How to push Myvi up to 180kph?

banzai

As i was driving from KL-Melaka last nite, i noticed a Myvi coming up fast from behind. At that time i was doing around 140. when the myvi approached nearerer, i stepped up to run parallel and to my surprise, the myvi is maxxing out at 180kph. It looks stock, only with 14" sport rims. even the exhaust is stock. number plate is MXX 242. I need to max out my 1.6 20v to 190kph in order to overtake. the driver is very sporting, and we continue taking turns overtake each other at 170-180 until going our own way in Ayer Keroh.

now, can all stock 1.3 myvi push up to 180kmph? i notice the torque from 150-180 is quite impressive, it's not those struggling forever to achieve the top speed. really salute tat myvi la.

• myvi_logo.jpg
    myvi_logo.jpg
    19 KB · Views: 314
Last edited by a moderator:
It must have been modified a bit in order to closely match your 20v. I don't think the std 1.3ltr Myvi with only less than 90HP can almost match a 1.6ltr 20v which at least has over 70% more power. Maybe that Myvi already swapped engine or use some forced induction. :)

errrr...i've drive 185km/h on stock myvi once...but that was during downhill....onflat road 165-170max out....that was 100% factory std 1.3myvi...dunnow if some camshaft or ecu tweak could get higher....

or TS found a sleeper myvi with 1.3 Ke-vet (turbo) running street looking exhaust and stock myvi spotrims??? :hmmmm:

yea yea..stock myvi can reach 180 and with some tweaking it could reach 190kph too....

Not surprised... :D
Drove a Viva 160km/h with ease...

just a bit worried about the stability...huuuu...

i think is standard myvi. meet a lot of them on hiway myself. 180kmh from yong peng straight till dunno where oso no problem. theres a video i saw an imprezza doing 200+ following behind a stock standard myvi n the guys laughing like crazy saying they cant believe this myvi going that fast...

Doesn't make sense to me. A 1.3ltr 85-90HP engine pushing a 900kg-1ton car should not be as fast, the numbers just don't add up. I believe it can reach 170-180kph but not in a manner that can closely match a 150-170hp 1.6ltr 20v car as told above, let alone reach 200+ ahead of a 200+HP Impreza. I also have friends who own pure stock Myvi and they say it's slow, one even said his was struggling a bit to get up to Genting Highland and it is still pretty much new (a few months old only)!

Going up genting hill with myvi is very hard..have to really push it..with and auto gearbox worst..haha..but i still enjoy the moments doing uphill with myvi auto gearbox..

even my kancil 660 can hit 140km/h, max meter 160kmh. but cannot see the redline as
got no rpm meter.....the whole car rattling, dashboard almost tercabut :)
so myvi hitting 180kmh should be no problem.

Doesn't make sense to me. A 1.3ltr 85-90HP engine pushing a 900kg-1ton car should not be as fast, the numbers just don't add up. I believe it can reach 170-180kph but not in a manner that can closely match a 150-170hp 1.6ltr 20v car as told above, let alone reach 200+ ahead of a 200+HP Impreza. I also have friends who own pure stock Myvi and they say it's slow, one even said his was struggling a bit to get up to Genting Highland and it is still pretty much new (a few months old only)!

yep..can reach that speed..but it takes forever...

thus i think it was a tweaked myvi..no 100% stock... :adore:

going up genting mybe hard but this is hway....even stock 660 kancil can reach 140-160.....:driver:

The only other logical explanation IMHO is that the 20v above might not be in its' top/healthiest state of tune so it's actually slower than it should be, hence the std myvi can almost match it! :)
Again I'm referring to the acceleration to 180kph as told in above story, not just the 180kph top speed.

i have also tot it impossible..but the amount of times i had to give way to a flashing myvi at 160kmh...i learnt my lesson. never judge a book by its cover...u guys watch the video n judge for yrself la. i kena so many times...driven by girl la...by uncle la...180kmh is not a problem for a myvi. for me, wanna follow is like driving inside a typhoon. noisy like hell.

Gear ratio, tires, the engine plays the part here plus the weight of the car.

My sister has a MyVi manual so I know it's capabilities. The car doesn't run out of breath even at high rev thanks to variable valve system and the gear ratio is quite good couple that to a small 14 inch tire...less friction give you more speed and good acceleration. I have driven MyVi with 17 inch...the acc felt sluggish and I don't like it at all.

But going at 180 in a MyVi with stock tires is scary and the noise from the wind...=.='

Gear ratio, tires, the engine plays the part here plus the weight of the car.

My sister has a MyVi manual so I know it's capabilities. The car doesn't run out of breath even at high rev thanks to variable valve system and the gear ratio is quite good couple that to a small 14 inch tire...less friction give you more speed and good acceleration. I have driven MyVi with 17 inch...the acc felt sluggish and I don't like it at all.

But going at 180 in a MyVi with stock tires is scary and the noise from the wind...=.='

so u'r one of them la.... :rofl:

but yah...all those i saw running at 180kmh still running with standard rims n wheels. even exhaust standard. those with big rims normally cant keep up.

Arturo, not me driving....is my sister that want to prove to me that MyVi can go to 180...plus U don't drive her car so often only when my car is in the workshop since we work together.

The only other logical explanation IMHO is that the 20v above might not be in its' top/healthiest state of tune so it's actually slower than it should be, hence the std myvi can almost match it! :)
Again I'm referring to the acceleration to 180kph as told in above story, not just the 180kph top speed.

Mine just dynoed not long ago, it's healthy. when we slowed down to around 140 due to traffic on the fast lane, i can climb back to 190kmph(the max my ECU allows) twice the myvi speed due to my high rev capability, then i realized this is not fair and i decided to let both of us spar closer because i want to find out how the myvi performs. i almost certain it's not forced induction as its speed gathering is quite linear.

Ah then this explains it! :) It's not as closely match as I thought it was based on the original story, cuz actually your acceleration was much quicker and then you actually backed up a bit to make it closer! :D So if you're asking can it just reach 180kph, the answer should be simply yes like many have testified above, but again it would not be that close to your 20v capability. So physics still don't lie, my fellow ZTH friends! :)