How do u think of a BMW e30?

reedoor

Hi all,
how do u guys think of BMW e30? de 1 Tom is driving? recently im quite craze with this car... hav sumthing in my mind but then also sumthing is holding me back as well... im driving a Gti, but then if u were me, wud u let go Gti & take this car? or?? pls comment... anything is welcome... :)
cheers...

*ps: GTi 1.8 manual 137hp, e30 2.5 auto 170hp

01.jpg

Ley_DSC00036F90.jpg
Ley_Dsc00003.jpg

http://www.adriamotors.com/bmw/55.jpg

http://www.adriamotors.com/bmw/56.jpg

I think its a great car if modified properly. GO !! chunk in a SR20 into the engine bay and you will be blasting down the tarmac. :tongue:

TitanRev said:
I think its a great car if modified properly. GO !! chunk in a SR20 into the engine bay and you will be blasting down the tarmac. :tongue:
haha.. thx bro. hmmm... but then how come everyone say put in SR20 in this car? it suits perfect? or...?!

I think lots of ppl says it suits the car because the E30 is an RWD car so just drop in the SR20 from the silvia without big mod on the mounts. I think. Never really see be4. But confirm the e30 is RWD.

the enjin bay or e30 is veli big....can fit in 1jz...just talk to a mechanic tat day which just finish a e30 with 1 jz. fit fit go in. he said even 2jz is no problem for that car.
but,is wan to play the car with powerfull enjin + 6(m) , its a costfull thing... :( just ask for a 1jz + 6speed (M), die man~!

e30,a lot body parts for choice.....
no-matter how u modd,wont look ah beng :)

ur GTI looks good,but,too much on the road...tats the conclusion

If you want a BMW, keep it a BMW. The e30 has great character with some great straight 6 engines. Why do people want to screw with that and make it into some rojak car? Then you might as well stick whatever engine you want into a washing machine and drive that. Don't spoil a perfectly good car.

It's like buying a Porsche 911, ripping out the flat six out of the back and sticking a Jap engine into the middle. Yeah, sure you "might" end up with something better dynamically, but gone is the car's soul and identity. You don't mess around with a formula that already works.

if i were you... i'll ask myself if i had the means for its maintanence ant etc etc...

if you do... WHAT THE HELL... GO GET THE DANG CAR!!!:eek:

I LOVE THE E30!!!! if you dont get i will!!!

did you see all the lovely E30 you yourself posted????
whats wrong with you??? hehhehehehehe

my 2cent only ler

Give yourself sometime to think about it. In the end you might dislike it, especially letting go of your GTi.

Just like I did. I must admit, E30 has a very good/fierce look.

BV5015 said:
the enjin bay or e30 is veli big....can fit in 1jz...just talk to a mechanic tat day which just finish a e30 with 1 jz. fit fit go in. he said even 2jz is no problem for that car.
but,is wan to play the car with powerfull enjin + 6(m) , its a costfull thing... :( just ask for a 1jz + 6speed (M), die man~!

e30,a lot body parts for choice.....
no-matter how u modd,wont look ah beng :)

ur GTI looks good,but,too much on the road...tats the conclusion
haha... tats de same thing in my mind 2, too much wannabe also... :)
but wat do u mean by "jz"???

silverfish, understand wat u mean... soul.. yea...

Grim, i found 1 e30, well maintained by de owner, de engine, chasis, transmission & interior r can say perfect... maintainance r not tat high actually. :)
will think deep... :D

ambayah, hmmm... tats also 1 thing tat hold me back... im afraid i might regret let go my Gti, cos i jus bought for 8mths only. actually i hav some plans, which, including saving money to marry. if i get e30, i no need to pay instalment anymore, but then can make it nice nice la. but as for Gti, need to pay 5year+ instalment more... sigh... summore... alot of fix expenses i hav, then i hav no extra money to mod de car, tats de thing make me more kesian... :(

skywalker, yea Tom's car is a very gud direction for me to mod if i really get it, hmmm.... thinking thinking...

cheers everyone...

