HID Lights

cant see road one if u using cheap hid one...or just use white bulb...really cant see road during rain or wet hour at genting...

I think is tgk muka wan lah... If muka swey... Then mah kena loh... But legall ly it should lepas wan... My dad also kena JPJ block... They will use devise to scan the headlamp.. Then lepas... My dad is 4300k

cant see road one if u using cheap hid one...or just use white bulb...really cant see road during rain or wet hour at genting...

Yalo yalo... I tried before those white bulbs before HID... Kanasai... But I use the cheap ones la... I heard if philips or osram one bright...

From what i know HID is completely Illegal, Anycars with Hid(with ballast) will kena saman(unless got duit kopi la) or unless its factory fitted HID.

I kena JPJ twice because of my HID, Waste several hours going for inspection, Saman Rm300. So angry that i took it off and never put it on again :banghead:

erm... HID without projector... kinda annoying anyway...

i heard like there is a different projector between halogen ones and HID ones...

HIDs that doesn't come stock with the car is illegal no matter what color temperature, be it 10k/5k/4.3k its still illegal.

If you really want to install a HID kit, at least do it with a proper HID bi-xenon projector. At least you won't be causing glare to other drivers and you'll have a nice and even beam spread. HIDs retrofitted in a stock halogen reflector housing produces horrible beam patterns. With bi-xenon projectors, you have proper working hi-beams.

Opposite direction driver throws a 50 cents coin... Becos he cannot than... :biggrin:

somehow i guessed your reason cos i feel like doing this all the time when ppl just simply plonk in HIDs without doing something about the GLARE!!!!!

any HID installed as long as non OEM is illegal. even if you retrofit an OEM projector into a non OEM HID car, it is still illegal.

a word of advise. if you want to install HIDs, please do something about the glare. Yesterday, i was stuck in a jam with a stupid viva and his 6000k HID for about 15minutes and i think the glare burned off the hair on the back of my head...

Yes those irresponsible ppl never put a proper shield when retrofit a hid system few years back made jpj banned it. When i installed a proper one in my kenari with a cover shield at the bottom of the bulb and adjusted the beam correctly, no complains from anyone during that 2 years.....

Glare is the problem with aftermarket HID kit. The glare shield that came with the kit is not properly made and most of those high Low kit in the market that uses halogen bulb for high beam is not the correct way of doing it. A properly high low kit are those magnetic type with a front cap over the HID bulb. Those clear lens that doesn't come with front light cap and fit in HID is the most killing one as there's no front cap to diffused off the light beam.

Also, I don't know whether any of you notice, those headlights that are not meant for HID after prolonged use of the HID, the top part of the reflector will become dull and the chrome paint will get cooked....most notable is the part nearest to the HID. Anyone have this before?

They see your bulb also already know lo. (unless your using projector la)

Ya if kena these experienced ones, then really nothing to say already... But generally, those people are quite dumb here.

---------- Post added at 08:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:48 PM ----------

HIDs that doesn't come stock with the car is illegal no matter what color temperature, be it 10k/5k/4.3k its still illegal.

If you really want to install a HID kit, at least do it with a proper HID bi-xenon projector. At least you won't be causing glare to other drivers and you'll have a nice and even beam spread. HIDs retrofitted in a stock halogen reflector housing produces horrible beam patterns. With bi-xenon projectors, you have proper working hi-beams.

Actually can... But have to sacrifice a bit of beam spread lo... I put an extensive glare shield. This reduces the beam coverage, but the place where it shine is really brighter. And no glare to oncoming traffic. For halogen, he beam can spread nicely to illuminate up the sides of the road. But after I put HID and use that mega glare shield, it only illuminates in front. Sides are cut off...

Have to chose la... Sacrifice one thing for the other...

---------- Post added at 08:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:53 PM ----------

Glare is the problem with aftermarket HID kit. The glare shield that came with the kit is not properly made and most of those high Low kit in the market that uses halogen bulb for high beam is not the correct way of doing it. A properly high low kit are those magnetic type with a front cap over the HID bulb. Those clear lens that doesn't come with front light cap and fit in HID is the most killing one as there's no front cap to diffused off the light beam.

