they are using xD picture card which is very expensive , others are not bad i would say , dpreview.com has good write ups & comparison about them . my cam has 3.1mp and the draw back is , the super ccd does not do its job when im using a 6mp setting :lol: . anyway here is an example take by my cam 10xzoom . not bad for its price .

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/carpics/zth.jpg

CANON G-5 is the best, or the Fujifilm Finepix S7000...one is 5.0MB while the other is 6.0 MB...uncompressed is 12.0 for the latter...Both take good pictures...no, it's GREAT!!! Its the nearest u can get for SLR-quality pictures and yet not one. For retail around RM2.5k.

If u like manual photography, then these 2 non-SLRs offer plenty of flexibility in metering, white balance, AF mode, photometry and plenty of other stuff...The thing is, if u've used digital cameras b4 this and only stick to a brand, the fujifilm is a bit of a hassle, until u are familia with the functions and buttons, then its really very flexible. Canon G-5 on the other hand is more user friendly interface. Somemore got swivel screen...But both are great...I have both cameras, and one Canon EOS 10D

apart of car zone .. zth people .. in zth got camera pro , computer pro , network pro , physics pro .. wuish.. all in one la zth :)

will take all your recommendations in mind
go to sungei wang and low yatt
see the models one by one hehe :) then can choose ler

but the Canon's Price is impresive

vestax : ur zoom also chun la ;) zooming for chicks ka ?

fuji finepix not bad ler.. my sis got 1.. cheap n nice pics.. i like ixus 40.. nice design n nice photos too...

Originally posted by jinkl@Jan 27 2005, 10:56
want to buy a good digicam between 800-1.3k
What do you all recommend
i am not a hardcore user

does 3.2 Mpixel make lots of difrence with 4.0
which model best
Ixus , Exilum , Nicon Coolpix , Powershot
or is the Cybershot which is around 1.6k all worth the buy
just got a cybershot T3 in black... its COOL.!! 5.1megapixel :)
From the look to functions...... thumb up!

vestax,
Yeah, you've got a point there. Well, actually, I had a sort-of bad experience with the Fuji service center in Crystal Plaza so that must've added it up. I've used the S7000 for close to a year and to be down right honest, it's quite an all round camera. However, I feel that they over saturate the bright colors, and darken too much the dark colors. One cool thing about the S7000 is that it's got a hot shoe! Cool. Can be big flasher at night! :lol: :lol: :lol: Then again, too bad it's not a TTL hot shoe. hehehe

Canon Powershot G series is quite a good all round camera too. And it's got TTL hotshoe for fully automatic external flash. Nikon also has the CoolPix 8700 and 8800 (new model) as well, but it's freakin expensive! hahaha Can get a DSLR with the price of the Nikon 8800, well, that's what I know from a few months ago la. hehehe

Originally posted by jinkl@Jan 27 2005, 10:56
want to buy a good digicam between 800-1.3k
What do you all recommend
i am not a hardcore user

does 3.2 Mpixel make lots of difrence with 4.0
which model best
Ixus , Exilum , Nicon Coolpix , Powershot
or is the Cybershot which is around 1.6k all worth the buy
Nikon, definitely Nikon.

well im satisfied with my canon powershot A95.....

http://anion.lysium.net/anion/bridge.jpg

im a noobie about photography and digicams....but the cam impressed me n satisfies me perfectly.....canon A series roxx.....

canon powershot A85 - lotsa features, nice to play around

Canon Ixus 40 - small, nice design

both oso 3x optical zoom(ok la), mmg nice, mmg nice....