Or yea... wat color u guys thinking is best for de car? now de car i interested is black, but then im thinking tat might wanna change it to either white (bcos my cousin's e36 coupe also white, not follwing Tom :P) or ferrari red. how do u guys think?

it was really a good car and with good setup good mod it can beat newer car anytime.

if i have it i dump a RB20 or a 2JZ inside hehe..

standard E30 is very nice. i am dreaming of getting one too (the only BMW i can afford)

avoid 318i as its slightly underpowered. best i can say is 320i. 323i ok but too old. any higher than that and u r wasting money as the extra performance is useless unless of course, u wanna race the car.

what i really like about E30 is the low driving position and high centre console. the gear lever is so close to the driver. quick shifting is easy!!

being a FR the steering is never corrupted by torque steer, something that all FWD cars are facing. which explains the reason why BMW and merc neva wants to go FF. except A/B class merc.

best of all..can drift laa...SGTI cant do that.:D

Becareful of the potential drawbacks of buying an old car. No matter how good it is, parts still experience wear and tear. Don't skimp on restoring the car to optimum working condition. Then only you start thinking about pimping it etc.

reedoor, sell ur Gti, go get a e30. anytime better! and u dont have to worry about paying monthly if u are getting a e30..market priceis running at about 15k to 20k..

driven for few months, solid chasis, solid cornering characteristics, that also running on stock 14' rims..great torquey engine... fast!

If u are planning to buy E30... keep the engine original BMW and don't mess with Jap stuff otherwise, it will never BE a BMW.

I'm driving an old E32 (7 Series) as daily car. A full tank is RM 120 and can last up to 5 days (350 miles or 563km) which works out to RM 0.21 sen per km (pretty high!). But the 3000cc torque is tremendous! So far, I whopped a couple of Wira VR4s and EVOs. I went against a couple of Galant VR4s (4WD) but was able to keep up (side-by-side). Didn't push further because the old torque converter is a bit dodgy (just had it replaced recently).

But, with E30... I believe u can easily wallop any heavily modified turbo cars easily (if M/T la). Those with A/T can still keep up with turbo cars but pick-up is slower.

Zan, de reason y i wanna change to e30 is not bcos it can drift la :P but then mostly bcos i wud like to save more & thought for long time, i don really wanna pay 5yr instalment for Gti. but for drifting... might try la... hahaha...

silverfish, i understand ur concern, tats my concern also... i did send a PM to Tom asking him bout his maintance & other stuff of these e30s. If de maintainance is not high, & i can manage to save more a month. then it shudnt b a prob for me lo. :)
thx yo!

fstrader, de owner ask me to keep de car with his current 15in rim, he drove me a round, showed me de torque & cornering... i was amazed tat such a old car can perform tat well. but if in de end i really get de car, i'll definately go bigger than tat... hahaha... i sell rim 1 ma... for sure gonna get bigger nicer rim la... :) deep dish bad boy look wud b de ideal look. :D

acbc, understand wat u mean. de owner did showed me how fast tat car can go... hahaha... i was like sssurp sssssurp...
yea, how much is ur roadtax?

thx & cheers...

i would say go ahead and buy one...just get a healthy one though...

i think it would be great of u could find an M3 from the same era..wooo..that is the best car in its class...the M3 would blow u away..keep it stock ..and u will see it is truley a beast..

ehaab said:
i would say go ahead and buy one...just get a healthy one though...

i think it would be great of u could find an M3 from the same era..wooo..that is the best car in its class...the M3 would blow u away..keep it stock ..and u will see it is truley a beast..
hahha... ok... hmmm... :)
don u like Tom's car? his car is jus nice ma, rite? yea, which color u think is nice for an e30? im thinking white also, but then scared ppl say i follow him... hahaha...

E30 M3? Those are hugely rare and only available in left hand drive. Proceed with caution.