HighCam

IMHO, ACP is always useful for fine tuning no matter what cam u use...

i think most probably Benard (maddriver) do not have any supplier for ACP... so he didnt recommend any i guess...

I don't know about that.....because I did ask him whether can make the cams kick in at 3.5K all the way till 6.5k. At first, he said it would start at 4K instead, then 2 days alter he told me 3.5K not a problem, and really its true, 3.5K the power starts to come in without any ACP needed

So I did save some cash without getting any ACP

if im not mistaken, maddriver's cams dont have to be run with acps, bolt in and go

meltan, nothing much u can do to improve performance of cams, unless u go get those ultra high-lift long-duration cams, then u can get titanium retainers, stronger valve springs, oversized valves etc. etc. which are not readily made for our 4g15s haha

performance of cams would be better utilized with a freer-flowing exhaust system, proper header, properly-sized piping and i like a straight-flow exhaust

make sure intake also is improved, fueling is sufficient, then evrything is a-OK...,oh ya make sure the ignition system is tip-top, then ok liao

more fuel + more air + good ignition = more kick @$$

thanks for the heads up bro. am actually using PZ's extractor and piping with straight flow muffler but planning to switch back to S-flow cos my car's an auto.

intake wise, am using a KNN drop in. i guess that's sufficient enough.

fueling, during my last dyno, found that my car is running rich during low RPM (1k-4k). how do i improve that without engine management?

and also, how do i improve the ignition system?

thanks in advance. :)

running rich ah from 1-4K, needs tuning~~

Mel, hows ur torque curve? Linear? I recommend go do PNP as well, finish off the combo, you will not regret it. Linear torque curve 1, good for touge :D Mine rich only at high rpms after 6K, the rest all ok ;)

I don't know about that.....because I did ask him whether can make the cams kick in at 3.5K all the way till 6.5k. At first, he said it would start at 4K instead, then 2 days alter he told me 3.5K not a problem, and really its true, 3.5K the power starts to come in without any ACP needed

i think what khguan meant was that an ACP is useful when u wanna tune the cam settings to ur preference, not that he meant u need an ACP to allow the cam to make more power

in ur case, the cam setting without the ACP is already nice for u, so u saved some $$$ in the process

If im not mistaken, Greddy makes 'easy' cams which can bolted right into sr20dets without any adjustable cam pulley needed, still retaining the VTC

thanks for the heads up bro. am actually using PZ's extractor and piping with straight flow muffler but planning to switch back to S-flow cos my car's an auto.

intake wise, am using a KNN drop in. i guess that's sufficient enough.

fueling, during my last dyno, found that my car is running rich during low RPM (1k-4k). how do i improve that without engine management?

and also, how do i improve the ignition system?

thanks in advance. :)

yap, like shinjite sed, pnp wud be good stuff, make sure its done by a reputable workshop, though...do it next time when ure doing a top overhaul or something, one shot....skim head a lil bit to bump up compression

get a simple second hand safc also can, but if u want to have more room for improvement for future mods, then at least get an e-manage piggy-wiggy, details im not too familiar...me still with old skool carbs hohoho merry christmas

stock ignition system at this stage shud be ok, just need to make sure that it is in tip-top condition

i think what khguan meant was that an ACP is useful when u wanna tune the cam settings to ur preference, not that he meant u need an ACP to allow the cam to make more power

in ur case, the cam setting without the ACP is already nice for u, so u saved some $$$ in the process.
If im not mistaken, Greddy makes 'easy' cams which can bolted right into sr20dets without any adjustable cam pulley needed, still retaining the VTC

yap, like shinjite sed, pnp wud be good stuff, make sure its done by a reputable workshop, though...do it next time when ure doing a top overhaul or something, one shot....skim head a lil bit to bump up compression

get a simple second hand safc also can, but if u want to have more room for improvement for future mods, then at least get an e-manage piggy-wiggy, details im not too familiar...me still with old skool carbs hohoho merry christmas

stock ignition system at this stage shud be ok, just need to make sure that it is in tip-top condition

because maddriver's are regrind cams, probably they regrind it to suit my preference hence it is doable. So save some cash in the ACP. Yeah during my PNP process also I did top overhaul 1 shot, save the workmanship as well ;) But of course I am not ruling out ACP for future cam mods, huhuhu ;)

Meltan, get Emanage can already with ignition harness :D

running rich ah from 1-4K, needs tuning~~

Mel, hows ur torque curve? Linear? I recommend go do PNP as well, finish off the combo, you will not regret it. Linear torque curve 1, good for touge :D Mine rich only at high rpms after 6K, the rest all ok ;)

i've actually done tuning and dyno after the installation of the cams. but the mech tune it to the max power but have to sacrifice on the fueling. i didn't ask for the torque figures, only power and A/F. wasted i didn't ask for it.

in ur case, the cam setting without the ACP is already nice for u, so u saved some $$$ in the process

well, i've already done top overhaul once because engine oil was leaking. and also skimmed the head abit but reusing normal head gasket. is that advisable?

my mech recommended me to get e-manage, so kinda saving for that too. but i was just thinking of other ways to further enhance/maintain my car's performance.

i've changed to iridiums and aftermarket plug cables, is that sufficient?

i've actually done tuning and dyno after the installation of the cams. but the mech tune it to the max power but have to sacrifice on the fueling. i didn't ask for the torque figures, only power and A/F. wasted i didn't ask for it.

well, i've already done top overhaul once because engine oil was leaking. and also skimmed the head abit but reusing normal head gasket. is that advisable?

my mech recommended me to get e-manage, so kinda saving for that too. but i was just thinking of other ways to further enhance/maintain my car's performance.

i've changed to iridiums and aftermarket plug cables, is that sufficient?

You have the chart right? Normally torque will be included in the final print out as well

If you skimmed the head a bit, normal head gasket no problems 1. If its not advisable, your mech wouldn't do it in the first place. Have u got yourself a LCP? Get that to improve your low end torque. Your cables and plugs already sufficient, now is emanage and PNP only :)

You have the chart right? Normally torque will be included in the final print out as well

If you skimmed the head a bit, normal head gasket no problems 1. If its not advisable, your mech wouldn't do it in the first place. Have u got yourself a LCP? Get that to improve your low end torque. Your cables and plugs already sufficient, now is emanage and PNP only :)

LCP i changed when i did top overhaul.

yup, so now left PnP and e-manage. :)

Mine I wait for 1 week too including top overhaul as well, I can wait, the job must be done perfectly as stated by the mech ;)