how necessary is engine oil cooler

upontheriversky

hi ive just fixed an atf cooler for my car, oh man it feels great to feel the constant urge to go further even when going uphill and noticeable response improvement during hot days and u can overtake without pressing the pedal too hard

some say stock-running cars no need to fix atf cooler coz not much heat generated as compared to racing cars but i think with our hot weather all year long, most cars will necessarily need atf cooler. correct me if im wrong.

nway, back to question. im just wondering if engine oil cooler is necessary as well as atf cooler so the engine can run at optimum level?given our hot weather and our well done straight highways which make everyone tends to break speed limit hehe

but ATF coolers compulsory for perdana users.

recommended to use oil cooler for turbo cars only.

so on standard auto car not necessary at all to fix engine oil cooler? how bout for frequent long drive at considerable high speed (110kmh above on say 1.5cc car) use? it supposedly help reducing engine oil temp a lot to prevent oil breakdown coz i think the oil stops what it does when it gets too hot. my 2cent

no bro..not neccessary......110kmh on a 1.5cc is not fast, my kancil was speeding 150km/h yesterday...also no problem...660 summore...(was in a hurry to pick up my daughter from home to clinic, had an asthma attack).......

& used my toyota 1.3 160km/h at KLIA hway...
also no problem....

i reco atf oil cooler, not b4 of hot weather in mys, but lots of traffic jammed, sloow moving, bump to bump... just make the atf temp more higher compare with just weather... moreover, can make the radiator temp slightly more lower cos the hot atf no more need to get into rad....

yep atf cooler will surely help on those events, helped mine big time. used to have slow pickup moment (felt like gear shifting lembab or sumthin, so need to press harder) after long driving in hotdays and traffic. now the gearbox seem to be able to sustain in those conditions, gear shifting is improved so in a way save fuel as well coz u dont hv to press the pedal so hard to gain certain acceleration, just press lightly and ur car accelerates

regarding d engine oil cooler,it's really an overkill 4 a normal daily driven car.especially if u do alot of open highway driving coz w d high speed driving,ur actually gushing more air 2wards ur radiator/engine bay whc shud result in lower running temperature.i know mine does.normal town driving,my Greddy water temp will show ard 80-90'C.but whn i hop on d hiway,it can drop to even 30'C!depends on how fast i drive.
ALSO,if u insist on installing an engine oil cooler,do look after d oil pressure too.coz d oil will now hafta travel via a longer route,so if u dun maitain enuff pressure within d system,ur engine might suffer frm oil starvation whc is NOT GOOD!
cheers.

im using 1jz..... i dun have oil cooler.... but i do monitor my oil temp... i did alot of drifting... and from what i see the oil temp pretty much around the same wid my water temp... the most is around 10deg celcius higher. so the temp is still less than 100deg celcius which i dun see any problem wid it...

i tink it very much depends on car design.. like RB, i noticed them operated at much higher temp at stock condition. using an oil cooler will slightly raised the oil pressure due to the drop in temp.

regarding d engine oil cooler,it's really an overkill 4 a normal daily driven car.especially if u do alot of open highway driving coz w d high speed driving,ur actually gushing more air 2wards ur radiator/engine bay whc shud result in lower running temperature.i know mine does.normal town driving,my Greddy water temp will show ard 80-90'C.but whn i hop on d hiway,it can drop to even 30'C!depends on how fast i drive.
ALSO,if u insist on installing an engine oil cooler,do look after d oil pressure too.coz d oil will now hafta travel via a longer route,so if u dun maitain enuff pressure within d system,ur engine might suffer frm oil starvation whc is NOT GOOD!
cheers.

makes total sense. i guess for normal driven cars its not that necessary. cheers for the informative discussion =D

fully agreed wit Akuma, cos most of the ppl now days, they just wanna looks cool & comparing wat i got & wat u hav in ur car... hahahaha...

i'm running on evo2 engine wif it stock oil cooler....
using liqui moly 10-60 oil now....the normal operating oil temp is around 95-100 celcius....
dat's for stuck in jam and normal driving without boost n rpm around 3k.....

when run on highway....at speed around 110-120kmh @ +-3.5k rpm....oil temp goes to around 100-105 celcius....
if 140-160kmh....oil temp goes near to 110 celcius....

is this oil prob or i'm havin prob wif my oil cooler???
even wif wind blowing the oil cooler oso it doesnt seems to b any cooler....

as for oil press....been pretty normal....
warmed up @ idling around 1.5bar....
4k rpm +- 4bar....
if full rev...max goes up to +-7-8bar....

i dun have turbo, but i have oil cooler in bay, i do reckon that oil cooler not necessary, but it helps a lot while stuck in jam, used to have hi water temp and hi oil temp problem...

zac hv u tried adding oil cooler to see whether hi temp problems persist?im in traffic more less 15-18 hours a week morning n after work so dun want my car not being able to handle the heat haha

i suffer from water temp cut here bros.... why i say this?? i currently just transplant a mivec turbo to my car........ but i notice when i drive for longer period of time and my speed is over 80, my car water temp will rise till 100 with aircon on and if i dun reduce my speed...... so my speed is cut at 80 on highway especially at hot day since rainning day the temp of course will not rise....i m using a big turbo, tdo5h hybrid with tdo6 fan..... my intercooler size is smaller then vr4.... will an oil cooler help me fix this??? :adore:

for addition, my car dun have leak at hoses,thermostate function well and radiator is using evo size with 2 bottle of toyota coolent and no dirt at all........ i afraid of head gasket leak but i do check the water frequently, no oil stain in water

i suffer from water temp cut here bros.... why i say this?? i currently just transplant a mivec turbo to my car........ but i notice when i drive for longer period of time and my speed is over 80, my car water temp will rise till 100 with aircon on and if i dun reduce my speed...... so my speed is cut at 80 on highway especially at hot day since rainning day the temp of course will not rise....i m using a big turbo, tdo5h hybrid with tdo6 fan..... my intercooler size is smaller then vr4.... will an oil cooler help me fix this??? :adore:

for addition, my car dun have leak at hoses,thermostate function well and radiator is using evo size with 2 bottle of toyota coolent and no dirt at all........ i afraid of head gasket leak but i do check the water frequently, no oil stain in water
whats ur compression ratio??... still stock??... hows ur AF graph when boost kick in??....

my suggestion:
- fine tune ur AF mapping
- check ur compression ratio if necessary to go lower or not, since u using big turbo
- better/thicker radiator

yeap, oil cooler would help

my engine no more stock..... af tune with emanage blue.. just tune....... compression must not be a problem since i using 4age supercharge low compression piston , con rod also change and i using gsr block........ i cant use thicker radiator since the turbo header almost contact with my radiator fan oledi....