Also, I don't know whether any of you notice, those headlights that are not meant for HID after prolonged use of the HID, the top part of the reflector will become dull and the chrome paint will get cooked....most notable is the part nearest to the HID. Anyone have this before?

I know what you mean man... Those without the diamond like shield. That's why viva, kancil with HID are really the killer. Especially if their HID is also those high-HID, low-halogen type. If those magnetic ones got a shield a bit ok... A bit only... XD

Hmm... Since this discussion so hot, I post some pic of what I did last time la.. I didn't want to post before this because I had little pics. Was too into doing it and forgot to snap. So, sorry for the lack of pics guys... Here goes...

First step, get good HIDs! Magnetic double beam HIDs...

Get some aluminium sheets from hardware shop. A metal cutter as well.
attachment.php

Cut out the approximate size that you need for the glare shield. use the original glare shield as a reference.
attachment.php

Cut a small hole for the high beam. Hammer lines along the aluminium sheets so that they are easier to bend and fold along those lines. I did this because my aluminium sheet was too thick. Very difficult to shape. Have 2 small protrusions (like ears) and one end as the bracket to screw on the glare shield to the bulb. Needs lots or trial and error to get the protrusion thingy on the right place.
attachment.php

Fixed it on and test like hell to see how is the beam and he glare. Take out and modify the shape again, increasing the area of the glare shield or reducing it according to need. Need to do this few times. Before fixing it for good, use the design that works and replicate another one for the other side of the head lamps. Then install the and re-aim your headlamp. Even with the shield, it has to aimed lower than stock halogen settings.
attachment.php

Compare the difference in size between the stock glare shield and the self made one. Honestly, this one that I got isn't so good. I got this because the seller is a friend. A good one has a more extensive glare shield that require less modification. You might be able to use the stock glare shield and just mod from there.
attachment.php

Like these here. Taken from google images.
attachment.php

Also, my HID is the tilting bulb type. Means even it is magnetic double beam, the high beam doesn't shine as effectively. If just moves the beam further or nearer but it never spreads out the beam. The better type is the retracting bulb type. Remember. Not the tilting bulb type.

Have fun DIY-ing and be a responsible user... Sacrifice your part and not other drivers.

• DSC09568.jpg
    DSC09568.jpg
    76.5 KB · Views: 2,129
  • DSC09569.jpg
    DSC09569.jpg
    51.8 KB · Views: 2,497
  • DSC09570.jpg
    DSC09570.jpg
    109.6 KB · Views: 1,844
  • DSC09573.jpg
    DSC09573.jpg
    80.1 KB · Views: 3,845
  • DSC09576.jpg
    DSC09576.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 2,225
  • real hid.jpg
    real hid.jpg
    106.3 KB · Views: 2,046
good DIY veloc. i used aluminium foil to glare shield my hellas in the past but used superglue to place it in place (H7...no place to screw). but damn good clean DIY u have there. very nice nails also...u go for pedicure ar? :biggrin:

This should be post in the DIY HID ANTI Glare! Nice one Veloc

good DIY veloc. i used aluminium foil to glare shield my hellas in the past but used superglue to place it in place (H7...no place to screw). but damn good clean DIY u have there. very nice nails also...u go for pedicure ar? :biggrin:

Thanks guys... Not good la.. Where got people post DIY 5 pictures. That's why I malu to post. Did this some time ago. Since this thread so hot ah... Post only la... Too concentrated in doing this... Very stress already trying to get it right. It's quite a shitty job. Not easy as it involves many trial and error. That's why didn't bother to take pics.

Arturo: About glue, I wanted to use it. But afraid the heat will melt it. But I have one side of headlamp where the glare shield mounting bracket tear off already. So I had to use super glue. Until now still okay la...

Lol la you... Why you notice nails? You yourself want manicure ka :biggrin:? And no, I don't mani or pedi.

im currently using projector headlight by eagle eye brand, H3 halogen bulb... wonder if it is suitable to put a 4.3k and provide a nice cut line when the light is projected out ?? anyone tried or seen before? thx