cultus engine

xtorm

some here might know i just change my engine few months, i pay rm1.8k for engine only, comes with round intake manifold but without throttle body, the engine itself but without knock sensor(only notice it few days back), distributor and injectors, 4-1 exhaust manifold with 4 wire O2 sensor.

my main problem now is, how can i confirm tat tis is a cultus engine? y no knock sensor then? was told it has high cam in it, mayb a mild 1 the 1st time i visit, at that time the engine shakes at low rpm, goto maintain it at 1.2k abv n exhaust sounded like 'pop pop pop', hope u know what i mean, how should a mildcam/highcam act like?

and i can see my flywheel from the bottom, normal??

hope the sifu here can guide me in this

brief: cultus is a jdm gti.
as per info i know compare with ur details, looks like urs is not a cultus.
if the dashboard is round, it might be the newest version 1994 above with I-2 ECU.
cause all jdm cultus or not, has the knocking sensor to check the engine compression esp. during hill climbing to optimize the spark.
OK..nevermind. its just a matter of few %.
any mild cam or higher must be pair with adjustable pulley. if not, u can't get the idle.
good of this spore engine is a few has been more with cam etc..if there's no adj pulley, they might use Cultus Cam only...i've met a few spore gti in 2004 and they asking about cultus cam mode..different is at cam lift = 7.8mm compare of 7.2mm of GT. duration is the same.

please check ur pulley first.

if normal pulley, the idle problem might come from the ISC valve "idle speed control".
or check ur vacuum line..might be leaks or clodge somewhere..

pop pop also might come from ignition failure...a symptom of not appropriate combustion.

any engine check light??

it wasnt a halfcut, its engine only. i ask the seller he say confirm tat it is jdm engine cos tapak for the knock sensor is there, how true is tat?

1.8k man for the engine only, there is no adjustable cam pulley, but he did keep saying that if i dun wan the engine, others is willing to swap thiers for mine cos of the performance of the engine, mine was a sg spec b4, the performance difference is very little to me, mayb i havent try n rev it with others yet so cant really confirm.

does cam make a big difference? i keep feeling there is something going on but he asure me tat it is JDM.

hmm 1.8k reasonable price? he told me the halfcut shop took the knock sensor out cos im using a sg spec ecu n wiring, mayb he wna to sell itlah...

if sg n jdm same piston i dun really care, but its different

why u buy the engine if the price is too expensive? :confused_smile: check ur ecu. I dont think its I4 (cultus) or F6 (gti).... this ecu code are both jdm

cos mine block kong edi...

so i hav little choice, the 1st engine was 4 wheel for 1.3k(tat was engine kosong only!!), but it is koyak also, then come tis engine...

sigh.... i still owe him some money, my block he sold to besi buruk without my permission n say i got no use...wtf!? n after tis my I2 ecu burn,,,,, said not thier problem n i hav to pay another 450 for a f5 ecu...

now engine head still with him, we were friendlah, nvr aspect things turn out like tis.

engine and so are bought from 1 of the popular swift halfcut seller i think, the 1 im talking abt is the installer, sorry if its confusing. he did ask me to deal with him myself, but what for rite since price edi set?

lesson learn, im just gald the engine is in good condition cos only after using it for around 1500km the engine oil starts to get dark, altho there is still abit of leaking at the bottom, i think its from the pulley, i pay for all the o-ring at both the pulley but was it installed i hav no idea.

btw, is the flywheel suppose to b exposed at the bottom? didnt see this with my previous sg engine, im sitll using my old gearbox.

guess i will not know wheter it is a jdm or not unless i open it up and check the piston, duno even if the high cam is true or not, or was it taken out later on....sigh, all this happen just after i finish my CNY, bonus everything gone for this.